Cafe Valley Bakery Employee Reviews

Showing all 36 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unethical and dis organized
Oven Operator (Former Employee) –  Phoenix, AZFebruary 28, 2019
I really really couldn't stand working at this place they play favoritism and they have no decency when it comes to acknowledging there employee's when the supervisors come by the employees on the line they won't greet anyone they just stand behind you and watch you work they don't train well and they lie when it comes to raises they tell you that you are doing well and that you are going to get a raise and it takes over a month but you start doing more work just at same rate as you were getting before the raise you just do the work as you got the raise
Pros
Weekly checks
Cons
Everything else
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No fun.
Applicant (Former Employee) –  70th BuckeyeFebruary 5, 2019
From the time that I walked in I felt uncomfortable being there. They don't acknowledge you. The management team I met was rude and unprofessional. I would not like to work here.
Pros
None
Cons
Bad management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work
Palletizer (Former Employee) –  Marion, INNovember 27, 2018
typical factory style drama but overall good work conditions.A lot of grumbling about issues causing delays/ making you stay late. you have to take into consideration that you are working with a perishable food product and once it gets started on the line you have to stay until it is finished.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a job
Line Lead Operator (Current Employee) –  Marion, INNovember 26, 2018
Poor management and to many people telling you to many different things to do and not doing it the same all the time and not a very clean facility to be running food
Cons
Poor management
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
so so
Bakery Associate (Former Employee) –  Phoenix, AZNovember 18, 2018
it was a very damanding job for the low payment iit was hard after 2 weeks see how low was my paiment dindt feel happy with what i was making i needed something else
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Discounts on Cafe Valley Products
General Production/Muffin Packer (Current Employee) –  Marion, INOctober 14, 2018
The job I do at Café Valley is good and I get to work with a lot of good people and management is awesome there also. Plus we get really big discounts on Muffins, Cakes, and other café valley snacks.
Pros
Discount on there Products, People I work with and Management
Cons
Health Care is exspensive
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor management
Packer (Former Employee) –  Marion, INOctober 9, 2018
I did not like working at cafe valley due to the fact there were no benefits, there was very poor management there and there was a lot of drug use by supervisors and they were open about it and no actions were taken against them.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nothing is hard bout this job
Packaging (Current Employee) –  Marion, INOctober 9, 2018
The job is really easy you do nothing all day except pack muffins and ship them out. Same as cakes and croissants. Change labels clean up take the trash waste and cardboard back.
Pros
None
Cons
Rude supervisors and line leads
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
production and packaging can be fun but also challenging
Scheduler (Former Employee) –  Phoenix, AZSeptember 20, 2018
typical day at work would be if the machines did not go down and everything was packaged and produced accordingly

what I learned was that everyday things can go wrong when the machines break but also everyday things can go smoothly if all goes well

management in most part is helpful, and show concerns about your learning the area as quickly as possible since everything is very fast paced

workflow culture. this is a bakery so everything is always has the concept to make the product look and taste good for the client.

hardest part of the job is sometimes you are overwhelmed when things go wrong with the line and you have to stay longer thant 8 hrs of your shift and you have things planned and you are required to stay on the line.

most enjoyable part of the job is that its is a challenge on a daily basis and sometimes you have good working friends that help make the time go buy and work together as a team.
Pros
that in most cases the line worked good with out too many breakdown issues
Cons
when your lunch is taken very early from that start of shift, due to machine are down
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ambiente de trabajo normal
Operator (Former Employee) –  Phoenix, AZSeptember 16, 2018
el ambiente del trabajo es muy normal dependiendo de la forma de cada persona y como lo vea almeno de mi punto de vista es muy normal
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Want to know more about Cafe Valley Bakery?

Ask a question
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Only care production number and non people.
Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Phoenix, AZAugust 22, 2018
There is no team work on this place, they ask to much and little or zero manager support.
They don't care about people needs or plans during weekdays, if they have a new production order they call to work at last moment.
Pros
third shift very relax and easy job
Cons
provide insurance benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy income
Team member packing (Current Employee) –  Phoenix, AZAugust 15, 2018
Team packing, not much to do, is very boring at times. Some people have been there for years and are only making minimum wage. Constant schedule changes are always happening, and sometimes not getting enough hours.
Pros
Co workers are amazing
Cons
no raises, constant schedule changes
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
They are not willing to give raises
Employee (Former Employee) –  Marion, INJuly 19, 2018
I worked for this place for 6 months, when I first hired in they were changing their raise policy. We were just informed now that we won't get a raise until our year anniversary and only if we meet their criteria,which changes on a daily basis. Then if we bid on a higher paying job, that pay is not guaranteed, once again you have to meet their criteria. They are going to offer a "care closet" for employees in need of clothing, shoes, school supplies etc. How about you pay your employees a decent wage to where they won't need a "care closet"!
Pros
Barely helped pay bills
Cons
Poor wages, no raises, policies change daily, poor management.
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
its an experience you wont forget
Shift Leader (Former Employee) –  Phoenix, AZJuly 15, 2018
Learn a lot about how a warehouse works but the hours and the pay didn't add up they work you very hard and expect you to not complain about the unfair treatment
Cons
pay sucks
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
no review
worker (Former Employee) –  Phoenix, AZJuly 10, 2018
there is not much to say. its a manufacturing facility at its best. people have work to come to. there are saddly no frills but it does pay. not much else to say.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was a nice place to work
Line Worker (Former Employee) –  Marion, INJune 21, 2018
I feel that cafe valley was a great job! I only disagreed with they wouldn't work with my schedule and for that I lost my job with them. If they will be willing to work with people they would have less of a turn over rate! Otherwise very nice place to work and very enjoyable environment.
Pros
Weekends off
Cons
Not schedule friendly
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Okaaay
Warehouse Associate (Former Employee) –  Phoenix, AZFebruary 23, 2018
It was good working there at first, until i started seeing that I was getting paid less than the hispanics. Im not racist but we all worked the same hours but yet i eas making less money
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a job
Muffin Line (Former Employee) –  Marion, INJanuary 15, 2018
It was easy repetitive work but not much structure in the administration. hours are unclear, but they did work well and flexible with the temp service.
Pros
it was a job
Cons
through a temp service
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive but also Unproductive
Packer (Former Employee) –  Marion, INDecember 6, 2017
People worked hard but a lot of people would slack and mess up the line. Half the time when you ask a lead a question, she points you to the supervisor. Sometimes after that the supervisor would point back to the lead. Leaving me confused on the question at hand.
Pros
pay days off
Cons
couldn't leave on break
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Constant management change
R&D Manager - product development (Former Employee) –  Phoenix, AZNovember 6, 2017
I had multiple manager changes during my tenure, the last was not supportive and extremely difficult to get along with.There fore I searched for a new position.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Cafe Valley Bakery. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.0
Based on 36 reviews
56
46
314
23
17

Ratings by category

2.5Work/Life Balance
2.6Compensation/Benefits
2.7Job Security/Advancement
2.6Management
2.8Culture

Cafe Valley Bakery Reviews by Location