Cargo Transporters Employee Reviews

3.5
Overall rating
Based on 29 reviews
Ratings breakdown
55
412
38
21
13
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Showing all 29 reviews
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company stressful job
Fleet leader (Former Employee) –  Claremont, NCJune 29, 2018
Good company but it's a very stressful job. There are good employees and room to advance but the nature of working in logistics is stressful, so be mindful of what the job entails.
Pros
Good pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good starter company
Driver (Former Employee) –  Charlotte, NCMarch 5, 2018
Treat certain drivers wrong not enough miles and forced dispatch also take your vacation away from u if u turn your notice in after being approved for it and cancel insurance the day u leave instead of a grace period like many companies do they r not a true to paying u for breaking down and layovers
Cons
Poor managers
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
OTR Commercial Truck Driver (Former Employee) –  Claremont, NCFebruary 27, 2018
The company is a good place to work with excellent benefits and perks all around. Sometimes family time was an issue but that is the life of an OTR truck driver. Putting miles in the books means more pay when the week was over.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall Great
Truck Driver (OTR) (Former Employee) –  Claremont, NCJanuary 13, 2018
Great place to work, Best ever. Dispatchers are easy to work for. No forced dispatch. Great miles and benefits. They really stand by their drivers and help you out with any problems, job related or personal.
Pros
On site Facilities are great
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor Upper Management
Driver (Former Employee) –  Claremont, NCDecember 14, 2017
Good place for driver's to get their start. Upper Management locks themselves on the 3rd floor and claims to have an open door policy. Very much a "Big Brother" atmosphere. Constant turnover among drivers due to disrespect from dispatch and operations management. The drivers get the blame for everything that goes wrong due to managements poor planning. Easy to get fired for any mistake as a driver.
Pros
Good place to start
Cons
Drivers take on all the risk of the company.
Was this review helpful?Yes 8NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
One of the best OTR trucking companies out there.
Professional Driver (Former Employee) –  Claremont, NCDecember 8, 2017
From what I've heard, there aren't many trucking companies out there who provide a higher salary. Home every weekend, with as many deliveries as you can handle. If you are willing to spend five consecutive days in the truck, then this is a great place to work. Health insurance benefits after one month of training. Ten paid vacation days after three months. A great job, but not for me.
Pros
Big paycheck. Home every weekend.
Cons
I had difficulty adapting to the OTR lifestyle.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 3Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place
Shipping and Receiving (Former Employee) –  Hickory, NCSeptember 13, 2017
Very good place to work for great people great benefits great 401K it's an awesome work environment friendly faces and everyone works as a team definitely would work there again
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The management team at Cargo was the best I've ever seen. Their employees welfare seemed to always come first.
Company Driver (Former Employee) –  Claremont, NCAugust 9, 2017
Cargo Transporters is an excellent place to work:
-The best equipment
-Excellent benefits
-Wonderful HR department
-Superior Management
-superior Training
Pros
See my review
Cons
See review
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 5Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
overall they was a good company,recuriter was not competely honest
Truck Driver (Former Employee) –  Claremont, NCJuly 14, 2017
sometime stressfully having to look out for other driver on the freeway, more about truck driving and other cities and freeways, management didn't really talked with them, some people was helpfully some was not, sliding tandems and night driving in cities, driving on the open road seeing the world and meeting new people
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 9Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Never a dull moment
CDL Driver (Current Employee) –  Claremont, NCJuly 2, 2017
Receive load assignment from dispatch. Go to designated shipper to pick up load. Check that BOL is correct and drive to designated consignee (receiver) to make delivery. Loads are sometimes drop and hook. May do live loading or unloading. All loads are no touch freight. Communicate with dispatch that loads have been picked up or received and that trailer is empty or loaded and heading to net shipment location. All this is done while following road, DOT and company safety rules, regulations and policies. Must manage time wisely in order to make pick up and deliveries on time and not violate any DOT time requirements.

Family owned business and very friendly. They do their best to get you home when or if its necessary to do so.

The hardest part of this job is being on the road a lot but it has also been the best thing. I have been able to see places and see things that i probably would never gave seen with driving for this company.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
As awhole
OTR Dry Van Truck Driver (Former Employee) –  Claremont, NCJune 26, 2017
Good company to work for they need to brush up on some things however over all they take care of their employees. The have up to date trucks that they keep well maintained. They have great home terminals for the drivers to utilize.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good company
OTR Truck Driver (Current Employee) –  Claremont, NCDecember 15, 2016
I love the company but can't stand the camera dead in my face and now you get in trouble for driving over 65 when going down a hill but other than that I feel this is a perfect company
Pros
everything
Cons
too! much safety equipment
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive truck/cargo hauling business which required long dedicated hours on the highways.
Cargo Truck Driver (Former Employee) –  Beckley, WVNovember 1, 2016
Productive and very busy cargo hauling business which required a very dedicated and discipline individual to meet company delivery requirements on a daily basis. I learned a lot while gaining good insight and friends along with safety truck driving skills.
Pros
family oriented
Cons
road conditions in winter time
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people
Loader/Unloader (Current Employee) –  Conover, NCOctober 11, 2016
Great work environment , everyone gets along great. Just hours are getting short. A lot of people have been laid off. The hardest part is lifting heavy safes. But it's really not that bad
Pros
Very laid back
Cons
Work is slow
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very professional
Driver (Former Employee) –  Claremont, NCSeptember 16, 2016
Very good company to work for .
Some of the newest equiptment ive ever operated
The only fault I saw keeping the drivers moving
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 2Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad Really Bad
Driver (Former Employee) –  Claremont, NCJuly 11, 2016
No home time they treat you like your useless and you are forced to do about 13 training classes a year no you will not be home they work that in then you gone again for 6 days as soon as ur on ur way back home they set you up on a load 1 day at home then waiting on a load after you get ur @st 1 done they rush you hard but then you wait unorganized Co i see some of you have said good things but i have been ther and watch them talk behind drivers back watched them make a driver take 10 off when he was 45 miles from the yard then send him ti the yard the next day. the dispatchers/ secretary's really treat the driver's bad.
Pros
Too Much Safety
Cons
No home time no mile's hurry up and wait should be on the building.
Was this review helpful?Yes 18No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's ok
Truck Driver Class A OTR (Current Employee) –  Claremont, NCJune 29, 2016
Spent many years trying get on with this company. Now wish I hadn't wasted my time. Not getting enough miles. Sit more then I drive most every week. They hire too many people when they know they don't have enough miles for drivers now.
Pros
Good equipment
Cons
No miles. Going broke. No miles.
Was this review helpful?Yes 15No 2Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
They were OK.
CDL-A Truck Driver (Former Employee) –  Claremont, NCJune 8, 2016
It was OK working for this company. I didn't typically enjoy it but I did my job. My codriver was really rude and the company doesn't exactly care anything about their drivers. Nothing was hard about this job, I enjoyed every minute of it.
Was this review helpful?Yes 11No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice people, Trucks and Trailer
4 Safety Awards & 2 Superstar Driver Awards (Former Employee) –  Claremont, NCJune 4, 2016
Very friendly staff that keeps their trucks up to date and maintained well. Pay is ok but could be better. Not enough weekly miles, only averaged about 1600 - 2000 miles a week during 2015.
Pros
Friendly staff, well maintained fleet
Cons
Not enough miles.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work place with weight room
Truck Driver (OTR) (Former Employee) –  Claremont,NCJuly 26, 2015
OTR truck driver drove day or night and drove all 48 states got to see a lot of different states and to meet new people. Just wanted to be home more with my family.
Was this review helpful?Yes 16No 13Report