California State Polytechnic University Pomona

California State Polytechnic University Pomona Employee Reviews

Found 160 reviews matching the search See all 161 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work environment
Laboratory Instructor (Former Employee) –  Los Angeles County, CAMarch 24, 2019
Includes preparing the laboratory room with necessary materials needed for lab session that week. Preparing and doing powerpoint presentations to college students with topics related to genetics, ecology, and environmental biology.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical University Bureaucracy
Program Coordinator, Global Education Institute (Former Employee) –  Pomona, CAMarch 6, 2019
Bureaucratic, like most organizations. Some state employees enjoy great benefits and not willing to do much. It is hard to get an advancement but job security is good.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A inspiring place to prepare the next generation engineers
Adjunct Faculty at Industrial Engineering (Current Employee) –  Pomona, CAFebruary 16, 2019
I work closely with the students and make sure they are not only confident with the lecture material, but also confident about their future career planing.
Pros
Great sense of achievement
Cons
Lack of career plan/advancment
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to Be an SI
Supplemental Student Instructor (Former Employee) –  Pomona, CAFebruary 4, 2019
Allows you to review old subjects while teaching other peers, while alllowing you to have early registration. Fun place to be at, especially if your a student.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy Student Jobs
Music Assistant (Former Employee) –  Pomona, CAJanuary 10, 2019
Recent student about to graduate.
Easy job requirements.
Worked around schedules and managers were personable.
Job hours are limited to 20 max per week.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
College Food Service
Sr. Associate Director Foundation Dining (Former Employee) –  Pomona, CADecember 22, 2018
Day: 8+ hours of intense work
Learned: Coordinating food service and catering to a diverse community
Management: Fair
Culture: Fair
Hardest: Balancing a primary focus with secondary demands
Enjoyable: Customers and their appreciation. Development of services. Employee management.
Pros
Customers to service, work place environment
Cons
Stress on resouces
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Positive Learning Environment
Print Technician (Former Employee) –  Pomona, CADecember 13, 2018
Allowed me to network with classmates and learn more about digital printing. I learned to print large and small scaled files as a print lab technician.
Pros
Balanced
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved it
Student Assistant (Former Employee) –  Pomona, CADecember 6, 2018
I had the best co-workers and my boss was the sweetest. There were a lot of things to get involved with and everyone knew each other in the office. Never felt like work and I am so excited to go back!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Non-stop fundraising calls
Caller/Fundraiser (Former Employee) –  Pomona, CANovember 4, 2018
Must be well spoken and do well with rejection due to the high volume number of calls that you must make to create a good donation rate and happy work environment.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place
Do other tasks except for cashier (Former Employee) –  Pomona, CAOctober 28, 2018
It was nice working at a fast food restaurant at Cal Poly Pomona since I was able to get free meals during employment. However, I had to take the night shifts because they were less busy than the day shifts.
Pros
Free meals
Cons
n/a
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Supportive Staff *Dedicated Scholars
Administrative Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Pomona, CASeptember 8, 2018
The POOL positions are a great introduction to the CSU System.

Frequent Opportunities to promote career growth & participate in advancement programs + info sessions + workshops.

Wear sensible shoes + clothing we are on a sloped hill south of the 10FWY.
Pros
Campus Culture + Experienced Management + Lunch Options + Koi Pond
Cons
Parking + Commuting
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great
Fitness program assistant (Former Employee) –  Pomona, CASeptember 2, 2018
It was a very fun and fast paced job. Meeting new people on campus was extremely rewarding g and the BRIC managers always worked with my class schedules.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Well-run and efficient
ASSISTANT DIRECTOR (Former Employee) –  Pomona, CAAugust 28, 2018
The financial aid office at Cal Poly Pomona was was well-run and efficient. As a result, we were able to provide needy students with the funds they needed to meet educational costs, allowing them to focus on their studies instead of worrying about how they would pay their expenses.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice
Beer & Culture Course, Student Assistant (Current Employee) –  Pomona, CAAugust 27, 2018
The hours are not necessarily flexible for my position, but they are understanding if I have other circumstances. It is important to follow rules and regulations as a public institute.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Independent Research
Research (Former Employee) –  Pomona, CAAugust 18, 2018
Cal Poly Pomona offers many opportunities for research. Many of them are supervised by a professor while others are independent. This is a great way to gain experience for further education.
Pros
Great Experience
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful
Starbucks Barista (Current Employee) –  Pomona, CAAugust 13, 2018
U-hour is super fast paced.
Management can be better, we tend to be short-handed and the amount of workload is not really worth it.

The only benefit we have is the employee meal, which is worth $6.50. You can't get much with this amount, in my opinion.
Pros
employee meals
Cons
no other benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Collage Job
Lead Student Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Pomona, CAJuly 24, 2018
I really enjoyed my time working with them. Worked with some amazing people who taught me a lot. I highly recommend working for them. As a collage job it gave me a lot of tools to succeed in future careers.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Experience
Portfolio Manager (Current Employee) –  Pomona, CAJuly 22, 2018
The work at the fund really prepares a student for a career in investment management, the way we built a portfolio mirrored the approach that many hedge funds use.
Pros
Using Bloomberg
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's a school
Treasurer (Current Employee) –  Pomona, CAJuly 12, 2018
Cal Poly Pomona is a college and there are thousands of students. I am about to be a third-year student as a Music Industry Studies major. I love music and Cal Poly Pomona has a great program.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a typical day at work
Banquet Server (Former Employee) –  Pomona, CAJuly 11, 2018
wash your hands and get ready for work! There are weddings and large events every week and you have to follow what the captain says and finish the tasks on that day.
Pros
Free food
Cons
Low wages
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at California State Polytechnic University Pomona. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.4
Based on 161 reviews
587
452
318
21
13

Ratings by category

4.4Work/Life Balance
3.7Compensation/Benefits
3.8Job Security/Advancement
4.1Management
4.3Culture

California State Polytechnic University Pomona Reviews by Location