California Skin Institute Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company is Changing
Customer Service (Current Employee) –  Bay Area, CAMay 31, 2018
This place is really, really, really improving as a place to work. There are a bunch of new people that have been brought in to lead various teams that are adding a lot of professionalism and fun.

The work can be demanding since patients are coming into the offices frequently. So, my advice is that if you like the quick pace and want to be always busy, this could be a great job. The company is growing quickly and is opening many new offices that are closer to home.

The benefits are standard but they have a great discount program for all of the medical services that are performed. I see a lot of my co-workers going for various treatments and procedures that would cost $$$'s but for employees cost very little,
Pros
Great people, passion for patient care, discounts on treatments
Cons
Lots to keep up with
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting growth with positive change
Corporate Professional (Current Employee) –  San Mateo, CAMay 31, 2018
Since joining CSI in 2017, have seen some exciting changes in growth and opportunity. The new management team has taken many strides in a positive direction, producing additional roles for growth in management, establishing guiding principles generated by field team members (not the corporate big wigs), and increased engagement between management and field employees.

Overall, it's an exciting time to be a part of CSI!
Pros
Full benefits, 401k, employee treatment and service discounts
Cons
Lots of smart people, can be tough to keep up
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great growing company!
Sr. Marketing Coordinator (Current Employee) –  San Mateo, CAMay 23, 2018
- Group of innovate, energetic and talented people
- Positive and collaborative work environment
- Tremendous opportunities for career growth
- Good benefits!
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Don’t Work Here
Employee (Former Employee) –  Los Gatos, CAJanuary 3, 2018
CA Skin is far more interested in $$$ than anything else. They keep acquiring more and more practices and try to cram in more and more patients in a day rather than improving their current management infrastructure and supporting their employees. Work environment is very high stress and high workloads. Management is terrible; they do not appreciate their employees and they do little to address employee complaints or concerns. Pay is poor, working conditions at the main office are incredibly cramped, and there are not nearly enough restrooms for the number of people working there!! Employees are treated as replaceable cogs - moved about and discarded with no warning or consideration.
Pros
Discounted skin treatments and products
Cons
Bad management, bad work environment, bad employee treatment
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not recommended to work here..
LOGISTICS COORDINATOR (Current Employee) –  San Francisco Bay Area, CANovember 5, 2017
My typical day started at 7am, and would last between 10-12 hours. I learned that people do not take responsibility for their actions, and are always quick to blame others. The management/directors do not support the staff. It was difficult to get support from my boss.
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Did not allow Dr. adequate time with patients
Administration (Former Employee) –  Encinitas, CASeptember 8, 2017
Management was all about the numbers. Did not care about employees. Management was rude and did you listen to your concerns about patients and how your were treated. Run!!!
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast Paced
Medical Receptionist (Current Employee) –  Los Gatos, CAAugust 11, 2017
The business is growing and management is getting shady. Seems like they care more for the $ than the patients :/ Management needs improvement and employees should be treated better. Overall I loved working there most of my time. But if things got fixed up a little id probably not be here looking for another job! So Please if you are reading this just
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced!
Medical Assistant (Current Employee) –  Torrance, CAJune 19, 2017
Fast paced environment! Challenging with the opportunity to learn all the new cosmetic procedures. I work independently and we have wonderful patients that are my priority,
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible company
Medical Receptionist (Current Employee) –  San Mateo, CAJune 1, 2017
Management only cares about how they look on paper and how much income they bring in. No appreciation for their employees. They are never any pay raises. If you are looking to move up, forget it, only white people move on. A lot of favoritism, but of course the management deny it. Managers have no clue what HIPPA means for patients or their own employees.
Pros
free lunch sonetimes
Cons
no breaks given, horrible management
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
poor management
Clinic Manager (Former Employee) –  Dublin, CAMay 9, 2017
California Skin Institute overworks their managers, do not properly train new employee's well and management is not supportive nor do they have good leardership.
Was this review helpful?Yes 12No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a good place to work
