Cafe Services, Inc. Employee Reviews

Showing all 66 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
the company has no benefits
Food Service Worker (Former Employee) –  Rutland, VTNovember 27, 2019
all they give is 1 day for every 35 hrs you work, no payed holidays, no sick time, no vacation time,they have cameras on you at all times, you have to do your job plus half of some other person
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Glhard worker
Used to work at a keeler Cafe\ bakery training (Former Employee) –  Binghamton, NYNovember 12, 2019
I am a hard worker work vwry heard and done everything i could and always on tome and clean up everything that i am told to do and get the job done right way
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's ok
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Wellesley, MAOctober 14, 2019
Wish the paid more and was more flexible. They didn't pay you enough for the amount of money they wanted to give. Plus also if you needed to call out they always made you feel useless.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun working environment with lots of help from management
Human Resources Assistant (Current Employee) –  Manchester, NHOctober 11, 2019
Lots of room to grow and learn. This is my first job out of college and I have continuously learned a lot while also have a great working environment that keeps it fun! The employees always show hard work and pride in their work as well.
Pros
Great working environment
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing company to work for
Account Clerk (Current Employee) –  Manchester, NHOctober 5, 2019
I love working for Cafe Services. The owner and managers are so understanding and easy to work for. Great benefits and opportunities. Proud to say I work here.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
watch your back tough place to work
Manager (Former Employee) –  Westborough, MASeptember 25, 2019
very unorganized weak chain of command things changed daily alot of times felt left on an island didnt have alot of support alot of times I was by myself culture was tough went throgh a ton of help dealind with the patrons was ok
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No cohesive goals and structure from Upper Management.
General Manager (GM) (Former Employee) –  Newark, DESeptember 17, 2019
Lack of training from Upper Management to succeed. Stressful pressure from Upper Management. No cohesive goals and structure from Upper Management. Mislead in interview process. Worked more and harder. Job tasks and duties never explained. Upper Management cares less about numbers than serving quality food. Amazing Corporate Culinary team.
Pros
Lack of training from Upper Management to succeed.
Cons
Amazing Corporate Culinary team.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Utility worker/Catering/Prep (Former Employee) –  Lynn, MAJuly 27, 2019
Manager an Co workers were awesome it was a small team but a great one because it was actually a team setting no one man for themselves manager on site was very understanding an made each task easier if help was needed
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work
Food Service Worker (Current Employee) –  Manchester, NHJuly 16, 2019
I enjoyed working with the students,I love to cook, It was a pleasure to talk with the teachers,Liked working with the staff in the kitchen,the hardest part of the job was when we have to leave in june
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I liked working just not enough hours
Dishwasher (Former Employee) –  Newport, NHJune 26, 2019
I would like people working through that company it's a very nice company to work for the people I worked with were very nice they didn't treat u like dirt the treated like they needed u there
Pros
Had free lunch
Cons
We had our breaks for holiday s a nd summer
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and a fun working environment.
Lead Cook/Kitchen Manager (Current Employee) –  Farmington, NHJune 24, 2019
I love working with my staff. Seeing the children's smiling faces, poking their heads in the kitchen to say good morning is priceless. Team work is a definite must...just a fun place to work. I have been un the food service business for 40yrs, this is by far the best job. Money is the greatest for what I do...I do it for the love of the children.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Family run business
Manager (Former Employee) –  Londonderry, NHMay 28, 2019
The workplace culture is difficult, it is a family run business, mix well with the family you are ok, if not you're out.

Upper management are not people of their word, let people go on false pretenses without the benefit of ongoing honest discussions.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Treated unfairly if you werent part of the clan
Food Service Director (Former Employee) –  New HampshireMay 20, 2019
Horrible training and management is never supportive and always yell at people its always about money could care less is staff has concerns or new ideas district manager horrible at training but corporate always wants there paperwork and you didn't even know you needed to submit it
Pros
Paid school vacations
Cons
Training
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
New mangement made worse
Cafe Server (Former Employee) –  Newport, NHMay 20, 2019
The new mamgament sis nit improve improve thing he only let do workers he was close with get in his ear and do what they wanted to do and other people get in trouble for this one co worker
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 2Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor HR a this terrible company
Cafeteria Worker (Former Employee) –  New hampshireMay 18, 2019
Draconian HR policies by a clueless HR manager, poor working conditions, poor internal systems.They treat their workers like cattle, stay as far away from this poorly managed company as possible!
Pros
A payheck
Cons
Everytnig else
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 3Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its horrible
District Manager (Current Employee) –  Waltham, MAMay 1, 2019
Managers disappear all the time.
The food is disgusting looks like dog food.
They do not care about quality or presentation.
The only good thing was being out at 2 and having weekends off.
Pros
Weekends off, paid holidays
Cons
You hated your life
Was this review helpful?Yes 12No 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible support system
Food Service Director/Executive Chef (Former Employee) –  Brattleboro, VTApril 23, 2019
I work for this company for awhile, believing it was family oriented and I had job security. This company is out for themselves. They do not take care or pay their employees.
Was this review helpful?Yes 14No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for
Assistant cook (Former Employee) –  Farmington, NHApril 15, 2019
Supervisors are great. Company is a great company to work for. I wish the schools in the town i live in used cafe services. I have already checked and they don't.
Pros
Free food, great supervisors
Cons
No breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 7Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
workplace culture
Lead Cook (Serve Safe Certified) (Former Employee) –  NH/VTMarch 12, 2019
I would not recommend this place to work. Pay is low, no benefits and poor management.

Unsure how they expect you to work with a bad manager and be productive
Pros
summers off
Cons
poor management/low salary
Was this review helpful?Yes 14No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work at
Chef manager (Current Employee) –  Manchester, NHJanuary 30, 2019
Cafe is fair and good company to work at. Have good benefits and pay. Can work a lot of hours base on location you work at? Over all good company to work for.
Pros
good pay base on your experence
Cons
work a lot of hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 5Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Cafe Services, Inc.. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.3
Based on 66 reviews
519
417
37
28
115

Ratings by category

3.7Work/Life Balance
3.1Compensation/Benefits
3.0Job Security/Advancement
3.3Management
3.3Culture