California State University Fullerton Employee Reviews

Showing all 104 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Misleading
Assistant Coach (Former Employee) –  Fullerton, CAOctober 11, 2018
The job at Cal State Fullerton, was very misleading, it was a 10 month contract, after relocation. The salary was also misleading, it was not competitive with the rest of the league.
Pros
Weather
Cons
Cost of living
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great atmosphere and productive
Student Worker (Former Employee) –  Fullerton, CASeptember 9, 2018
As a student I learned to manage my time to do well academically while working part-time on campus. As an undergraduate researcher I had the opportunity to apply the techniques I learned in the classroom into real situations.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Fullerton, CAJuly 19, 2018
Composing correspondence, creating folders and meeting materials for supervisor's day. Mail distribution, answering phones, entering data and updating spreadsheets, photocopying, scanning. Troubleshooting copiers. Hardest part of the job was ensuring supplies would delivered on time. Best part of the job was composing and proofreading correspondence and planning department events.
Pros
Benifits
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very focused environment
Data Analyst (Current Employee) –  Fullerton, CAJuly 6, 2018
much politics at the mgt level. the benefits are good. employment support system is also good. the school enjoys very good reputation. overall I been happy here
Pros
job security and benefits
Cons
limited opportunity to advance in career
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Try to network or else your degree will not help you get a job.
Computer Engineering Student (Former Employee) –  800 N State College blvd, Fullerton, CA 92831June 22, 2018
Average school with average students, nothing too special. The only thin missing from CSUF is a department that facilitates networking between graduating students and working alumni. Getting a job on your own is slow and becomes much easier with connections. I never learned this at CSUF, and CSUF made little to no attempts during my time there.
Pros
It's a credited university
Cons
average school
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting and Insightful internship
Solar Panel Research Intern (Former Employee) –  Fullerton, CA 92831June 20, 2018
I interned at Cal State Fullerton because it was required by my school to do an unpaid internship. Over the course of the experience, I learned to communicate, think critically, and apply myself fully to the work that I was doing. Overall I think that Cal State Fullerton is a great place to work if you enjoy being challenged.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and Educational
Supplemental Instructor/ Tutor (Current Employee) –  Fullerton, CAJune 20, 2018
I love everything about CSUF. There are challenges depending on job titles. Will need to pay for your own parking permit which is always required except weekends.
Pros
Excellent associates.
Cons
None.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great learning and working experience
Undergraduate Researcher (Former Employee) –  Fullerton, CAJune 15, 2018
When I worked in CSUF laboratory, I feel very comfortable and welcoming. The students and the adviser are very helpful. I worked and learned at the same time there.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Deceitful Advancement Practices
Assistant Professor of Chemistry (Former Employee) –  Fullerton, CAFebruary 12, 2018
Left because of disagreements with management. Published job retention/advancement protocols not adhered to. Discriminatory: I was denied job advancement whereas a clearly unqualified female was promoted. Appearance matters more than actual productivity. Money matters more than effective undergraduate education.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional Environment for learning
Student (Current Employee) –  Fullerton, CAFebruary 6, 2018
The professors care for students.
Learn and practice projects that apply to future career.
Participate in mostly event that involve job seeking and acknowledge the new subjects beside the major path
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Coordinated and Enthusiastic Team
Research Assistant (Current Employee) –  Fullerton, CAFebruary 5, 2018
I was assigned Tasks which had a time frame of usually a Week.
Very motivating and helpful Mentors.
Was responsible for individual and Team based projects.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Educational Facility
Student (Former Employee) –  Fullerton, CAFebruary 1, 2018
This is a school facility and it is a place where I got my BA from.
I didn't work here and wouldn't be able to make any recommendation for this facility.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 3Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great
ESL Instructor, American Language Program (Former Employee) –  Fullerton, CAJanuary 13, 2018
It is great place to work in. The environment is fun and relaxing. You get to see many nice people everyday there. I enjoyed my time there an I was happy with the benefits.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great co-workers, but upper administration not supportive
Part-time ESL Instructor at Cal State University (Former Employee) –  Fullerton, CANovember 24, 2017
The coworkers were culturally-aware and academically relevant. However, because the upper administration was not supportive, the department downsized dramatically and lost a lot of instructors that way.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place To Work
Career Advisor (Current Employee) –  Fullerton, CANovember 14, 2017
See Below:

Security
Family
Great students
Overall great experience in higher education.

Cons:
Pay
Advancement

This is a great position for those who want long term steady employment.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Too much politicking.
Biology lecturer (Current Employee) –  Fullerton, CANovember 11, 2017
Too much politicking. Emphasis on student passing courses but not learning much. Tuition is too high for what the students are getting. Needs more programs to support students.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ótimo
Intercambista (Former Employee) –  Orange County, CANovember 5, 2017
Ótima experiência de intercâmbio, grande aprendizado de inglês e de engenharia mecânica.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Review no longer relevant
Computer Graphics Instructor (Former Employee) –  Fullerton, CAOctober 25, 2017
I taught adult continuing education computer graphics in the early 90's. This review is no longer relevant, as I have not taught there for a long time, and no longer live in California.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to Start and End
Project Manager, Information Technology (Current Employee) –  Fullerton, CAOctober 19, 2017
Cal State Fullerton is a great place to start or end a career, as it is an amazing University that is doing big things. The work culture could not be better, and the management at IT cares about you growing in your career and as a person.
Pros
Great work enviornment
Cons
government pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging but relaxed teaching environment
Supplemental Instructor (Former Employee) –  Fullerton, CAOctober 11, 2017
A typical day at work includes attending lecture for that assigned class and preparing and holding a supplemental instruction session for students to attend. I learned how to communicated effectively to a range of people as well as how to deal with conflict concerning misunderstandings between people or misunderstandings with the material.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at California State University Fullerton. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.4
Based on 104 reviews
562
430
36
24
12

Ratings by category

4.4Work/Life Balance
3.9Compensation/Benefits
3.9Job Security/Advancement
4.1Management
4.2Culture

Ratings from women

3.9InHerSight Score

3.8Personal Development

4.2Career Opportunities

3.8Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

Powered by InHerSight

California State University Fullerton Reviews by Location