cars.com Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Place to Work
Inside Sales Regional Manager (Current Employee) –  Chicago, ILMarch 2, 2018
Good company with a fast paced environment. If you are willing to relocate you can grow your career fast with the company and have the opportunity to make good money. Growing at a face pace so you need to be able to deal with ambiguity. Those who are able to be creative and take initiative can be very successful.
Pros
Good Benefits, Transparent Leadership
Cons
Need to be willing to relocate
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Still a fun place to work, but headed downhill
Compliance Specialist (Current Employee) –  Chicago, ILFebruary 28, 2018
Cutbacks in the last few years have made this a far less enjoyable place to work. Employees are no longer valued and are easily replaceable. Job security is almost non-existent. The culture in the office, however, is relaxed and coworkers are nice. Lower-management seems to be supportive, helpful and overall really great, but sales and the almighty dollar rule the roost now for the organization as a whole.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible
Account Manager, Direct (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILFebruary 18, 2018
Terrible management, Extremely High Turnover rate, Lack of diversity, Salary range much lower than market average and yet the workload is much greater. Not a company that you would like to grow with from a career standpoint.
ZERO Transparency
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting and face paced place to work
Digital Media Senior Representative (Former Employee) –  Johnson City, TNJanuary 17, 2018
The job entailed prepping and planning the day. Running reports for clients and showing the value of the products the client had. Applying listening skills to see what the client needs are without them having to ask. Working with great management on all levels to help maintain a great working relationship. It was a very interesting place to work. Hardest part of the job was having to deal with cancellations from clients. Most enjoyable part was seeing the clients be successful.
Pros
Making great relationships with clients and co-workers.
Cons
Never experienced any Cons.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company
Digital Media Executive (Former Employee) –  Billings, MTJanuary 12, 2018
This is a great company to work for sometimes a little slow changing mistakes but overall excellent company. I also worked for the affiliate in Phoenix and it is very different and not nearly as modern in sales on the digital side of things.
Pros
Would keep working for them if possible!
Cons
Want my territory in MT back!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and Growing Company
NATIONAL TRAINING DIRECTOR (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILJanuary 10, 2018
Back in 1999 and 2000, cars.com was a growing "dot.com" business. It was exciting to see the quick growth that occurred during my time there. It was also exciting to see the plans for the future growth of the company. I'm very pleased to see they are still flourishing.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Job - No Pay
Digital Media Representative (Current Employee) –  FloridaDecember 11, 2017
Its a pretty laid back company. It was a far better place to work before they went public. Biggest downside is the pay is low and doesn't focus on customer retention.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast Paced and competitive
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Dallas, TXNovember 7, 2017
The variety and mixture of extraordinary people i got to work with as a 34 year old i found myself working with people of all ages and it felt a little uncomfortable at times
Pros
Job training was usually provided, Good job prospects due to the need to replace workers, Potential telecommuting, opportunties.
Cons
Upset customers can be rude towards customer representatives, work environment can sometimes be loud and distracting, Evening, Night and weekends shifts may be required.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Detailer/Porter (Former Employee) –  Cranberry, PAOctober 3, 2017
Must be a face paced person to keep up with the job. Very stressful but rewarding. The management was respectful and worked with you. Fun environment and workers were respectful.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Experience at Cars.com
Technology Intern (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILSeptember 17, 2017
It was an internship that occurred during my time as an undergrad and it was great! Learning new technologies and getting exposed to the professional/company life. I had fun working and meeting different employees in the company..
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport

Want to know more about cars.com?

Ask a question
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's pretty decent
Lead Co-op Operations Advertising Specialist (Current Employee) –  Chicago, ILAugust 26, 2017
I like my job at Cars.com much better than any other jobs I've had in the past. It's not perfect, but it's not terrible. I've been with the company for 3 years and it's changed significantly in that time. Mostly for the better, but some culture changes have made it less enjoyable now than it used to be. Overall, still a great company and I would like stay another year or two if I wasn't moving to a different state.
Pros
work/life balance
Cons
few advancment opportunities
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Independent Dealer
General Sales Manager; Just Better (Former Employee) –  Roseville, CAAugust 12, 2017
Great place to work at with a clean facility. Lot's of opportunity for advancement. People were very friendly and easy to work with. Owner was very energetic, Optimistic and encouraging.
Pros
Clean facility with clean inventory.
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Started with a great team and manager ended with a new micro manager and divided team
DMR (Former Employee) –  Tampa, FLJuly 30, 2017
Cars.com changes after management does and when this happens the concept of team changes. I loved what I did on a daily basis, I loved my clients, but my clients did not like "cars.com"
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
Inside Digital Media Representative (Current Employee) –  Chicago, ILMay 24, 2017
Great Company to develop your business and communication skills. Definitely good opportunities in sales.The coaching in sales is very good and definitely a culture that promotes working together
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's ok
Marketing (Current Employee) –  Chicago, ILMay 17, 2017
The work-life balance is great. If you are complacent in doing the same thing for years to come and do not care much about career advancement or salary...this place is for you.

The company seems to be going through so issues and there are mad dashes happening to improve traffic and product offering before going public. Hopefully, they can figure this out with all the new management that has been brought in over the past 6 months.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good work life balance but limited career pathing
Account Executive/Sales (Current Employee) –  Chicago, ILApril 11, 2017
Lack of ability to innovate and change in a fast moving digital industry - the company was initially established by a newspaper and still seems to function that way.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great
Digital Media Representative (Current Employee) –  Birmingham, ALMarch 29, 2017
Great Place to work and learn. Love meeting customers and co-workers in friendly environment. I recommend Cars.com to anyone. Cares about their employees and open to talk about any problems you might have. Learned a lot about corp structures and ways to sell.
Pros
flexible schedule
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Neutral
Marketing Manager (Current Employee) –  Chicago, ILMarch 23, 2017
Cars.com is an ok company. The pay is lower than average and there is a lot of internal movement happening. The company needs to work on supporting their internal teams with the correct technology to get their jobs done.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Recruiting Coordinator (Contract) (Current Employee) –  Chicago, ILJanuary 25, 2017
Milwaukee Tool is a great place to work and learn! They have a fast pace environment that allows you to grow your learning and career.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cars.com is an awesome and innovative company.
Digital Marketing Consultant (Current Employee) –  Denver, COJanuary 3, 2017
I've been with the organization since 2009, and the company has always been a great place to work. Management always encouraged feedback from its employees to understand our needs and wants to successful results.
Pros
Work Life Balance
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at cars.com. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 45 reviews
516
49
315
24
11

Ratings by category

4.0Work/Life Balance
3.2Compensation/Benefits
3.2Job Security/Advancement
3.1Management
3.9Culture

Ratings from women

InHerSight Score
3.9

3.7Personal Development

3.7Career Opportunities

4.4Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight