California Closets Employee Reviews

3.5
Overall rating
Based on 81 reviews
Ratings breakdown
520
421
327
28
15
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Found 74 reviews matching the search See all 81 reviews
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The only place I ever work that treat you like family
CNC MACHINIST (Current Employee) –  Indianapolis, INJuly 9, 2018
California Closet is an outstanding place to work management and supervisor communicate with employees president of the company communicates it's definitely a place that I would recommend fast-growing company very outstanding place to work.
Pros
Very family oriented
Cons
There is no ne
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great product, regional management terrible
Design Consultant (Current Employee) –  Orlando, FLJune 21, 2018
The Orlando Jacksonville regional business unit is terribly managed. not enough installers so product build out is pushed out and as a design consultant you don’t get paid for long periods. It is hard to make a consistent livable wage. Even though you are 100% commission they require you to be on call at all hours .. so you end up making nothing when you break down your pay vs hours worked. They expect you to have tremendous loyalty to the company yet have none towards you. Constantly throwing the design consultants under the bus
Pros
excellent product, great Brand and upper management
Cons
Local Management is weak
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
California Closets
Customer Liaison (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXJune 13, 2018
A great company, I feel that it was not a good fit for me. I had skills to work in other positions but they were not hiring designers at that time. I was hired as a Customer Liaison and was not an offer for any other positions.
Pros
I was able to meet new people everyday.
Cons
Favoritism
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
California Closets Review
Design Consultant (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILJune 11, 2018
It is a good company - however they need to create more support for design consultants in the field and coordination with support staff. In Chicago the workplace culture was better than in Fort Myers.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mediocre place to work
CNC Programer, CNC Operator (Current Employee) –  Hawthorne, NYJune 6, 2018
It could be a great place to work but management is not open minded and the word”promotion” does not exist. The hardest part of the job is the stress. It is a very fast paced environment.
Pros
Free lunch ones a month, 3 breaks a day, friendly people
Cons
Poor management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rewarding and fun place to work
Installer (Current Employee) –  ArizonaMay 21, 2018
Get to travel and meet new people. You will work in very upscale neighborhoods. I drive anywhere from 10 minutes to and 1 1/2 hours to get to a job site. Most of the time your working alone. On bigger jobs you will be with someone else.
Pros
You decide your own pace
Cons
Management sometimes doesnt care about your input
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very relaxing
Client Liaison (Former Employee) –  Roseville, CAMay 1, 2018
Never got paid on time and they always wanted me to drive far places even though it wasn't in job description. Had over a hundred dollars missing from my paychecks and when i told them they didn't do anything to compensate me.
Pros
relaxing work, lots of freedom
Cons
sloppy business
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cfo
Chief Financial Officer (Current Employee) –  Westchester, NYApril 6, 2018
Daily Basis - cash reports, sales, customer deposits, lead opportunities, accounts payable and receivable

Weekly - payroll, cash projections

Monthly - financial reporting
Was this review helpful?YesNo 3Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
California Closets
Warehouse Lead (Former Employee) –  Seattle, WAMarch 26, 2018
Great company to work for. Upper management was the best, they helped get to there you needed to go career wise. They stood behind you and helped with any problem. Managers made it easy to communicate and solve problems
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible Company and Owners
Customer Closet Designer and Sales Representative (Former Employee) –  Austin, TXMarch 26, 2018
I would never recommend anyone to work for or hire this company. Horrible company. Long hours. Horrible pay. Not reimbursed for milage or car or anything like that.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
management throws you under the bus
Accounting Manager/ HR (Former Employee) –  Shelton, CTMarch 25, 2018
hard place to work, managers leave you hanging, then throw you under the bus with others. anything you need to get job done you get yourself. supplied all my own supplies
Pros
nice furniture
Cons
everything else
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Designer (Former Employee) –  Shelton, CTMarch 13, 2018
Very supportive staff with great relationships among all the employees. Exceptional product. Medical coverage is expensive and there is no 401K. Relaxed atmosphere.
Pros
Creative
Cons
Work on Saturdays
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
SHIPPING AND RECEIVING CLERK (Current Employee) –  Lawrenceville, GAFebruary 20, 2018
great people to work with, flexible with my schedule, close to home, great environment. Small group of employees, everyone gets along. Learned how to drive a forklift, how to do inventory and how to use excel.
Pros
great environment and hours
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Installer (Former Employee) –  Berkeley, CAFebruary 15, 2018
Potential for long hours during the week. Worked with great people and enjoyed the team environment that they provide. Worked in some amazing homes all around the Bay Area, with amazing views and amazing customers. Would work there again given the opportunity
Pros
hours, pay, co-workers
Cons
long hours, traffic
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Part-time work
Client Liaison (Former Employee) –  Edina, MNFebruary 10, 2018
I was able to gain a lot of organizational experience and some sales experience. I basically showed off the Closets to everyone coming in to the showroom and tried to get them to set-up an appointment with one of the designers.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a nice place to work
Client Liaison (Former Employee) –  St. Paul, MNFebruary 7, 2018
Scheduling, walk in appointments, keeping the store organized and clean, The hardest part of my job was not enough training and not enough interaction with the public. The location that I worked at was closed,
Pros
good product
Cons
not enough working hrs
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An interesting place to work.
Manufacturing Associate (Former Employee) –  Indianapolis, INFebruary 2, 2018
It was an interesting work environment that had many different layers of personalities and egos. Yet at the end of the day it was productive in it's own dysfunctional way.
Pros
It could be a fun place to work and they give you plenty of overtime.
Cons
They expect more and more and more as time goes on.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun to design
Artist Hub (Former Employee) –  Atlanta, GAJanuary 5, 2018
Some people are nice and helpful and some are just straight up fake and looking to cut you out. The closets are expensive so you have to know the market to be able to sell the closets.
Pros
flexible schedule
Cons
salary base
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very, very stressful position.
Production Manager (Former Employee) –  Centennial, COJanuary 5, 2018
Very, very stressful position once Corporate bought the franchise. Added numerous responsibilities onto an already overloaded job description. It was a part-time position but soon turned into full-time with no benefits. After all legalities took place in the buy-out, corporate employees were brought in to take over.
Pros
Close to home.
Cons
Corporate buy-out
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun
Sales Associate and Design Consultant (Former Employee) –  Roseville, CADecember 14, 2017
This was such a fun job. Tough to make a living though cause it is all commission. Lots of driving but who doesn't love custom closets. Would of stayed but I needed to increase my income.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport