Carter Healthcare Employee Reviews

3.2
Overall rating
Based on 76 reviews
Ratings breakdown
522
416
39
210
119
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Found 75 reviews matching the search See all 76 reviews
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hesitant to recommend
Nurse Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Tulsa, OKJuly 28, 2018
The people that work there for the most part are pleasant. Some really unproductive and negative people seem to go unnoticed by management.
Little training, workplace culture can be difficult to understand. The turn over is discouraging and seems to have no rhyme or reason as to who is let go and who stays.
Pros
Company Car, Insurance, 401K
Cons
very unorganized, extremely high turnover.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Okay I guess
RN Case Manager (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXJuly 26, 2018
Great team locally. Fellow nurses and physical therapists are great, Clinical Coordinator is awesome. Life work balance is poor depending on season. Not enough nurses to cover the work.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Long nights of charting
Registered Nurse Case Manager (Former Employee) –  Vinita, OKJune 21, 2018
Be prepared to chart after midnight. Spend most of your time of the phone talking with corporate office to call in visits. I enjoyed my job because of the patients.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fbi raids
RN Case Manager (Former Employee) –  TexasJune 12, 2018
I worked at this company less than six weeks. I am a seasoned RN who was so concerned at the way things were being done during training that I just couldn't get on board with. My gut was screaming but this place put on a great show with its OKC orientation. I was called into Directors office on 3rd day of orientation and told get on board or go home by a woman, whose name escapes me, but who looked like a low fashion sense older "Devil Wears Prada". Acted that way too.. While in her office I listened to her call at least two other employees "imbeciles" and "incompetent" Feeling complete vindication this morning when I found out about the raid. I knew I wasn't crazy and you should run as far and fast as you can.
Pros
None
Cons
Poor poor leadership and questionable practices
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to work!
RN Case Manager (Former Employee) –  Brownwood, TXApril 16, 2018
My manager was amazing and always willing to answer questions. I was a new graduate when I worked here so I did struggle to get all my work done within the time I was given, but it got easier as time went on. Lots of driving and educating required. I always had someone to call on if I had questions. This is a big company so it has a lot of resources for nurses if they run into something they are unsure about how to do. A downside is having to be on call 1 week out of the month, but the pay is great for the area so it proved to be worth it for me. Great place full of great people
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Home Health
LPN (Former Employee) –  Shawnee, OK 74804April 5, 2018
The nature of Home health is brutal at times, but rewarding. I loved the management, but was unwillingly transferred to another office because I was the last to be hired at my original location, this left me to drive 71 miles one way to the new office which put a huge strain on me and my family. I ended up quitting due to the stress of it. On call schedule assigned to only the newest staff members was unfair and created a hardship on family life. Production bonuses were nice..
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
worst company ever
RN Case Manager (Former Employee) –  Oklahoma City, OKApril 5, 2018
They over work you, under pay you, they have a lot of unethical practices or they wouldn’t be under investigation. if you don’t want to lose your license I don’t recommend working for this company!!!!
Pros
Pto
Cons
Pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 12No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company
Administrative Assistant (Current Employee) –  Oklahoma City, OKFebruary 8, 2018
I have worked for Carter for a year. Over the course of the 12 months I have learned so much and met so many great people. The company strives to be the best and will ensure the work is being put in to make the goals set ahead of them. There are great resources at Carter if you need them, you just need to know what direction to look.
Pros
Free lunch, great co workers, strive for excellence
Cons
Short staffed in office at times
Was this review helpful?YesNo 4Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed getting to know patients.
Case Manager Registered Nurse (Current Employee) –  Steubenville, OHFebruary 7, 2018
It was a nice place to work. I got to know the patients and their families. I learned about case management and how to fill out OASIS. The staff at Carter was helpful and offered support when I first started.
Cons
It was hard to get a balance between work and home.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 4Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Extremely unstable and terrible experience
Operations Manager (Former Employee) –  Austin, TXFebruary 6, 2018
The state of Texas is a dumpster fire- processes don’t work, nurses worried about their licensure, managers are tyrants and literally hate their workers. Carter works very hard to recruit and “woo” qualified people away from other companies- then mistreat employees, cover up problems and issues, and even lie about problems. The Texas group is completely detached and disconnected from the owners and managers in Oklahoma- who may or may not know what is going on, but are still negligent for not investigating issues reported. If support, integrity, and culture are important to you: don’t walk, run. If you work here and are embarrassed, worried about your integrity getting caught up in this mess: you don’t have to stay here.
Watch out for rapidly changing provider numbers, frequent zpic audits, turnover of 92%, and managers saying “if they complain, fire them.” It happens.
Pros
None
Cons
Unethical leadership, worst benefits I’ve ever had, no promotion- and never criticize a Carter!
