Capital One Employee Reviews

4.0
Overall rating
Based on 6,242 reviews
Ratings breakdown
52.4K
42.1K
31.2K
2340
1265
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Found 5,937 reviews matching the search See all 6,238 reviews
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Work Environment
Customer Solutions Specialist (Former Employee) –  Saint Cloud, MNJuly 16, 2018
The people you work with will help you out a lot, but you need to fully understand what you're doing. Training is 7 weeks, which is needed. The customers can be hard to deal with at times, but there are always the ones who are so nice and can cheer you up.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Company
Sr. Director, Technology (Former Employee) –  Richmond, VAJuly 16, 2018
The early days were fun, but now is very political. They have a focus to get rid of the people after 15 years of experience and hire in younger less expensive and knowledgable resources.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great benefits
Procedure Writer (Current Employee) –  Glen Allen, VAJuly 16, 2018
Great place to gain experience. Enjoy team environment. Mission is clear at the top of management, however gets muddled further down the chain. Benefits are excellent for parents.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Growing Experience
Funding Analyst (Former Employee) –  Plano, TXJuly 16, 2018
Company strives on their mission and compensates employees. I am unable to move forward with posting my resume and searching jobs on Indeed's website without completing a minimum of 150 words. :)
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I loved working there
CRT Escalations Senior Account Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Sioux FallsJuly 16, 2018
I loved my job and the work environment. It was positive and they really made there team member feel heard. The benefits are great. I would never have left if they hadn't left Sioux Falls.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mission Led Company
Manager, Project Management, CSM (Former Employee) –  Tysons Corner, VAJuly 16, 2018
Capital One lives by its mission. Culturally, Capital One, allows you to maximize how you want to work and grown as an individual! Typical day changes depending on what type of role you are offered.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stringent goals make for a stressful career.
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Far Rockaway, NYJuly 15, 2018
Too greedy. Products are pushed on clients by reps in order to meet company goals. Not a fun job. Too many conference calls where goals are discussed and daily action plans are promised by reps in order to appease Management. The problem is, mist of the goals are unattainable and unreasonable in certain locations.
Cons
Benefits are horrible
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A very flexible and well paying job for college students.
Student Banker (Former Employee) –  Newark, NJJuly 15, 2018
an extremely well paying job for younger college students or 18 year olds coming out of high school. Would love to work for the company again. by far my best working experience so far.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Many managers do not follow the corporate values and missions
Risk Analyst (Former Employee) –  Report to McClean, VAJuly 14, 2018
The corporate values and mission are not followed by many managers. Favoritism prevails regardless of skill set in the credit/risk analytics service area..
Pros
Enjoyed the responsibilities and objectives and working with my peers.
Cons
Manager, skip-up, and senior management tout corporate values; however, the buddy system presides.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Corporate America
Sr. Operations Production Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Glen Allen, VAJuly 14, 2018
The company has many benefits as well as flaws. If you're working in the call center environment it isn't a cake walk and advancement is extremely difficult to obtain.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company culture
Specialty Funding Analyst (Current Employee) –  Plano, TXJuly 14, 2018
Great place to work! Very structured work environment with plenty of opportunity for career advancement. The company really cares about the employees, especially for being such a big company.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good pay but no job security
Grunt (Current Employee) –  Chicago, ILJuly 13, 2018
Benefits and pay are top notch, but there is no job security. The work environment is very good with lots of smart people to learn from. Their biggest weakness is their performance review system. Instead of measuring you against a set of competencies, you are measured against your peers. This creates a culture of competition and reduces the likelihood that your peers are going to help you out.
Pros
pay
Cons
bad performance management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Large company with good benefits and resources
Senior Operations Manager (Former Employee) –  Plano, TXJuly 13, 2018
I was free to run the inbound call center as I saw fit. I had the authority to make financial decisions up to $10,000 without getting approval from my superiors.
Pros
autonomy to run the call center
Cons
too much faith in fairness of review process
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to work
Manager In Charge - Floor Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Plano, TXJuly 13, 2018
Great place to work and get your feet wet in the banking industry

Awesome people and enviromnment. A lot of opportunities for growth, I am truly greatful for everything Capital One has taught me.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Smart people who are nice
Senior Business Manager, Product Pricing (Current Employee) –  McLean, VAJuly 13, 2018
Work culture is collaborative. People are smart problem solvers but the organization is risk averse as they need to comply with the many financial regulations.
Pros
Collaborative workplace
Cons
Up or out culture (very strategy consultant like)
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome company to work for and wonderful to work at.
Teller (Current Employee) –  Hammond, LAJuly 12, 2018
A typical at work consisted of performing a wide variety of transactions including check cashing, depositing, transfers, cash advances, and withdrawals. I've learned excellent customer service skills and impeccable handling abilities.
Pros
Paid time off
Cons
Job elimination
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
stressful for sales
Universal Banker/Teller (Former Employee) –  Woodbridge, NJJuly 12, 2018
Lots of sales quotas and alot of the times the managers can be very pushy. If you work in the right bank it's okay..the pay is decent and the benefits are good
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not bad
Customer Service Lead (Former Employee) –  Boulder, COJuly 12, 2018
not a bad place to work, but i have also had many other jobs that i have enjoyed more than this one. i hope my review has been helpful to someone out there.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work
Deposit Fraud Specialist (Current Employee) –  Richmond, VAJuly 12, 2018
Capital One is a great place to work. The benefits are great and the vacation time is excessive. The workplace culture is great and the people are very enjoyable.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast paced
Audit Manager (Former Employee) –  Richmond, VAJuly 12, 2018
Don't take a weeks vacation; you will come back and be a month behind. Exciting, fast paced, very youth centric culture. Great campus, great perks, like pastry shop, bikes, walking desks.. but, rather cliquish. If not part of the in crowd, hard to get your ideas heard.
Pros
wonderful campus, great food, lots of learning opportunities
Cons
12-14 hour days or you aren't pulling your load
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Capital One. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Women's ratings

4.1Fairygodboss Score

74%say women are treated fairly and equally to men

88%would recommend to other women

Fairygodboss provides free job reviews for women, by women.

Powered by Fairygodboss