CVS Health Retail Employee Reviews

2.3
Overall rating
Based on 177 reviews
Ratings breakdown
518
425
327
231
176
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Showing all 177 reviews
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved learning management pharmacy was alot of fun meeting new people
Pharmacy Technician (Former Employee) –  Elkhart County, INJuly 17, 2018
CVS gave me the opportunity to get my pharmacy certificate learn payroll ordering for store helping others was a wonderful place to work advancement was always there
Pros
Family leave act really helped when husband got sick with cancer
Cons
Change of managment hurt alot of employees
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
company does not value employees
Pharmacy Technician (Former Employee) –  Wareham, MAJuly 16, 2018
company does not value employees. They have expectations that take away from the overall patient care. Starting salaries are ridiculous creating an almost impossible task of hiring competent workers.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A job that has its advantages and disadvantages
Shift Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Burke, VAJuly 16, 2018
I was with CVS for over 11 years, i enjoyed working there at times but with the scheduling and the hours its hard to have anytime with your family of anytime for yourself.

You will have to work holidays and weekends (on rotation most times)
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to work
Pharmacy Technician (Former Employee) –  Peru IlJuly 16, 2018
I love the patients Helping them makes my day I enjoy all of my job tasks I also enjoy the interaction with my co workers We manage to have fun while working as a team to help our patients
Pros
Customer interaction
Cons
Cant see any
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unfair
Pharmacy Technician (Former Employee) –  Sarasota, FLJuly 15, 2018
Do not expect much from CVS pharmacy... besides getting experience.. they do not give fair raises what so ever. They promise full time but end up not having enough hours. Hours are constantly getting cut. The manager chooses to not dispute hours fairly. CVS does not care about employees. My team had 5 people quit within 3 months due to PAY and HOURS.
Pros
Able to transfer to any location in US
Cons
Pay, hours, environment
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wouldn’t recommend
Pharmacy Technician (Current Employee) –  New Orleans, LAJuly 13, 2018
I got hired to work front store but got the opportunity to work in the pharmacy thinking it would be a awesome step forward !! Poor management ! All the district managers are only worried about we care , and the numbers ! We get promised certain things because we made our goals ! Always conference calls which interferes with us and customers ! Customers are always UPSET because cvs is always changing everything & CONSTANTLY calling them (auto calls) and we have to hear it all .. we work our butts off to not be appreciated nor paid enough . I wouldn’t recommend working here whatsoever , it’s a joke ! Cvs isn’t worried about our safety either , a little FYI
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful environment
Clerk/Cashier (Current Employee) –  Bossier City, LAJuly 11, 2018
I wouldnt recommend working at CVS. They demand so much, but yet the stores don't have the staff. It's always one manager and one cashier. You're basically doing the work of TWO people. The store is always hot. Additionally, management is horrible. They don't provide much training, but expect you to go above and beyond. The Store Manager is always right and you NEVER have a voice. Everything, including your opinion and the way you think or word things, must go through them. Absolutely stressful place to work.
Pros
Consistent paycheck
Cons
Hot stores, short-staffed, micromanaged
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
What a joke!
Pharmacy Technician (Former Employee) –  Philadelphia, PAJuly 9, 2018
CVS is nothing but a pressure cooker... they just do not care!
How can you measure getting medications out the door safely as fast as one can?? Think about that for a second??
CVS is all about the money!! You are a good number or bad number.... that’s why they grade you all the time!!
They never grade you off on medications checked or mistakes found by the doctor-
Instead they run you so hard you don’t have time to go too the bathroom!!!
You are so busy the staff fights all the time, someone always calls out... you are always short staffed.... there is some kind of drama with some issue...

