Caribou Coffee | Caribou Coffee and Einstein Noah Restaurant Group

Caribou Coffee | Caribou Coffee and Einstein Noah Restaurant Group Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hectic place, no guaruntees on hours.
Shift Leader/supervisor (Former Employee) –  Mason City, IAJuly 6, 2018
Very crazy atmosphere. Entire shift goes by quickly, but only because you are running yourself ragged. Management follows no rules but their own, can often be found in back sitting on their phones or taking extra smoke breaks. The hardest part of the job is getting screamed at by customers, which happens often. The good thing is that upper management will step in, but there is no way to correctly deal with those types of customers. The one decent thing about this job is the insane discount you get on food and drink purchases.
Pros
Free (small) meals, discounts on every purchase.
Cons
Short or no breaks, Management is out of line, no guarantees on hours.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical barista job with great enviroment
Team Leader / Barista (Former Employee) –  Pittsburgh, PAJune 20, 2018
One of the best parts about Caribou for me was the woods lodge feel that the environment created. Any service job can get stressful, but there was something pleasing about getting people their much needed coffee
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall Great Place to Work
General Manager - Training Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Saint Paul, MNJune 15, 2018
This is a great company for young, new managers. A great place to start your career. Training is reasonable. Hours are typical. The company is intent on helping managers with a work/life balance.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
excellent group of people
Guest Services Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILApril 12, 2018
Really enjoyable place to work. Culture was top rated and so where the guests. Real bummer that this company converted into another franchise. still miss them
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good High School Job
Barista (Former Employee) –  Brooklyn Park, MNMarch 24, 2018
This is a great place to work. I loved my coworkers except for management, she was very rude and demeaning. Flexible hours and a decent pay with tips.
Pros
Free drinks
Cons
Managment, You smell like beans and cardboard
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Hours and Good Management
Team Member (Current Employee) –  West Des Moines, IAMarch 15, 2018
Great place to work if you like interacting with customers and building relationships with them.Also good if you like to work at a fast paced but fun workplace
Pros
Great Workers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a fun place to work
Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Kansas City, MOMarch 4, 2018
The constant chaos of tying to work in this environment was very difficult, Always understaffed, hard to get people to work there for what they pay. Very poor upper leadership.
Pros
free coffee
Cons
culture
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Gilbert, AZFebruary 12, 2018
I loved working here but I decided that I couldn't balance work and school at the same time. This was my first job, and though I only worked here for a month, I left for other reasons I don't wish to put in here.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace
ASSISTANT GENERAL MANAGER (Former Employee) –  Maplewood, MNFebruary 12, 2018
customers love to see us enjoying our work. Something is always changing. Lots of promotions and perks. Can pick up shifts at other stores to make hours, max 40/wk
Pros
easy going uniform
Cons
never enough people on shift
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Alright
General Manager (Current Employee) –  Phoenix, AZFebruary 5, 2018
I love the job, but it seems as if the management just flies by the seat of their pants and just makes rules and decisions based on people's feelings rather than business moves.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No Respect, lacks management, lacks upper management support
Assistant Store Manager (Former Employee) –  White Bear Lake, MNDecember 18, 2017
Management was checked out. Mid management would talk behind your back to other employees. Way of training is here watch a video and then do it, and get yelled at if your wrong! Tried to go to management to get help but had no time ? Time to move on what a great place to work, I thought Caribou was this great company guess not just a company growing too fast and have no time for their employees to train them.
Pros
Had good benefits
Cons
All the rest
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work
Coffee Maker (Current Employee) –  Brooklyn Center, MNDecember 11, 2017
nice place to work, company seems to be lacking direction with recent changes in management and loss of focus / identity. clearly identified areas for focus and improvement, do not seem to share industry best practices, constantly re-inventing processes / procedures.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good starting job
Barista/Shift Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Eden Prairie, MNDecember 7, 2017
Its a very good staring job, either as a very first job or as you learn a management roll. The hardest part is learning and keeping track of the drinks you need to make, but once you have them down you could make them in your sleep. It is either super fast paced or super slow, no really in between. Best part of the job it the ability to try to make up new drinks that aren't on the menu.
Pros
Free Shift drink, Free half pound beans or 12 tea bags a week
Cons
Never got a break when working
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, Fun workplace
Shift Leader (Former Employee) –  Gilbert, AZDecember 6, 2017
Loved working at Caribou Coffee Company. The team and the leaders are so kind and help you grow in every position you are in. Its a fun working environment.
Pros
Great management, Team
Cons
Busy weekends
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful
General Manager (Current Employee) –  Edina, MNNovember 30, 2017
The staffing needs to change. As a manager, they expect your new goal in life to be the store and nothing more. Open to closes are expected. They expect much for the tools that are given
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Slave Labor
Senior General Manager (Current Employee) –  Twin Cities, MNNovember 30, 2017
Horrible upper management. Managers forced to work open to close without breaks. At the mercy of the staff and when they want to work and their time off comes first. No vacation ...have to work even when you are on approved time off.
Pros
Free drink when working
Cons
No breaks, forced to work open to close, no support from DM's.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's okay.
Shift Leader (Current Employee) –  Waterloo, IAOctober 18, 2017
I love what I do every day i'm just looking for a better place to work, with more compensation. The store is very nice and clean and the discounts are great. Advancement is possible.
Pros
Very great atmisphere and company, great bagels, great coffee, coworkers are great.
Cons
Poor management, at my store anyway.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Online Application
no position (Former Employee) –  no locationSeptember 18, 2017
One of the worst that i have dealt with. They are trying to eliminate the need for human interaction. The program will eliminate you from being considered for a position because you do not live close enough or have another application in. Caribou is considered a good company from my area of the world, but they are going to lose out on a lot of great staff because of automation. Maybe they should take a look at Starbucks..... Strange how there system is easier and their company is bigger and better... Just sayin
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Quick-paced
Team Member/Shift Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Hopkins, MNSeptember 17, 2017
A good place to learn about customer service, the fast food industry, and McDonaldization without coming home and smelling like fries. Free coffee every week. Drinks are super easy to learn. They're all basically the same recipe, just customized in a different way per drink.
Pros
Free coffee
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fum job horrible management
Shift Manager/Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Fergus Falls, MNAugust 11, 2017
Needs a,new manager the current one is,disrespectful and horrible to work with . When applying we were promised hours off that were then later not given off. Rude manager overall o loved the job itself just not person i,worked for .
Pros
Discounts
Cons
Scheduling issues
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Caribou Coffee | Caribou Coffee and Einstein Noah Restaurant Group. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 125 reviews
534
450
319
213
19

Ratings by category

3.5Work/Life Balance
3.1Compensation/Benefits
3.1Job Security/Advancement
3.1Management
3.7Culture