Caritas of Austin Employee Reviews

3.6
Overall rating
Based on 13 reviews
Ratings breakdown
54
41
37
21
10
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Showing all 13 reviews
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working for Caritas
Case Aide (Former Employee) –  Austin, TXSeptember 17, 2018
Working for Caritas was a great experience. I worked in the resettlement/ employment department. Working with an awesome team. Meeting new clients everyday was great
Pros
Benefits is really good
Cons
depended on Government Grants
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
case management
Case Manager (Former Employee) –  Austin, TXMarch 16, 2018
I worked with single homeless individuals in extreme poverty struggling with sever mental illness and addiction for 11 years. it was a beautiful and rewarding time but very stressful and it was time for me focus more on selfceare and helping others to see the importance of a balanced life.
Pros
the people i worked with, co workers and clients
Cons
emotional and physically draining.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High Stress with little career advancement
VETERAN SPECIALIST (Current Employee) –  Austin, TXNovember 13, 2017
Working with extremely vulnerable populations causes a lot of second hand trauma that is experienced by case managers. There is little opportunity for career advancement, and while for non-profits working in homelessness, Caritas pays fairly well, case managers are still grossly underpaid for such a high stress job.
Pros
Pto, employer paid benefits
Cons
high stress, low support, little career advancement
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing management and employee dedication
Employment Specialist (Current Employee) –  Austin, TXSeptember 25, 2017
Very rewarding place to work. The management staff is great and the employees are extremely dedicated to help their clientele. The only negative thing is the low pay.
Pros
Job satisfaction, employee loyalty
Cons
Low pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good culture, low PTO
former employee (Former Employee) –  Austin, TXJanuary 26, 2017
As others have stated, the culture and positive personalities of everyone working here is amazing! However, the work is demanding and the PTO is lacking. No days off until you have worked 6 months unless you get sick, in which case you have no sick days, just PTO you use for everything. Also as others have stated, there can be communication issues with some of the management.
Pros
flexible work schedule, friendly staff, great mission focus
Cons
PTO lacking, commnication issues
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Big nonprofit
Outreach Specialist (Former Employee) –  Austin, TXJanuary 23, 2017
Work place culture is great, the hardest part is working with vulnerable folks who are homeless, it can take toll on one if one does not take personal care. Good people and good benefits are always a plus.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to start a career
Education Specialist (Former Employee) –  Austin, TXDecember 15, 2016
Incredible work environment and people, could not have found a better start to launch a career. Happily endorse it to anyone who's potentially interested.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overworked staff with poor leadership
Former Employee (Former Employee) –  AustinMarch 22, 2016
Too large (and increasing) workload for what you're paid; poor leadership and management; large communication issues stemming from leadership, major work environment concerns
Pros
Coworkers are great, the mission and knowing you're making a difference in client lives; flexibility with work schedule
Cons
workload, leadership, pay, Pto, work environment
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great organization and great mission, but overloaded employees.
Employment Specialist (Former Employee) –  Austin, TXJune 10, 2015
The best part of the job is serving refugees, it is very rewarding to know you are making a difference in lives.

The hardest part of the job is never being able to be caught up; Huge case load.
Pros
flexible schedule, great teams, challenging work
Cons
not enough pay, double work, inefficient database and procedures
Was this review helpful?Yes 11NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great organization. A non profit organization
Employment Specialist (Current Employee) –  Austin,TXFebruary 20, 2015
A great organization. A non profit organization. Helps refugee and people in need. Work is fun here and I really like working here.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 4Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Client Centered
Case Manager (Current Employee) –  Austin, TXJuly 20, 2014
Hard working individuals - very client centered organization
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Non-profit with a commendable mission but poor strategic balance
Development Associate (Former Employee) –  Austin, TXJuly 16, 2012
Caritas of Austin is essentially a good organization. The case workers are hard working and dedicated to their clients; The Community Kitchen is well ran; The Board of Directors and the Executive Director tries to foster a sense of community within the organization that makes one feel as though all of the staff are friends.

The hardest part of my job was the many professional hats I wore which necessarily meant that I never had any downtime. One minute I was financial entry, generating board reports, and the next I am rounding up volunteers for orientation. It was a very silent, and under-appreciated position.

The biggest piece of knowledge I will forever hold deals with management. I've learned that I need consistency in a manager: one who knows what they want and can do more that just delegate duties, but can lead by example and bring something dynamic to the team. That is what was missing in my previous department.
Pros
great staff and good organizational mission.
Cons
management
Was this review helpful?Yes 14NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Caritas of Austin. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Caritas of Austin Reviews by Location