California State University Sacramento Employee Reviews

4.6
Overall rating
Based on 49 reviews
Ratings breakdown
533
414
32
20
10
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Showing all 49 reviews
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Job
Custodian (Former Employee) –  Sacramento, CAMay 17, 2018
Job was a great place to wok for, great people, great supervisors. I learned a lot at that job and i would recommend it to anyone in that area. The people i worked with was the best part of the job.
Pros
Great Pay
Cons
Lazy People
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Adjunct Work
Adjunct Associate Professor (Current Employee) –  Sacramento, CAApril 13, 2018
Adjunct work lacks job security. Honestly, after completing my doctorate degree I thought I would be making way more money on a permanent job. A typical work day might consist of 2-3 classes at various times throughout the day. The most enjoyable part of the job is actually teaching and assisting students.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Relaxed School Setting
Math Tutor for Services for Students (Former Employee) –  Sacramento, CAFebruary 8, 2018
At the Sacramento the Peer and Academic Resource Center was a friendly staff of faculty assistants to help me find my way around and the main head, Rose Schefield was a pleasure to work with.
Pros
non-intrusive management style
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
traineeship
Graduate Counseling Intern (Former Employee) –  Sacramento, CAFebruary 2, 2018
It was a great first-time therapy experience for me, and allowed for me to really hone my skills and learn a great deal about myself in the context of an individual therapy session
Pros
lots of supervision and feedback
Cons
few clients
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Volunteer
Entomology Lab Volunteer (Current Employee) –  Sacramento, CAJanuary 30, 2018
I'm a volunteer and my job as an illustrator was temporary. It's a good place though to really gain experience and the staff is amazing. I'm honestly grateful for the opportunity to research there.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This is not a job. It is a school.
Student Assistant (Former Employee) –  Sacramento, CADecember 10, 2017
The classes at Sacramento State are wonderful. As a student at this school for four years, I grew immensely. Excellent professors. The drawbacks of going to Sacramento State is the traffic and many students have an inability to be quiet in areas of study. If you are easily distracted, don't count on getting work done on campus.
Pros
Restaurants, classes, accomplishment.
Cons
Traffic, parking, students unable to be quiet.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I loved my job.
Counselor/ academic advisor (Former Employee) –  Sacramento County, CANovember 23, 2017
I was always excited about going to work.
I was very involved in the University and I enjoyed the challenge of working and helping students every day.
The only negative about the University is that being a state institution there were many people who did absolutely nothing and were well paid for it.
Pros
Working with students every day.
Cons
Too many nonproductive people.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a good team that worked well together
Producer-Director (Former Employee) –  Sacramento, CAAugust 11, 2017
I learned new video editing software, and was fortunate to have worked on a successful project with the California Department of Food and Agriculture.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Student Assistant Job
Student Assistant (Former Employee) –  Sacramento, CAJune 29, 2017
This job was a federal work study job that gained me lifelong friends. The secretaries are very nice and bake food on Fridays or frequently have staff meetings where they involve the students working for them too.
Pros
decorating for events, the storage room is very cool!
Cons
many deliveries and errands
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Lab Technician (Former Employee) –  Sacramento, CAJune 26, 2017
I was able to help students with photoshop. My manager was willing to work with my school schedule and understood when I got sick and would not be able to come in.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Want to know more about California State University Sacramento?

Ask a question
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work environment
Student Assistant (Former Employee) –  Sacramento, CAJune 22, 2017
I worked over here as an intern and so this review may be from that perspective
But the professors are encouraging and real life learning while studying.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work environment
Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  Sacramento, CAJune 22, 2017
I worked over here as an intern and so this review may be from that perspective
But the professors are encouraging and real life learning while studying.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful place to work
Business Manager (Former Employee) –  Sacramento, CAMay 24, 2017
I was hired to job share with another individual 20 hours a week. Within 3 months it turned into a full time / part time position which led into more responsibility. Please see resume.
Pros
Great place to work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun relaxing place
Library Desktop Support Student Assistant (Former Employee) –  Sacramento, CAApril 14, 2017
I was a student assistant at CSUS and it is a fun environment to work at. There was also a lot of flexibility in scheduling. The supervisors were understanding and co-workers are supportive.
Pros
Flexibility
Cons
Short breaks, no benefits for student assistants
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice, laid-back university atmosphere
Professor of English (Former Employee) –  Sacramento, CAApril 11, 2017
Independence was key to this job, as I was teaching ESL students while working towards my PhD. Lots of off time and busy work, very fulfilling job but teaching wasn't my passion so I decided to seek a position in the private sector.
Pros
Free time, rewarding work
Cons
Low pay, lots of down time
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work!
Event supervisor (Former Employee) –  Sacramento, CAJanuary 26, 2017
Loved working here, diverse and outside the box thinkers. Could improve on better equipement to use for guests. Also, more time frames to work at. The times to choose are at odd times of the day so its difficult to have family time or study time.
Pros
Great communication
Cons
Was not full-time
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Teaching Assistant is an easy job
Teacher Assistant (Former Employee) –  Sacramento, CAAugust 10, 2016
As an undergraduate, you typically work with a professor as a grader. Depending on the course, it may take up alot of time, but it is an easy job if you need the extra cash.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Test Proctor (Current Employee) –  Sacramento, CAJuly 17, 2016
This is a student job. Its only 40 hours a week and you need to be enrolled at Sac State. Quiet environment for helping those who need more time on their exams.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful faculty and staff
Teacher Assistant (Former Employee) –  Sacramento, CAJune 1, 2016
Professional and capable people all around. As with all public institutions, there is some red tape to deal with, but the history department staff keeps it under control quite well.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful Opportunity and experience
Procurement and Travel Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Sacramento, CAMarch 10, 2016
Great management, great job flexibility, room for learning, great college job, higher education field, staff family.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at California State University Sacramento. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Ratings from women

2.9InHerSight Score

3.0Personal Development

3.4Career Opportunities

2.6Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

Powered by InHerSight

California State University Sacramento Reviews by Location