Carnival Cruise Lines Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Cast Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Miami, FLMay 19, 2018
Working in entertainment just in general makes a work life personal life balance tough, but Carnival is a great company to work for. Lots of opportunity for job advancements.
Pros
great perks, positive work environment
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Workplace
RN (Former Employee) –  Miami, FLMay 18, 2018
Very family oriented work place. I was able to travel the Caribbean while doing what I love. I would recommend this company to anyone interested in leading an adventurous life.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing corporation to work for
Entertainment Staff (Host) (Former Employee) –  Miami, FLMay 18, 2018
Fantastic benefits as an employee for yourself and friends & family. You will have the most amazing time travelling the world indulging in new cultures and experiencing the world of the sea.
Pros
Discounts for family cruises
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Carnival Cruise Line is also another good company to work for.
Link Support Specialist (Former Employee) –  Miami, FLMay 16, 2018
Carnival Cruise Line hires from within as well. Most positions for the call center is full which is good. Moral around co-workers is typically good. Always someone willing to help a new hire. Bonuses are given out annually.
Pros
Hiring from within the company
Cons
cannot think of any at the moment
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Guest Service Agent (Current Employee) –  Mobile, ALMay 16, 2018
I love it. It’s a very great place to meet new people and learn new things. The management does an outstanding job on every sailing. We have a fast process on getting the guest on and off the ship
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Program Manager (Infrastructure) (Former Employee) –  Miami, FLMay 16, 2018
Very good, a lot of fun too many meetings. typical workday is very hetic...much work to be done and not many to do the work. Great location and good people
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My experience
Hotel Admin Coordinator, Guest Services (Former Employee) –  Miami, FL 33178May 15, 2018
1.Typical day at work - depends on position you have.
2.I have learned a lot of new things, about new places, cultures and people.
3.Management - sometimes good, sometimes not.
4.Workplace culture - 61 different nations work there. You can learn a lot if you want.
5.Hardest part of job was dealing with ignorant people, without feelings.
6.Most enjoyable part .. Is count down before end of contract.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Hotel stewardess (Former Employee) –  FloridaMay 14, 2018
Fun workplace with good and memorable experience.
Different kind of guest with different attitudes that u will handle. Become friendly and flexible in everything you do.
Pros
Free foods
Cons
Healtcare
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good company to work for
Junior Hostess (Current Employee) –  MIAMI, USAMay 14, 2018
My work mainly involves checking in guest and interacting with them. I learnt a lot about different cultures and dealing with all different guest and crew from all over the world. The hardest part of my job is being away from home for 7 to 8 months The most enjoyable is visiting different countries.
Pros
free accommodation and free food
Cons
being away from home
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
CCL very proud of themselves - Difficult place to work
Human Resources Director (Former Employee) –  Miami, CAMay 13, 2018
Nice co-workers

Very poor corporate management - leadership

Great 2x a year management meetings and goodie bags

Top management is more concerned about bottom line than the welfare of seafarers Line employees are given more latitude for mistakes than supervisory and sr. managers
Pros
good cabins anf food
Cons
pay and benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Five Star
HOTEL DIRECTOR (Former Employee) –  Miami, FLMay 11, 2018
A fantastic employer to work for, mult national employees at all levels, I joined as a Hotel Director in 2005 and worked on most levels of ships in multiple locations.
Decided to retire at 60 after 12 years as HD and move back to Ozz to be with family and aging parent
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good and bad, but mostly bad
Senior Youth Staff (Former Employee) –  EverywhereMay 10, 2018
Carnival is not a reliable place to work. They could fire you over the littlest things, management is so unprofessional!! You are just a number in the company (literally have your own personal crew number) no care or respect for their employees at all,l. The pay should be WAY more considering how much they make people work. Only good thing is getting to travel/meeting new people. But they don’t care for you there, & you are so far from family/friends & it gets hard. You could try one contract there just to experience something but a lot of people quit all the time.
Pros
Travel, meeting awesome people
Cons
Low pay, long hours with no days off, little respect for employees
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Respeta a cada trabajador de manera individual
Head Stateroom Stewardess (Former Employee) –  Estados UnidosMay 8, 2018
Empresa solida y estable que brinda la oportunidad de desarrollarse personal y profesionalmente enfocandose en el bienestar de los empleados en los diferentes aspectos.
Pros
Brinda servicios basicos gratuitos a los empleados
Cons
Distancia, trabajar fuera del pais
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Carnival
Entertainment Operations Specialist (Current Employee) –  Miami, FLMay 7, 2018
It can be a very fun place to work. It has great benefits, and the company always performs well.

However, the salary compared to a competitor such as Royal Caribbean is lower for the same job.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
head bartender
Head Bartender/Electrician (Former Employee) –  Miami, FLMay 5, 2018
yes im very happy with the company carnival crusie line was a great experience for me and it taught me alot by my self that i never knew about . As the head bartender i use to manage the bar ad train staffs.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Again no comment
Supervisor for Carnival, supervisor 30 personnel (Former Employee) –  Colorado Springs, CO 80911May 4, 2018
As with all of the other questions you have asked about my previous employers is not anything I want to comment on. I like my jobs and my employers and to not wish to sit here an grade them when this has nothing to do with my job application.
Pros
not applicable
Cons
not applicable
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Shoreside Role
Special Project Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Miami, FLMay 3, 2018
I had a great opportunity to leave the shipboard life to come to Miami and start to set some roots. The role had me travelling almost weekly to the different ships within the fleet. It was a fun, face-paced, and exciting
Pros
Travel, flexible scheduling
Cons
No medical when off contract
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
strong and competitive company
Assistant Stateroom Stewardess (Former Employee) –  USAMay 3, 2018
I got a rewarding salary out of working on this company, it was tough though but I get to provide for my family out of working on CCL. they give lots of way to happily be working even if your far from your family including your chance of going to different places after your work hours. they also give consideration to crew members who need to be home even if your contract has not yet end, with your valid reason.
Pros
financially rewarding job
Cons
far to family
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Carnival Review
Guest Relations (Former Employee) –  Miramar, FLApril 30, 2018
this job as a guest relations was ok laid back if your able to accommodate irate guest request from past cruises you will be ok with this position. the pay is really not good but it will work for someone who does not have lots of bills.
Pros
cruise discounts
Cons
not enough overtime
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Experience of a Lifetime
Lead Show-band Vocalist (Former Employee) –  Miami-Dade County, FLApril 30, 2018
I sang in the rockband on a carnival ship. Ship life isn't for me, but the pay was pretty good if you don't mind being away from home for months at a time.
Pros
Good pay for a musicians
Cons
Stressful environment, not work-life balance
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Carnival Cruise Lines. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.1
Based on 1,274 reviews
5538
4427
3227
247
135

Ratings by category

3.7Work/Life Balance
3.7Compensation/Benefits
3.8Job Security/Advancement
3.7Management
4.0Culture

Ratings from women

InHerSight Score
3.1

3.3Personal Development

3.3Career Opportunities

2.5Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight