Carmeuse Lime & Stone Culture reviews

Found 14 reviews matching the search See all 63 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional & Well Run
Contracts Administrator/Financial Analyst (Former Employee) –  Pittsburgh, PAJune 13, 2019
Carmeuse is a professional environment filled with professionals that work there. Every person I worked with was very skilled at what they did and it showed in the products, how well the company was run and the culture.
Pros
Culture
Cons
Upward mobilitiy
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Full-time job with great benefits
Human Resources Generalist (Former Employee) –  Butler, KYOctober 13, 2018
This job was with a major company in North America and Europe. I learned a lot about different cultures and diversity. I also was being trained in union labor relations and law. I enjoyed helping the employees with their employee benefits and training.
Pros
Training on new job duties and traveling to other plants
Cons
Change in management
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work, Management is lost
Project manager (Former Employee) –  Pittsburgh, PAOctober 24, 2017
I had a great manager, he understood the corporate mentality. This company is top heavy with a silo culture to it's detriment. I was always paid well and treated well. The main management is i Belgium and as most would tell you, those folks do everything right.......
But because of restructuring I lost my job, after one year they are still restructuring. Good place to work (at your own risk) Their profit relies heavily on the lime industry and some aggregate. hey do own a lot of mines and quarries and always invest in their future.
Pros
Great pay
Cons
No communication across plants (28 in US)
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work environment
Kiln utility and Bulk loader (Former Employee) –  Alabaster, ALOctober 6, 2017
Great place to work and if you are a hard working then this is the perfect place to work. Good money great insurance and the people there care about you.
Pros
Great benefits
Cons
If you are not careful you can get hurt
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved it
Cleaner (Former Employee) –  Butler, KYJune 12, 2017
Great and got my work done quick.
Good, helpful, and caring.
Great people.
Carrying the trash out.
The people was very nice and helpful.
Loved the hr but need more.
Pros
Time
Cons
Needed more hr
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Experience of mining was interesting.
Warehouse Associate (Former Employee) –  Butler, KYMarch 8, 2017
Very interesting place to work, great bunch of helpful people to work with. At the time I worked there lacked some management but overall good place to work I was just not aloud at the time to advance my career so I moved on.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people, strong safety values, customer focused environment. Employee valuation is lacking.
Production Manager (Former Employee) –  Strasburg, VAJanuary 31, 2017
The company is very focused on customer satisfaction, and the product quality is probably the strongest in the region. They also have a great safety program, though there are a lot of "initiatives", seems whatever is popular is introduced as the newest thing for the company. Carmeuse has a strong focus on customer satisfaction and relationships, but they do not value the individual employee enough. There are frequent layoff's & management reorganizations regionally and locally. The company has high expectations of their employees, and sometimes expect too much. Expect long work hours if salaried.
Overall, this was a decent company to work for, but as an employee, you should be prepared for unexpected changes in organization. Just know going in that Carmeuse will do the right thing for Carmeuse, even if it means an unexpected layoff.
Pros
Good compensation, strong safety culture
Cons
Frequent layoffs and management reorganizations.
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Benefits Analyst (Former Employee) –  Pittsburgh, PAJanuary 18, 2017
It was a great place to work. I learned a lot and there were very nice people. Everyone seemed competent and knowledgeable.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 5Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This is a great place to work
Project Engineer (Current Employee) –  Pittsburgh, PAJanuary 9, 2017
Encouraging and fun atmosphere. Management supports its employees and plans for their success and advancement. Real emphasis is placed on enjoying your work day.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 9Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, friendly environment at corporate office
Manager (Former Employee) –  Pittsburgh, PADecember 28, 2016
You will be challenged every day while interacting with a great many people. Mostly friendly atmosphere. management can be disjointed but have good intentions and very good leadership.
Pros
Fair work/lif balance great benefits
Cons
lack of alignment across organization
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 6Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and nicely paced
Production Shift Team Leader (Current Employee) –  Bettsville, OHJuly 19, 2015
It's a nice place to work that's very productive and hands on. A great place to learn and grow. The management team is very fair and maintains their "open door" policy very well.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 10Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Constantly Busy
Lab Technician (Former Employee) –  River Rouge, MIAugust 18, 2014
Always a sample to test because there was a continuous flow of trucks.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 7Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work, excellent support from all levels of management
Manager (Current Employee) –  AlabamaMarch 26, 2013
With this company there are great opportunities to get involved in different parts of the business. They focus efforts on employee development and advancement. The compensation and benefits are very competitive. Being a private/family-owned company, the core values of safety, environmental, respect, and being the best are a priority that they live by.
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 10Report

See more Carmeuse Lime & Stone reviews

You may want to try:

Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Carmeuse Lime & Stone. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.5
Based on 63 reviews
517
419
314
27
16

Ratings by category

3.4Work/Life Balance
3.9Compensation/Benefits
3.1Job Security/Advancement
3.0Management
3.3Culture

Ratings from women

2.6InHerSight Score

2.1Personal Development

2.1Career Opportunities

3.3Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight