Carroll County Public Schools Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Speech Language Pathologist Assistant (Current Employee) –  Carrollton, GAApril 19, 2018
I have worked under Carroll County school systems for 2 and a half years now and I feel like part of a great community! It is a great place to work. I have made many great friends and mentors in life.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good schools
Mathematics/Physics Teacher/Coach (Former Employee) –  Eldersburg, MDApril 17, 2018
good schools. well organized with good curricula. teachers are involved. Lots of room to grow and move up. Competitive pay and perks. good community and students.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
rewarding but challenging
Special Education Teacher (Current Employee) –  Carroll County, MDJanuary 31, 2018
Working with students with severe medical disabilities was both challenging and rewarding. I loved my time with my students, but state requirements, senior leadership, and the parents were all on different pages when it came to the well-being of the students, and that caused a lot of stress.
Pros
summers off, freedom within the curriculum, snow days
Cons
paperwork
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Family feeling
Bus Driver (Current Employee) –  Carrollton, gaJanuary 22, 2018
I like my job as a bus driver it just does not pay enough. The co-workers are great and will help you any way they can if avaiable. The supervisors are nice.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
love helping teachers and students
Instructional Assistant (Former Employee) –  New Windsor, MDJanuary 18, 2018
I enjoyed working in the school system while my kids attended school as well. I liked that we all had the same days off.
I assisted teachers in anyway they needed.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and a good place to work at
Purchasing Summer Intern (Former Employee) –  Westminster, MDJanuary 4, 2018
I interned at CCPS from June-August 2014. A typical work day was from 8:00 am-5:00 pm with an hour break for lunch. My managers were very nice to me and always treated me with respect. I worked in the Purchasing, Finance, and Payroll departments so it was pretty cool to work in a variety of departments. I learned a lot of information and worked with several different projects in each department.
Pros
Went out to lunch often with colleagues
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good organization to work for
REGISTRAR (Former Employee) –  Westminster, MDNovember 17, 2017
I worked in a fast paced busy school. I was a good company to work for, they were flexible and understanding when i wanted to be home with my daughter.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
balanced work load
Switchboard Operator/Receptionist (Former Employee) –  Hillsville, VANovember 10, 2017
Balanced work load for the most, but at times the receptionist job was a bit too slow. Where I had worked before I was accustomed to staying busy with no down time.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun working with students
Financial Secretary/Office Manager (Current Employee) –  Westminster, MDSeptember 10, 2017
payroll/attendance
answer phones
deal with parents
any situations that occur
work on balance budget reports

Overall a great job. Just need new management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great People, but slow paced and cut throat on a dime...
Teacher (Current Employee) –  Mount Airy, MDAugust 26, 2017
Lack of professional advancement opportunities provided without furthering your degree. Slow paced and an often cut throat environment that is not conducive to growing with the team.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Carroll County Schools was a good place to work.
Elementary Teacher (Former Employee) –  Westminster, MDAugust 19, 2017
I enjoyed teaching at Carroll County Schools for many years with many gifted teachers and supportive parents. I did not enjoy the amount of time spent on testing. We went many years without pay increases or step increases. This was especially detrimental to teachers on the lower end of the pay scale with young families.
Pros
Enjoyed the people with whom I worked
Cons
Too much time spent on testing
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My school
Paraprofessional (Current Employee) –  Hampstead, MDAugust 9, 2017
I work in Special Education, productive environment for students.
Staff makes learning fun,supervise lunches
Administration listens to concerns
Extracurricular activities for staff and students
Pros
Staff I work with
Cons
Not able to reach every student
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Quick paced, fun
Library Media Specialist (Current Employee) –  Galax, VAJune 5, 2017
If you like working with young children in a fast paced learning environment, this place is for you. Continuous learning, fun workplace. Good benefits.
Pros
Paid sick leave
Cons
Short breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Leave every day feeling you've made a difference
Instructional Assistant (Current Employee) –  Westminster, MDMay 16, 2017
Working as an instructional assistant you will provide the student with a one on one support system which will help them grow and succeed now and for the rest of their lives.
Pros
staff that will help you learn and grow
Cons
not much room for advancement
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rewarding and fun atmosphere
Instructional Assistant (Former Employee) –  Sykesville, MDMay 10, 2017
You work closely with all teachers, supervising the children and keeping them on task and helping them individually if needed. Help teachers grade papers.
Pros
Helping children and seeing them understanding and learning
Cons
when you have a child having a bad day and you can't get through to them.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not too Badd
Science Teacher, (Current Employee) –  Westminster, MDJanuary 11, 2017
The schools are maintained pretty well. The administration you have really affects the work place. Most of the students are well behaved but the parents can sometimes be more trouble than the students.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Special Education Paraprofessional (Current Employee) –  Hillsville, VADecember 24, 2016
The teachers are great very nice and really care about their students. The most enjoyable part of my job is working with the students.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A fun work place where you get to work with great teachers.
Substitute Teacher (Former Employee) –  Carroll County, VANovember 15, 2016
Its a rewarding job getting to work with great teachers and staff. work load is usually light and if any problems arise there are always helpful staff near by to help.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical school SLP position
SPEECH-LANGUAGE PATHOLOGIST (Former Employee) –  Westminster, MDSeptember 29, 2016
As with most schools...too many students and not enough time to do the job correctly. Many special needs students who required more therapy than time alloted
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved the high school - the county closed it
Instructional Assistant (Current Employee) –  Hampstead, MDAugust 3, 2016
As with any workplace, the people make it. The people I work with day-to-day are great. The appointed leaders in the management of the county are not well liked at all and for good reason.
Pros
great people
Cons
not great people
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Carroll County Public Schools. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.2
Based on 40 reviews
519
410
310
21
10

Ratings by category

4.1Work/Life Balance
3.8Compensation/Benefits
3.3Job Security/Advancement
3.7Management
4.0Culture

Carroll County Public Schools Reviews by Location