Carlos O'Kelly's Culture reviews

Found 27 reviews matching the search See all 132 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast Paced yet relaxed family oriented environment
Cook/Dishwasher (Former Employee) –  Iowa City, IAJune 27, 2018
I enjoyed working for Carlos O' Kelly's. I had very good feedback from district along with store managers relating to work ethic on a daily basis! I am highly likely to work again for this company. The workplace culture is extremely relaxed and efficient. The most difficult part of the job was getting other employees on board with the company policies. The most enjoyable part about work was that counting on management and company was something I could always do.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it is a fun place
Busser/Dishwasher (Current Employee) –  Iowa City, IAJune 5, 2018
yes it is a fun place i am going to stay there but i need to find another job because i am not getting many hours and that is what is bothering me if only i could find another busser job
Pros
nice people very fun place
Cons
not very many hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great jon
Waitress (Current Employee) –  Wichita, KSMay 24, 2018
I love working here!! They have great management and the people that work there are fun and friendly. Everyone is willing to help one another and we are all friends.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent oppurtunity
Server (Former Employee) –  Wichita, KSApril 15, 2018
I enjoyed working at carlos o kellys very much. I loved the atmosphere and how the team was a family so to speak . also great food and fun competitions with promotions.
Pros
1/2 off food
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great environment
Server/Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Ames, IAFebruary 11, 2018
I loved working at Carlos O'Kellys until it closed. I worked with great people who truly enjoyed coming into work everyday. The management truly cared about their employees.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Restaurant Host (Former Employee) –  Mason City, IAJanuary 31, 2018
Over all great place to work.
I enjoyed the fast paced hustle and bustle style of work that they provided. I also loved the smile on the customers faces when they were given there food.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very ative environment
Host (Former Employee) –  Peoria, ILJanuary 5, 2018
I liked working there I met a lot of people and I loved coming to work and I love to pay I was getting and I got to work wit people who were willing to help me when I was new to the job to help me get through the ropes
Pros
Free food
Cons
People calling off
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome place to work
Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Salina, KSOctober 2, 2017
I had huge advancement opportunities here. The atmosphere was great. I was a member of a great management team, and we were all a family. If I hadn't had to move away, I would still work there.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun
Waitress/Bartender (Former Employee) –  Wichita, KSSeptember 20, 2017
My coworkers were awesome. I loved my managers. The money was good. I enjoyed spending time there even in my days off. Great food. Great drinks. Fun environment.
Pros
1/2 priced food
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Server (Current Employee) –  Waterloo, IAAugust 29, 2017
The people are awesome, the work sometimes isn't great. Management is great and very willing to work with you. The job can be stressful at times but the fun atmosphere makes out worth it.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good paced restaurant
Server (Former Employee) –  Wichita, KSAugust 6, 2017
Fun place to work. I met a lot of good people here. It's a good place for first time servers. It didn't get too busy or crazy except when they did queso discounts
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Carolos
Sever (Former Employee) –  Wichita, KSJuly 21, 2017
This local company is fun to work. I liked working there and worked with some great people. But overall it lacks a consistent culture and goal and has very little career opportunities.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun, easy going workplace with the best management
Server/Hostess (Current Employee) –  Hutchinson ksMay 18, 2017
Easy going, and a very fun place to work. Very sanitary, and perfect management. The real fun thing about Carlos is the people who work with you. They are a friendly low drama group.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place
Line Cook, and prep cook (Former Employee) –  Manhattan, KSAugust 3, 2016
Great co-workers, motivated and professional managers, learned a lot about safety. Great work culture. Not the most well reviewed restaurant in town.
Cons
not the most well reviewed restaurant in town
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work friends are life
Host (Former Employee) –  Lincoln, NEMay 12, 2016
I just loved the atmosphere and my coworkers, I learned how to be a host, coworkers were all really nice, felt welcomed, hardest part of job would have to be rude customers, most enjoyable when I would help others if they needed the help.
Pros
New friends
Cons
no breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great job with fun coworkers
Carlos O'Kellys Hostess (Former Employee) –  Wichita, KSApril 10, 2016
I can honestly say i loved working here. It was easy to get along with all coworkers and customers. Hardest part of the job was to not get to into routine and to engage actively with each customer individually. The easiest on the other hand would be maintaining a positive attitude.
Pros
enjoyable
Cons
not enough hours frequently
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast pace serving job, with enjoyable co-workers
Server (Former Employee) –  Iowa City, IADecember 9, 2015
Fun work place with supportive management. Everyone works as a team player. Everyone is always willing to help you out when needed. Makes you feel apart of the team.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A fun and fast pace working environment
hostess (Current Employee) –  Hutchinson, KSDecember 6, 2015
fun work place with supportive people. the most enjoyable part of the job was working along with people that knew a lot. Which have taught me a lot about this job in a quick manner.
Pros
50% off meals
Cons
Get to communicate with different people
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun environment
Hostess/Waitress (Former Employee) –  KansasOctober 5, 2015
Fun environment but pay rate needs to be consistent with hours worked. Enjoyed supervision, worked well with others and overall great experience.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
One of my least favorite employers
Host (Former Employee) –  Hutchinson, KSJuly 14, 2015
Very boring work and not many hours at all(this was my first job)
Management was friendly but strict as well. Hardest part of the job was not having much to do, so the shifts dragged on. Enjoyed being able to be the first person to interact with the customers.
Pros
Customers
Cons
Few hours, very boring position
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Carlos O'Kelly's. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 132 reviews
534
445
326
214
113

Ratings by category

3.5Work/Life Balance
2.6Compensation/Benefits
2.9Job Security/Advancement
3.3Management
3.5Culture