CA Technologies Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging Environment
Consultant (Current Employee) –  Atlanta, GAMay 20, 2018
Very good culture. Get the opportunity to learn a lot. Always changing. Leadership is very good. You get exposed to many environments that keeps your skills up to par.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good place when your first starting out.
Warehouse Associate (Former Employee) –  Islandia, NYMay 16, 2018
It was my first non seasonal full-time job. At first it was nerve wracking, and overwhelming, but I soon began to catch on. once knew what to do the job became easy.
Pros
good crew, clean place, no pressure, good health benefits.
Cons
loud work area, poor heating, or cooling.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive & fun place to work for
PRINCIPAL SOFTWARE ENGINEER (Current Employee) –  PrageMay 12, 2018
Great people - great opportunities, great management
Guys, why is this a mandatory requirement, after all factors had been covered in the first observation? Will I be penalized
Pros
flexi hours, bonuses leave
Cons
salary insufficient
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and Exciting
Computer Technician (Former Employee) –  Casper, WYMay 10, 2018
This was a great place to work not only because of the employees and bosses but also because of the style of work. If you didn't like doing a certain type of job, you didn't. However, working was based on commission so you basically did everything which is what makes the IT field so intriguing anyway. Getting the opportunity to perform work for so many different environments was a wonderful experience and life lessons. You work around your own schedule and client needs. Whatever your clients requested, you did. Very fun environment for a motivated person.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Teams, Management is Spotty
Software Test Engineer (Former Employee) –  Fort Collins, COMay 5, 2018
They acquired Nimsoft and appeared to run it into the ground through poor management. Otherwise, it's hard to gauge how well things are run in the main corporation.Hopefully they will not do the same to other acquisitions. On the plus side, they seem to be genuinely concerned about employee HR training and do have a solid corporate backstop.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I worked at CA as a security guard
Guard (Former Employee) –  Central Islip, NYMay 2, 2018
I worked as CA as a security guard and worked there as a subcontracted. While working at CA its a really nice place to work at and made the staff feel good. They had a gym and a bank and you can even order food and they bring it to CA and they also had dry cleaning there too.
Pros
They take care of there staff there
Cons
looks like they had a high turn over of staff
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced, Sales oriented
Consulting Manager (Former Employee) –  Indianapolis, INApril 28, 2018
Challenging, fast-paced, sales driven environment. Often requires long hours / weeks, but hard work and success is handsomely rewarded. Internal training was very good, but could benefit from more external, vendor agnostic training.
Pros
Benefits, bonuses, stock options
Cons
Hard driving, low tolerance for missed quotas.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to learn
Software Engineer (Current Employee) –  Lisle, ILApril 25, 2018
It is a great place to learn new technologies and work with experienced engineers. Fun place to work. Vast scope to learn new technologies and work on them.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Organization is poorly run
Customer Portfolio Manager (Current Employee) –  Dallas, TXApril 18, 2018
Every April the company completely changes goals and ways of achieving them.

No consistent message or reliable quota numbers.

Direct Manager was great but the upper management is lost and does not know how to handle talent.

Very high turnover.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast-paced
IT Program Director (Former Employee) –  Islandia, NYApril 17, 2018
Overall, CA is a good place to work. Training is encouraged. Opportunities to learn new things and move to other positions.
A lot of reorgs (CA=Change Always) and downsizing.
Pros
Great people
Cons
Stressful
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great p;ace to work
technical sales consultant (Former Employee) –  New York, NYApril 17, 2018
Working with the latest software and experienced personnel.

The job was all inclusive everything was paid for travel meals etc.

Working as their technical consultant I got to work with all their technologies and meet many great people.
Pros
Salary and good people
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
xxxx
Performance Consultant (Current Employee) –  Framingham, MAApril 9, 2018
A question I get almost every day is, If agile teams are supposed to embrace change, why are they resistant to including new feature ideas during a sprint?
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent
Support Manager / Senior Software Engineer (Former Employee) –  Lisle, ILMarch 31, 2018
It was a most exciting period of my career that I was tasked with variety of work along with many challenges. I enjoyed the dynamic nature of my tasks and many opportunities to travel around.
Pros
Exiting place
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Highly structured and intense with emphasis on intellectual capital.
Senior Account Manager (Former Employee) –  Plano, TXMarch 22, 2018
Remember that CA is a Fortune 500 company which means they report revenue to Wall Street, it means they are transparent and each person working there is held accountable. You didn't go to the restroom without holding a spreadsheet in your hand that revealed end of month, end of quarter or end of year numbers and projections. Like Bella Financial it was a sink for swim mentality. I was never the one with the "big fish" story, I always stuck to the numbers because there is no debating numbers, they are either correct or incorrect.
Pros
As long as your business was in order nobody ever messed with you.
Cons
If your business was NOT in order you were terminated.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very large company, exciting technology
Lead-Principal Engineer (Former Employee) –  Columbia, MDMarch 20, 2018
Big change for me coming from a startup. CA is extremely diversified. You could spend 20 years doing one things or 5 years doing 5 things.
My role was integrating Fortisphere technology (my previous startup) so I was able to interface with multiple groups within the company.
Pros
Stable company financially - global
Cons
Frequent lay-offs added corporate stress.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
Associate Software Engineer (Current Employee) –  Santa Clara, CAMarch 11, 2018
Great company and great people. I have learned a great amount of knowledge and have enjoyed my time working at the company. Unfortunately I had to relocate and look for other opportunities.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sales management very bad
Senior Principal Consultant (Former Employee) –  Framingham, MAMarch 8, 2018
the management of this company did a horrible job aligning sales strategy to the offered products and the API Management market in general. Stay away please!
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast pace
Customer Support Manager/Engineer (Former Employee) –  Fort Lee, NJMarch 1, 2018
As a Customer Support Representative we were responsible for all incoming calls. We had to answer calls immediately when they came in or within an hour of being logged. Sometimes could be stressful, but we had a good team of developers that were always willing to help when difficult problems arose.
The hardest part of the job was not being able to resolve the customer issue on the first attempt. Most enjoyable part was being able to resolve their issues and close the call with high customer satisfaction. The ability to expand on our technical knowledge by learning different operating systems and protocols.
Pros
Satisfaction of helping out clients resolve their technical problems.
Cons
Some what stressful at times.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not much room to advance
Presales Consultant (Former Employee) –  Plano, TXFebruary 26, 2018
the culture was ok, but the top brass was not investing for the long term growth of its inside presales team. The field presales team is very wary of the inside presales team and logically sees them as replacements.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Contract work on site at contract
Technical Services Consultant (Former Employee) –  Washington DCFebruary 19, 2018
Provided good support to on site contract work. Excellent management team. Worked with the contract team providing services to the Citizenship and Immigration Services.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at CA Technologies. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 682 reviews
5190
4262
3159
239
132

Ratings by category

3.9Work/Life Balance
3.9Compensation/Benefits
3.1Job Security/Advancement
3.3Management
3.6Culture

Women's ratings

Powered by Fairygodboss

4.1Fairygodboss Score

62%say women are treated fairly and equally to men

56%would recommend to other women

Fairygodboss provides free job reviews for women, by women.