Carnival Cruise Lines Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very nice every work place there is fun
Pastry and bakery (Current Employee) –  Miami, FLSeptember 17, 2018
I like more when i enters in pastry i love to work in pastry and bakery too there is more fun in our work place crew members are very friendly and very helpful.
Pros
Free lunch
Cons
Breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
i am aping pong champion in carnival
butcher (Former Employee) –  miami,floridaSeptember 15, 2018
very good place to work.only problem is salary is very less in carnival.working environment is good.i was a butcher there and i did more than 14 contracts there.
Pros
three times meals free
Cons
healthcare policy applicable
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very fun
Photographer (Current Employee) –  New OrleansSeptember 14, 2018
The job gives me wonderful experience like guest interaction, photography skill improvement, lighting etc, also i got chance to work with international team and visit different tourist places.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful, but with travel advantages
Waiter (Former Employee) –  USASeptember 12, 2018
Poor management, they don't care about employees at all. A workin day is very long, 10 to 14 hours every day. No days off, only when sick.
The only good thing is travel, you get to go out in ports on your free time.
Pros
Travel
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
workplace
Floor Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Miami-Dade County, FLSeptember 5, 2018
Ship with the time becoming your home and the staff becoming your closest family .Best time of my life .However contracts are minimum 6 month and on board is a very hard work .
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great experience
Commis (Former Employee) –  Miami-Dade County, FLSeptember 4, 2018
Carnivak cruise lines stands worlds largest cruise lines
Its amazing working there we use to have 6mnths contract then 2mnths vacation.working hours were little higher side but yes you are into different world
Pros
every thing was free and on cheaper rates
Cons
sea sickness
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love it!
IT Portfolio Manager (Current Employee) –  MiamiAugust 28, 2018
Loved everything about this place! it was great learning experience. wonderful management and great people to work with. I would do it again thats for sure!
Pros
Senior Management are great
Cons
salary can be improved
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love it!!!
IT PROJECT MANAGER (Former Employee) –  Miami, FLAugust 25, 2018
Love it ! nice place to work at. Its been a great learning experience. Performers gets noticed and get more responsibilities. everyone is very friendly there.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
love the job
Housekeeper (Former Employee) –  Miami, FLAugust 22, 2018
I love working whit Carnival cruise because yo visit a lot of places you get a lot of discounts on family vacations and you meet people from different cultures... I will work for them again..
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excelente empresa
Youth Staff (Former Employee) –  Miami, FLAugust 20, 2018
En esta empresa aprendes a laboral con personas de diferentes nacionalidades.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Ships...
Hotel Admin Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Miami, FLAugust 20, 2018
Position duties and procedures are not standardized within the entire fleet.
Poor communication and management.
Old ships with lots of maintenance issues.
Pros
Free Food, Free Gym, Staff Privileges, Ports of Call
Cons
Short Breaks, Poor and Unprofessional Management
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Apprehensive about joining Cruise
Not employed (Former Employee) –  Not EmployedAugust 18, 2018
I really need guidance from ex-employees specially from non-US citizens.
Next week I have an Interview with Carnival Cruise.
I have heard that while joining they make you spend almost 100$ in itsy-bitsy expenses. Bearing the expenses for Dental Checkups, Medicals are understandable. But what has disappointed me is to hear that the joinees have to pay for the VISA too. I have also heard that the cost of the Air-tickets from Home to the Port will also be payable by the joinee.
i would really appreciate if someone can enlighten me on this.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 7Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
buena experiencia
Housekeepeer, Mozo (Former Employee) –  Miami-Dade County, FLAugust 16, 2018
fue mi primera compañía de cruceros y fue la que me dio mucha experiencia en el rubro de hoteleria y turismo
Pros
adquiri mucha experiencia
Cons
no poder ascender rapido
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall Good place to work, to save money
Beverage Operations Manager (Former Employee) –  Miami, FLAugust 15, 2018
Overall the working environment is good, very dynamic and long hours, which is perfect for workaholics.
I enjoyed my 12 years working on the cruise ships.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for - Teamwork - Very positive ambiance - Very honest company - Often training develops a great product - Great Benefits - Sala
Proposal Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Miami, FLAugust 15, 2018
Great company to work for - Teamwork - Very positive ambiance - Very honest company - Often training develops a great product - Great Benefits - Salaries are great
Pros
2 cruises a year - great benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good way to bank money and travel and meet new people
Entertainer (Current Employee) –  Miami, FLAugust 15, 2018
Good way to save up money and travel to exotic and beautiful places all over the world, and to meet and work with new people from all over the world, each and everyday
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
2 Years As Camp Ocean Staff
Youth Staff (Former Employee) –  Miami, FLAugust 13, 2018
My time with Carnival for the most part was really fun, I met new people from all over the world, had some of the best parties ever and travelled to lots of amazing destinations. Making money in American and then turning it into Canadian definitely was an advantage for me. It was easy to save money as food and board is provided on the ship. Management for the most part was really good but there can be favouritism with certain managers and staff. If your not liked by your manager it can really make your time on board a lot harder.
Pros
Travel, Parties, Free Food and Boar
Cons
Long Hours, Working Every Day
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
work[place was so many fun. fitness. karaoke
laundry attendant (Former Employee) –  Miami-Dade County, FLAugust 13, 2018
cruise of carnival , there is a plenty staff from other country, from america latin. asia. europe. , so hard work to do. discipline and good manner and attitude
Pros
free lunch dan dinner
Cons
brekfast free
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
sales/customer service very fast paced
Sales Associate/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Colorado Springs, COAugust 10, 2018
During certain times of the year, it can be very fast paced where you are taking call after call after call, and then other times it is very slow. During the fast times you can make bookings left and right and make a lot of money. You do need to learn to save your money for the slow times.
Pros
discount on cruises
Cons
lots of overtime when they are busy
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good working environment that but challenging because of separation from family
Casino hostess (Former Employee) –  Miami, FLAugust 10, 2018
Productive,fun and challenging environment and able to travel and see a lot of places while saving money. Depressing because of being away from the family as you are always on the Ocean.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Carnival Cruise Lines. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.1
Based on 1,349 reviews
5563
4451
3247
250
138

Ratings by category

3.7Work/Life Balance
3.7Compensation/Benefits
3.8Job Security/Advancement
3.6Management
4.0Culture

Ratings from women

InHerSight Score
3.0

3.2Personal Development

3.2Career Opportunities

2.6Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight