Caption Call Employee Reviews

3.8
Overall rating
Based on 384 reviews
Ratings breakdown
5133
4128
371
232
120
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Showing all 384 reviews
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great pay, hard mentally
Captioning Agent (Former Employee) –  Saint George, UTAugust 14, 2018
CaptionCall was a fantastic job, I loved my manager and I loved the work environment. There were whiteboards on every floor with questions that changed about every 2 weeks. Despite that, CaptionCall is a very mentally exhausting job. It's hard hearing about things you can't control.
Pros
free lunch
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Def. A temporary option
Captioning Agent (Current Employee) –  San Antonio, TXAugust 13, 2018
This is a ok job. Flexible scheduling... But It can get very boring. Hard to stay awake at times. Other days it can be fast paced long drawn out calls , where u are talking non-stop at the speed of light..
Cameras everywhere, racist co-workers. The mentors have THEEEEE worst attitudes. Like if you need their help, They're instantly annoyed and bothered ( why are they even a mentor) and some of them will see u need help and ignore you. They obviously couldn't careless who they promote into the mentor/lead positions. Training is harder than being on the floor so , you will be prepared once out of training. That's a plus.

The frequent remote monitoring sucks and test calls are an absolute JOKE!. Some of the test calls are so difficult, I don't see how anyone passes. And the likelyhood of u actually getting a call like that is slim to none. I mean I appreciate a challenge but let's be realistic at least lol. I feel this is a tactic they use so u never qualify for a bonus. Tbh. Way to keep us motivated. Hopefully u get a nice team-lead cause the mentors are only nice during the interview process. Once your on the floor, they're worthless, rude or racist depending on who u are.

Short breaks. Isolated environment..no room for advancement unless u get in good with leads.. Break room is nice though.
Pros
Break room. Flexible
Cons
Pay, racism/discrimination, breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's aight
Communications Assistant (Current Employee) –  Henderson, NV 89074August 10, 2018
It's alright for the scheduling. But I have bad ears, aggressively okay pay, and have been working there for 2 years and the only raise I have ever received was for fractions of a cent. It works well with school, but past that you're just a cog in the FCC's machine.
Pros
Flexibility
Cons
Everything Else
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Relaxed and stress-free atmosphere with flexible scheduling
Captioning Agent (Current Employee) –  Salt Lake City, UTAugust 9, 2018
CaptionCall has been a good experience for me. After a week or so of training, which you are paid for, you head out to the call floor. It's very easy, stress-free, and perfect for introverts. The management has always been friendly and approachable, in my experience, and you can work without being constantly supervised if you do your job.

