Candlewood Suites Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Frequently kept tidy and still plenty to do
Housekeeper (Former Employee) –  Vancouver, WAJuly 16, 2018
Day to day workload varies depending on the rate of scheduled check-outs (which is subject to change at any given time), the management responds to customer service promptly with respect, staff goes through changes from time to time, but everyone that joins the team works well solo and together.
Pros
Discounts on items available in the pantry and discounts for family stays
Cons
Low stock on inventory
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I comfortable yet busy establishment to work at.
Front Desk, Lodging (Current Employee) –  Birmingham, ALJuly 12, 2018
An organized daily schedule
Enjoyable group of co workers to work with.
No room for advancement.

The Management team have been at the hotel for multiple years.
Cons
Scheduling issues
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a good place
Hosekeeping (Former Employee) –  Deer Park, TXJuly 11, 2018
working at candlewood was awesome I get to meet new guest and new employer I love all the staff and guest... the management was good they was nice and always there when you need something this place makes you feel like you are at home
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Maintenance Technician Lead (Former Employee) –  Gonzales, LAJuly 11, 2018
Really loved that job Were suggest it to anyone not hard at all the most important thing is to do is keep the trash and controlKeep the parking lot clean and all public areas
Pros
Get off early on office
Cons
Weekends
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Front desk (Current Employee) –  Philadelphia, PAJuly 11, 2018
Great place to work, benefits are huge. The pay for a Company managed hotel is great. Match up to 6% of 401k, personal and vacation time are easily accumulated.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent
Weekend Manager (Former Employee) –  Raleigh, NCJuly 10, 2018
For starting out in a new to me city, I liked working for Candlewood Suites. Looking back on my time there and the amount of effort applied on a daily basis I'm finding that the pay was lacking, especially since there were no benefits with my Weekend Manager Position.
Pros
Discounted room rates at any IHG hotel for yourself and family
Cons
Difficult to use the discounted room rate when you don't receive PTO.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The job itself wasn't the issue.
Head Housekeeper (Former Employee) –  Salt Lake City, UTJuly 9, 2018
The job was amazing at first. The managers liked me and the guests really responded to me. I had more fun doing my actual job than I did with the people I worked with. The front dest staff were incredible. Some of them actually know more than the management team. But in the end, I didn't feel comfortable going into a job where the management was repeatedly caught saying horrible things about every staff member in the building. And no one was ever held accountable for their actions.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
work conditions were great
Front desk receptionist (Former Employee) –  Raleigh, NCJuly 9, 2018
They sent us to a lot of meetings for our jobs. How to deal with people and just how to do our jobs better all the way around. It was very helpful. I learned a lot working there.
Pros
Clean and all around enjoyable place to work.
Cons
Front desk person had to do laundry at night.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy place to work but is becoming toxic
Front Desk/ Night Auditor (Current Employee) –  Sayre, PAJuly 8, 2018
We are currently going through a GM change and the interim GM acts like he could care less. He isn't here as much as he should and he rolls his eyes at every question we have for him. Whether or not you like the position you were forced to do, you shouldnt take out out frustrations on the staff.
Pros
Discounts
Cons
Minimal Benefits, slow management reaction
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
When properly staffed lots of fun.
Guest Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Indianapolis, INJuly 7, 2018
Needed more consistent staffing. the hotel was micromanaged and the owners didn't really care about the property and would do bandaid fixes to issues to think the problems were solved.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It’s a good job fun and easy
Housekeeper (Former Employee) –  Hartford, CTJuly 5, 2018
Working in Candlewood Suites was one of my favorite things to do because it was like cleaning up the house and I love cleaning so it was something I enjoy doing
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not bad
NIGHT AUDITOR (Current Employee) –  Lacey, WA 98503July 4, 2018
A very nice place to work. You learn how to use the hotel management system, management is good if not a little nitpicky, they try to keep it relaxed among the staff but professional to the public, the hardest part is remembering all the the things when some of them you rarely have to do, and the most enjoyable part is the independence to get your tasks done in whatever order you wish more or less.
Pros
Management, culture, industry
Cons
Low pay, no benefits, hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No thanks
Front Desk Manager (Former Employee) –  Dallas, TXJuly 2, 2018
This job was one of the worst ever. It was more for good ole boys coming from Texas A&M seeking new careers. There was little to no advancement opportunities. I would never recommend this company to anyone.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
General Manager (Current Employee) –  Temple, TXJune 28, 2018
This job will teach you the value and importance of time. Customer service is your primary goal. This job will test your patience and problem solving skills.
Pros
Meet new people everyday
Cons
Ridiculous guest complaints & entitled reward members!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Too much favoritism
Front Office Manager (Former Employee) –  Independence, MOJune 27, 2018
The owner was awesome. Too bad the general manager was not. She played favorites especially with the mother and son she hired. She also let them bully people when they didn't get their way and spent more time hiding in her office gossiping and talking about who she was going to fire to non management staff.
Pros
Owner was great
Cons
Needs complete new staff and management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
low pay
Front Desk Agent (Current Employee) –  Sioux Falls, SDJune 26, 2018
does not pay well for all the tasks that are given. if they payed better then they could keep more employees but they would have to pay at least 12.00 an hour
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Focused Safe and Welcoming Team
Night Auditor (Former Employee) –  Lakewood, WAJune 22, 2018
Everyone is communicative, focused on their duties, and overall seeking progress in teamwork while already being a tight welcoming team. Very clean and well kept place overall. Great place to stay and work at.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
None
Laundry Attendant (Former Employee) –  Tallahassee, FLJune 17, 2018
At first the job was great but when the head housekeeper quit everything went down hill. The job was really stressful, i will never and my life work for candle wood suites again.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor management
Front Desk Receptionist (Former Employee) –  Victoria, TXJune 16, 2018
The sale director has no business to be in management due to the way she treats her employees. She gives her family discounted rate at the hotel under her name
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Negative
Housekeeper (Former Employee) –  Peoria, ILJune 16, 2018
Laundry never ready when it's time to clean rooms poor management they show favortism you only get paid twice a month if nothing has changed you dont get tims to clean rooms properly they rush it i need more than 20 mins to clean a mini apt
Cons
No breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Candlewood Suites. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.5
Based on 637 reviews
5220
4143
3124
258
192

Ratings by category

3.4Work/Life Balance
2.9Compensation/Benefits
3.0Job Security/Advancement
3.2Management
3.4Culture

Ratings from women

InHerSight Score
1.9

1.7Personal Development

2.8Career Opportunities

1.5Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight