Captain D's Seafood Restaurant Employee Reviews

Showing all 941 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a good place for a first job.
Guest Specialist (Current Employee) –  Russellville, KYOctober 22, 2018
I loved working there but I needed something more and they couldn't give it to me there. I would recommend someone that was wanting a first time job to work there cuz it's easy and slow-paced enough that you won't get too overwhelmed.
Pros
50% off
Cons
Few hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Guest Services (Former Employee) –  Charleston, WVOctober 22, 2018
I learned how to work in a fast paced environment. The management was very understanding but very firm with the employees. Hardest part of the job was cooking when it was busy.
Pros
Half price meals
Cons
short lunches
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
could team work
5 yrs as guest specialist (Former Employee) –  Benton, AROctober 22, 2018
I like the work and the people I work with
we have good food at great prices. the family style dining room everyone seems to enjoy. guests leave happy.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
guest specialist (Former Employee) –  Wentzville, MOOctober 21, 2018
fast paced environment , friendly staff, good pay, hardest part is cooking in the kitchen when busy.Enjoyable part is people wokring there and the managers.
Pros
half off meals
Cons
no benefits
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
its and ok job
Cashier /waitress (Former Employee) –  Norfolk, VAOctober 18, 2018
this was my first job so i really cant say anything about it but its a fast food place so to me they can pay the cashiers alittle more that what they do their
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok workplace
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Memphis, TNOctober 18, 2018
When I went in for work, they would make me sit down and wait like 30 minutes until I clocked in. Once I got a chance to clock in, they would demand me to do everything except for my job title. Once it was time for me to clock out, I had to clock out that minute.
Pros
Free lunch
Cons
Short breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company just needs help
Assistant Manager (Current Employee) –  VAOctober 18, 2018
During training came to find out GM hadn't been at store for 2 months, other had previously been fired and hired back another had also quit not a positive sign. Seems like managers work way to many hours and causes them to not care and perform less. Training is a joke I feel they really don't care your thrown in and not alot of direction. On second day everyone spent downtime applying elsewhere. Alot of food being eaten and waisted. If it wasn't for going to work at another location I probably would look somewhere else myself
Pros
Free meals, decent pay, laid back environment
Cons
Overworked, undertrained managers, training does not exist
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work no play
Prep Cook/Line Cook, Cashier (Former Employee) –  Chamblee, GAOctober 17, 2018
I had to prep green breans, bake potatoes,hush puppy mix anything in the back of the house i had to do wash dishes make sure all thepep was donefor next shift after i finished preparing i had to receive the cash for the in-house orders.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and a good job starter.
Cashier (Current Employee) –  Monroe, NCOctober 17, 2018
Captain D's is a good starting job for anyone. Most of the time they start you off on drinks, then pulling orders from the food bar (or Window). Afterward then its the dinning room and then the register. I would say the best thing about Captain D's is that during the holidays you get to decorate the store. That and the customers just about all the customers kind and friendly and our manager is kind and always has a smile on her face.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
terrible
Captain D' prep (Former Employee) –  Jefferson City, MOOctober 17, 2018
it wasnt an very good job to be working at very unsociable people there wont gone back to working there for no reason at alldont care for the management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
captain d's
Captain D's Seafood Kitchen (Current Employee) –  Richmond, VAOctober 17, 2018
Captain d's is actually a cool place to work at the employees are nice and so are the managers.The food there is great and the job gives you a opportunity to build your experience however there are no benefits at the job.
Pros
food, fun people
Cons
no benefits
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
stressful and un-enjoyable
Cook/Prep (Former Employee) –  Elizabethtown, KYOctober 16, 2018
-stressful
- learned how to operate food equipment
-management was ok
-hardest part of the job was moving around the cramped work space
- most enjoyable part of the job was the flexible schedule
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Back and forth stability
Assistant General Manager (Current Employee) –  Chattanooga, TNOctober 12, 2018
I would rather not give an opinion at this time. Captain Ds has some really good people working for them. They also have some people that deliberately abuse the policy and systems in place and because of their "time served" their failures to follow policy and procedure are most times overlooked. I am dedicated and loyal to my team and to my role however my value is overlooked or devalued by those that seem to always undermine the system.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unproductive workplace
Guest Specialist (Former Employee) –  Dothan, ALOctober 11, 2018
The job was a lot to handle. Unorganized and really messy workplace. It may be better enter since I left but it was very unwelcoming. It was a lot and wouldn’t recommend it
Pros
Free meals
Cons
No breaks, unorganized
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and friendly environment
Cook (Former Employee) –  Decatur, GAOctober 10, 2018
Could pay more per hourly.
Could allow more labor hours.
Annual paid vacationtime should be allowed to crew members. Health insurance should be offered to employees.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pooply managed fast paced
Guest specialist (Former Employee) –  House Springs, MOOctober 8, 2018
It wasn't too terrible of a job if there were enough staff. My manager was very rude and didn't care about anything but herself and her store I had to do more than my share of work na I didn't think any of the employees were paid to deal with what we did
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun
Cook 1 (Former Employee) –  Brunswick, GAOctober 5, 2018
Needs to offer benefits to all employees. Give raises when they're deserved. Come up with a different way of scheduling. Increase the chances of career advances.
Pros
Discount
Cons
Low pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It’s not a very uplifting environment
Cashier (Current Employee) –  Franklin, NCOctober 4, 2018
There wasn’t enough organization and lack of communication batween the work staff. But everyone tries to encourage each other when trying to achieve desired goals of the workplace.
Pros
50% off meals
Cons
Negative people to work with
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I love it...mosrlt
Shift Leader (Current Employee) –  Halls Crossroads, TNOctober 1, 2018
Captain D’s has let me come back twice. However, you’re either overworked, or way underworked. There’s no good balance. You’re asked a lot. Even if you’re doing your best, the Management always wants more. No matter what. Nothing is ever good enough.
Pros
Laid back
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rewarding
Cashier/Waiter/Cook (Former Employee) –  Frederick, MDOctober 1, 2018
Customers are usually friendly. Job is not demanding. I worked my up from cashier to drive thru to server to cook to unloading truck orders and doing the prep work for the day in a matter of months.
Pros
Discounted meals, friendly environment, management is awesome
Cons
pay is not enough to live on
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Captain D's Seafood Restaurant. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.5
Based on 941 reviews
5250
4235
3276
298
182

See reviews about

3.3Work/Life Balance
2.8Compensation/Benefits
3.0Job Security/Advancement
3.2Management
3.3Culture