The hardest part of this job is definitely coping with the boredom. It's very slow-paced, sometimes, and when the calls are really fast, you're not allowed to read or do anything to pass the time so you can focus on calls. The most enjoyable part of the job is knowing making a difference in people's lives.
Pros
Movies in the breakroom, three breaks for full-timers, can watch videos or Netflix between calls
Cons
Full-time employees are paid less than part-time, due to benefits; uncomfortable chairs, very boring and unfulfilling
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced
Communications Assistant (Former Employee) –  Scottsdale, AZAugust 9, 2018
Fast paced job. Always on the phone, but you may have a few minutes of downtown and are allowed to surf the web during that time. even watch netflix if you've reached your goal.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very rewarding job
Installer/Trainer/Sales (Former Employee) –  Fort Wayne, INAugust 8, 2018
I enjoyed my 5+ years with the CaptionCall. The job was very rewarding and pay was more than fair! I enjoyed being able to help others have a better quality of life.
Pros
Good pay. Rewarding job.
Cons
Dealing with the public can be a challenge.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
the life of a captioning agent
Captioning Agent (Current Employee) –  Henderson, NVAugust 7, 2018
- come in, find a tag for the corresponding open cube, log in, clockin to ADP, log in to client, start taking calls, listen to conversation and dictate everything and anything you hear, read the words you said, make corrections, and continue on, at the end of the call disposition, and wait for next call. if there is an issue with the call audio or anything of that nature, then you fill out a bug report.
- i learned a lot of distraction methods that help me keep up with fast paced calls, i learned how to use speak to text technology and how to work in a self-paced environment.
- management is kind. they bring goodies for the workers occasionally
- not much face to face interaction or room for advancement
- hardest part of the job, not interacting with coworkers and customers face to face, or more often. little socializing, and the only time you are REALLY doing face to face interaction is on break, or if you are being talked to about something serious- in a meeting or in a conference with a team lead supervisor, or managers.
- most enjoyable part of the job, the flexibility they offer to college students, and the fact that our customers are now able to communicate with the world and no longer feel isolated because they are deaf or hard of hearing.
Pros
able to do school work between calls.
Cons
short breaks, not enough pay, not active or engaging enough, a lot of micromanaging
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its a call center
Captioning Agent (Former Employee) –  Tucson, AZAugust 6, 2018
Not the best place to work but definitely not the worse either. You may get a lot of weird calls that you have to caption and you must stay focused.Try to bring a fidget spinner or stress ball to the interview.
Pros
none
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
If you get passed the poor management you can enjoy the work environment of the company and the people you work with.
Trainer/Sales Account Manager (Former Employee) –  Salt Lake City, UTAugust 6, 2018
After the morning meeting from management, you could start your day the way you wanted to based on how you setup your work calendar for the company. Either starting as early as 6 am or Late around 9-10 am and closing the day around 5 pm or late as 9 pm. depends on how you wanted to work for the company. The overall of the company is that the different departments don't communicate at all towards one another, and cause tons of confusion especially when new policies are instituted across the company. Would take a week or month to get all the problems worked out before we saw correct numbers on how it effected the performance of the company and in the field. The greatest thing about this company is the way we interact with out customers, were the best at customer service and get rave reviews across the country at how personable our workers are towards them. Giving them a sense of genuineness about wanting to help them and serving them with a smile.
Pros
flexible work hours, travel, benefits
Cons
Lack of professionalism with Management, Oversight issues, failed business practices, Keeps doing a failed idea till it hurts them overall.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Chill Place, but it'll Wear on You After a While
CAPTIONING AGENT (Current Employee) –  Henderson, NVAugust 5, 2018
So long as you aren't disturbing the people in the cubicles around you, you are more or less free to do whatever you want between calls. You get tested three times a month, watched remotely twice a month, have your supervisor sit with you on call once a month, attend a monthly meeting with your supervisor once a month, and attend one annual meeting with your manager. So long as you aren't doing anything that goes against FCC compliance standards, you really can't get in trouble here. Super easy paycheck, but it gets boring.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Culture of Distrust
Captioning Agent (Former Employee) –  Colorado Springs, COAugust 2, 2018
This company has a pervasive culture of distrust. Management has taken every liberty to keep captioning assistants under their thumb by remotely monitoring your calls with no warning, testing you twice a month (also with no warning), there's security cameras everywhere, especially watching the cafeteria area, where you have to pay to get a snack or a drink, and a system of monitoring how long you're taking calls that means you'll get only a 15 minute break after sitting on calls for two or three hours straight and if you work part-time, you will get an infraction for taking that break or any unscheduled breaks, since you won't meet the "goal" of how much of your shift you're supposed to be on calls, which can result in disciplinary action.
Calls themselves are boring and can be very frustrating and you'll get a few seconds of respite between them if you're lucky. You can't do anything while you're on a call, including reading a book or checking your email.
The pay is dismal and there's no job security. The technology to caption live audio is already here and it's better than what we can do with our software. It's only a matter of time until all the captioning assistants are laid off.
Pros
Good if you like being bored and unchallenged