Medical Receptionist (Former Employee) –  San Mateo, CANovember 27, 2016
This company is a good company to work for if you can get by the fact that management doesn't care about anything but money and themselves. The manager in San Mateo wants everyone else to do her work. There is not enough help and the revolving door is really something else. Before I left, I was the person who had been there the longest besides 1 medical assistant, the providers, and the nurse. I left just after my 90 days were up. There are over 100 patients seen four days a week and only 2 people to answer the phones that ring off the hook, not only for our office, but to schedule patients for other offices that get to turn their phones off when they go to lunch. They hire people that really have no medical reception experience and to work in this job, you really need to know the dermatology part of medical. Not only medical but the cosmetic part of dermatology. The pay is not enough for what they expect of you and they don't take the time to train you in every way.
Pros
Free lunches
Cons
Bad management
Was this review helpful?Yes 19NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Traveled the South Bay, working along side national makeup artists.
Medical Receptionist (Former Employee) –  San Jose, CAOctober 6, 2015
Fun job, working with a team. Traveled bay area which allowed me to work in various locations, meeting new people, making the job interesting.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Always lot of work to do which is great.
Medical Assistant (Current Employee) –  Mountain View, CAJune 6, 2015
A typical day at work would be rooming patients, wound care, assist in Surgeries, Call in Prescriptions, Assist Providers in anything Necessary. At this job i have learned a lot about dermatology which also includes Medical Terminology.
Pros
Great Providers
Cons
Lot of offices
Was this review helpful?YesNo 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very busy
Licensed Vocational Nurse (Current Employee) –  San Jose, CAJune 4, 2015
typical days include rooming patients, assisting in procedures, injections, biopsys, wound dressings, calling in perscriptions, etc. My co-workers are the best part of the job they are all amazing and we work as a womderful team together. The management is terrible and very unorganized. The hardest part about the job is trying to provide the best care for patients when the time rarley allows for it. The most enjoyable part would be are the people I work with and my patients.
Pros
skin products
Cons
no where to grow, poor pay, poor management
Was this review helpful?Yes 8NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A rapidly growing company
Undisclosed (Current Employee) –  San Jose, CAFebruary 11, 2015
California Skin Institute is a company that is constantly expanding and growing, but often does not keep up the internal structure needed for such growth. They offer excellent service to their patients, but are understaffed. They offer some opportunities for growth, but salaries are severely below average.
Pros
Great staff and good benefits.
Cons
Management is not communicative and salaries leave a lot to be desired.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Great learning experience
Medical Assistant (Former Employee) –  San Francisco, CADecember 8, 2014
It is a good place to work love the patients learning different skills and techniques from different doctors was the best part..
Pros
The Patients
Cons
Co-workers
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard work but for-filling
Patients Financial Service (Former Employee) –  San Jose, CAAugust 5, 2014
Good place for a person to learn how to be a team player, while being in school-get experience
Pros
flexible work hours
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive work place
Medical Assistant/Extern (Former Employee) –  Salinas, CAJuly 16, 2014
I liked working there for my externship. I had a great time with the staff and learning new things
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Avoid working for this place
Accounts Receivable Specialist (Current Employee) –  San Jose, CAJune 15, 2014
Managers never make time to talk to their employees and therefore they expect more out of them than they are capable of because the managers don't know what they do on a day to day basis. There is more work than staff, more staff than space, tons of company money that is spent buying more practices instead of making sure the employees are happy and have room to grow.
Pros
Job security, discounts on products and treatments, paid time off, benefits
Cons
Upper level management doesn't care about the employees
Was this review helpful?Yes 9NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fast pace work place and a joy to work with everyone.
patient financial service representative (Former Employee) –  Los Gatos, CAApril 9, 2014
i loved working for California skin institute i wish i did not have to leave due to a family illness but do wish they will open an office in Southern California so i can continue to work for them! love and miss everyone their...
Pros
the free rep lunches were awsome!
Cons
over crowded
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at California Skin Institute. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.2
Based on 24 reviews
56
45
36
22
15

Ratings by category

3.3Work/Life Balance
3.2Compensation/Benefits
2.9Job Security/Advancement
2.7Management
3.0Culture