If you want a migraine that never ends, you don’t want eat a meal, have a constant paycheck, and loss you mind..
This is the job for you!
Pros
They will get you started as a pharmacy tech
Cons
Upper management, lack of communication, lack of hours, the list go on
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
n/a
Shift Manager (Former Employee) –  Media, PAJuly 9, 2018
Job was enjoyable. Everyday you had something different to do so it never got stale. When the people you work with as well are nice n happy then its easier to do your jobs.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This company is an ok company
CERTIFIED PHARMACY TECHNICIAN (Former Employee) –  Prichard, ALJuly 7, 2018
This is a fast pace job,that requires a lot of training and understanding,multitasking and excellent customer service are the tools that will get you thru a day
Pros
Learning the job
Cons
Short breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNo 3Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I liked working at CVS
Cashier, Shift Lead (Former Employee) –  Loogootee, INJuly 6, 2018
It was fun to work at CVS, the customers are nice, it was close to home so if needed I could walk to work, would work there again, if they would have me.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad
Operations Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Mission Hills, CAJuly 5, 2018
The store level employees are ok, but anything higher up isn’t
Those members of management no longer involved in the day to day running of the store seem clueless about what ACTUALLY happens at the store level
Pros
Employee discount
Cons
Payroll and hours are always being cut
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful
Retail Store Manager (Current Employee) –  Illinois City, ILJuly 4, 2018
CVS interesting place to work and I would reccomend it to anyone. CVS is very fast pace at moments and I have a wonderful inspiring manager. There's lots of teamwork at CVS but managers and pharmacy managers.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 2Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst job
Store Manager (Current Employee) –  Atlanta, GAJuly 4, 2018
Always short-staffed and everyone is absolutely miserable while working. Don't work for this company!! You will not have a life and call outs are inevitable. Very high turnover!!
Cons
You’d think the health insurance would be decent with the Aetna acquisition but NO, The most expensive coverage in my entire career!!
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No advancement no career
Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Ocala, FLJuly 3, 2018
Plain and simple Store Managers only care about they numbers and bonus. Store managers and DM could care less about supervisor, cashiers Etc that in the store. Everything is always a promise never kept. If you like working 8 to 10 days straight with no days off and super low pay and only 30 to 35 hours a week with overload task, While store manager sitting in the office laying back be my guess. enjoy

Oh by the way supervisor is going to be your only career at CVS. You have reached the of the ropes, dead end job with $12 an hour. good luck
Pros
Nice people in the RX
Cons
Dead end job, low pay, 30 to 35 hours hours a week and horrible leadership by most store managers
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great over all work place
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXJuly 2, 2018
They require you to do a lot at a fast paced for minimum pay I started off at $9.50 but the start is $11.00 cashier/Clerk (Texas) The hours fluctuate. It’s pretty chill for the most part. And of course you gotta deal with customers attitudes and stuff lol but there are good people too
Pros
Meet new people
Cons
Attitudes
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Don't go there!
Provider (Current Employee) –  TexasJuly 1, 2018
MinuteClinic is set up so that the practitioner has a fairly autonomous practice . The problem with MinuteClinic is the management/ culture. Their policies regarding vacation time, advancement, and bonuses. They tell you one thing and then change it up at their convenience when it's time to pay up. They border on the unethical in their demands for billing for higher paying codes. You have to request your vacation time over 6 months in advance. Then they do not approve it for a long time making it hard to plan anything! They even tried to say that you had to work off those days you had vacation in the following weeks. They recently informed us we're switching to salary. Which means working longer hours for no extra pay, no overtime. That's crazy! Steer clear find something else.
Pros
Autonomy
Cons
Almost everything else
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
managment
Retail Sales (Current Employee) –  San Mateo, CAJune 30, 2018
Was never flexible. always had an attitude very rude at times the pay started off good and then it fell down. i was not able to switch my days because i am very busy on weekends
Cons
short breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 6Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company had gone downhill
Manager (Former Employee) –  PAJune 29, 2018
there is not a good thing to say about CVS. But don’t apply. In the past two years I have seen a lot of upper management leave, some by choice and others by terms I choose not to say.
Pros
I left after 18 Years
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pharmacy intern traning
Pharmacy Intern (Former Employee) –  Northborough, MAJune 29, 2018
They provided me with great opportunities to train to become a pharmacist. I completed 6 weeks of APPE training in CVS. I worked closely with patients and assisted my teams in doctor calls, production, verification and patient counseling
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report