Cons
Short breaks, bad pay, micro-managing, boring, no job security
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Must be able to endure very slow and boring times at work
Communications Assistant (Current Employee) –  Meridian, IDAugust 1, 2018
This job is excellent if you're looking for a slow paced and sometimes boring job, however if you do it right (keeping up with phone calls) it is so easy. Between calls you have a variety of things you can do, like coloring, knitting, or little projects like that, or even watch hulu and netflix. It's a very simple job and not difficult to master, although it requires a lot of brain skill which will be a challenge at first to grasp. You must be able to listen, comprehend, repeat with enunciation at speeds of up to 700+ wpm all while being able to correct mistakes and keep proper call formatting like adding paragraph breaks and punctuation. I would recommend giving it a try as a side job or part-time first because it can be intense at times, but overall boring. If you're an introvert and prefer not to make friends at work or socialize with customers or associates, and you are good at keeping yourself occupied, this is the PERFECT job for you.
Pros
Good benefits, introverted environment, slow paced, low stress
Cons
sometimes stressful calls, can be challenging to learn to caption, and there will be challenging calls
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard of Hearing place phone calls
PHONE FACILITATOR (Former Employee) –  Scottsdale, AZJuly 31, 2018
It was a great place to work and provide a service to those in need. The people who work there are amazing and supportive. The hours were amazing and allowed for you to go back to school if you wanted.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice lunchroom
Captioning Customer Service Agent/Team Coach (Former Employee) –  Phoenix, AZJuly 31, 2018
nice lunchroom, with walking paths outside for breaks and quiet spaces to relax. easy days, with a relatively simple job that is easy to train for if you have the mind for it.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flexible scheduling, great for students
CAPTIONING AGENT (Current Employee) –  Colorado Springs, COJuly 26, 2018
As a college student, this is the perfect job/ first job. You get to change your schedule every few months. Very flexible. It is great to know that you are helping the hard of hearing every time you go into work. However, you just stay in one spot for your entire shift. With new employees constantly coming in, sometimes there are no stations to work in, so there is a wait time.
Pros
Great environment
Cons
Limited desk availability on some days
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A decent job
Captioning Agent (Former Employee) –  San Antonio, TXJuly 25, 2018
My overall experience working for this company was okay, not great but not bad either. I started working for this company my final year in college, and it provided a fairly decent amount of money for someone going to school and working part-time. This job is fairly easy but don't be fooled because it really depends on the types of calls that come in which can range from easy to difficult. Each month you are graded on your ability to caption accurately which is a small con to this job because it makes you feel like your job is on the line if you don't score in that certain percentile and in addition are made to feel in competition with others. As far as atmosphere goes, its pretty nice, the people are friendly, the break room is nice and work stations are always clean. The managers are nice although you don't have much interaction with them because most of your interactions come through the team leads. I will say the only thing I was disappointed with in this company and management was their inability to provide me with a reference I was required to have for a new job due to a "corporate policy". In conclusion, this job was okay, really temporary for me as I was going to move on once school ended. Sometimes it wasn't as fun and could get boring fast especially if it was on a slow day, you are allowed to read, draw etc when not on a call. It's hard to make friends with coworkers as this isn't a very sociable place, its a little awkward actually but they try to create events or so to allow employees to get to know each other outside of work. If I could rate this place I would rate  more... it a 3.5 out of 5.  less
Pros
Easy job for the most part, flexible work schedules, nice breakroom, friendly peopple.
Cons
Sitting for long periods of time, performance testing, pay could be better, not very sociable.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great for introverts
Captioning Agent (Former Employee) –  Salt Lake City, UTJuly 17, 2018
They train you to think calls are super fast, once you get to the call floor the job goes from being hard to boring. It's an easy job, the hard part is staying awake.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing place to be
Communications Assistant (Current Employee) –  Henderson, NVJuly 10, 2018
I live working here. The management is supportive and open to suggestions. They are flexible with your schedule, allow trades and frequently offer opportunity to pick up or drop hours without penalty.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Boring but easy
Captioning Agent (Former Employee) –  Colorado Springs, COJuly 10, 2018
The hardest part of the job is not falling asleep. If you work at the Colo Spgs location you'll make minimum wage so it's not really worth it. They will act like you get to make up your schedule but when they try they make you "compromise." Always want you to work over time. lunch and breaks are short and strict. Some Managers and TLS are awesome, some are terrible, its just the luck of the draw.
Pros
nice break room, easy job, pick hours kind of
Cons
short breaks, bad benefits, terrible supervisors, bad hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good starter job.
Communications Assistant (Former Employee) –  Henderson, NVJuly 9, 2018
You will not get a good raise or be promoted based on the merit of your hard work. Its a fair place for people who can sit in a cubicle and not feel rewarded all day.

Some people you do help, but almost no one reads their screen.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Caption Call. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Ratings from women

3.2InHerSight Score

2.9Personal Development

3.8Career Opportunities

3.0Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

Powered by InHerSight