Was this review helpful?Yes 19No 8Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Do not work here
RN Case Manager (Former Employee) –  Tulsa, OKFebruary 5, 2018
I was expected to know the job and do the same as a seasoned RN 3 weeks after orientation and when I did not full fill this they fired me. I would chart until 1 or 2 in the morning trying to learn everything and make sure everything was done correctly... Honestly they require too much of their nurses and now I see why its hard for them to keep emplyees. They say they care but dont give you a chance to learn Home Health. I had never worked HH and had been told give it 6 months, well I was there 2 months and thats with going to OKC without my family for 1 week and 1 week sick and 2 weeks training in the field. Dont waste your time or effort here..
Was this review helpful?Yes 18No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun work placexxxx xxxx xxxx
Care Manager (Former Employee) –  Vinita, OKFebruary 1, 2018
Good company to work for.. Orientation for the computer and job expectations are clearly explained to new employees. fun work place. Care managers meet with doctors every 2 weeks to discuss patient care and to keep doctors updated. Drive a lot of miles but case managers are assigned territories.
Pros
Independent work
Cons
drive alot of miles
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 6Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Employees Sharing Job Leads, Regularly.
Clinical Supervisor (Current Employee) –  TexasJanuary 20, 2018
The Oklahoma operation is impressive- and fools you into thinking it reflects their culture, mission, and professionalism. The entire state of Texas is out of control- constant turnover, no leadership, constant threatening of marketers, field staff, and support staff. In all departments- people are randomly fired, and the ones that remain are looking. There is a strange culture of secrecy- we’re not supposed to tell when there is a problem. For being such a big company- it is remarkably low functioning.
Pros
None- I wish I never came here
Cons
No professionalism, no precepting program, expected to double admissions but can’t keep staff, marketers embarrassed, worst benefits, poor PTO, terrible managers
Was this review helpful?Yes 17No 4Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Patient centered, caring employer.
PT (Current Employee) –  New Braunfels, TXJanuary 9, 2018
Carter Healthcare is an enjoyable employer. They listen to your wants and needs as an employer. Compensation and benefits are competitive. There is a team approach to patient care.
Pros
Competitive salary
Cons
N/a
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 5Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Evolving company with clinicians who care for their patients
Registered Nurse (Current Employee) –  Tulsa, OKJanuary 8, 2018
I couldn't work with a better team. The nurses and therapists communicate and it is refreshing. They truly care for their patients. When I need help, someone is there to help me. As in all Healthcare settings, time management is key. Nursing is not an easy field. Documentation and changes are always going to be an issue no matter the setting. If I'm overwhelmed, I can call on my boss to see if help is available and I get it.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 5Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work Place
LPN (Licensed Practical Nurse) (Current Employee) –  Lawton, OKJanuary 7, 2018
Overall I would say carter home health is a good company to work for. Sometimes I have to take work home with me, but its flexible and allows me to make my own schedule.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 3Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
On call
LPN (Licensed Practical Nurse) (Current Employee) –  Norman, OKJanuary 5, 2018
LPN are required to take on call just as much as the RN and the pay should be the same for on call or at least increased for both. Holiday pay should not come out of your vacation it should be a separate leave since the office is closed and you don’t have a choice to work, people are not always able to afford the day off without pay.
Pros
Company vehicle, paid vacation, holidays off unless on call.
Cons
Time management having to call patients on your day off to schedule visits and not get paid for it
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Sales Representative (Current Employee) –  Fort Lauderdale, FLJanuary 5, 2018
Very supportive work place. Lots of educational material available for your contacts. Excellent 401K with match.the compensation is better than most similar companies. My manager is always available to help at an event. Any questions are answered promptly.
Pros
Company car
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
One Well-Oiled Machine
PSC (Current Employee) –  Tahlequah, OKJanuary 5, 2018
The company is ran extremely smooth and efficient Lee. Corporate listens to you whether you have a suggestion or a complaint and will act upon your concern. The atmosphere is such a positive atmosphere that provides support No matter your role.
Carter is hands down the best job I've ever had.

Given the chance, I'll retire with Carter.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 4Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company will require flexibility but will not reciprocate.
RN (Former Employee) –  Oklahoma City, OKDecember 15, 2017
Know this before you give your time and talent to this company. I worked there for 2 years and left because of the inflexible PTO policies. the CEO is rumored to have said'nurses are a dime a dozen'. The company routinely required working after hours and extended hours without notice but would not allow flexibility in return.
-Give notice and make sure you serve it or be paid minimum wage when you leave
-If you earned a bonus it will not be paid duringyour notice period even though you are still working when it is paid out to others on you team.
-Cannot take accrued PTO during notice period
-PTO paid at 25% when you leave
-cannot take a Monday or a Friday unless you take another day with it, additional day is determined by management so it may not be consecutive.
Pros
Nice co-workers
Cons
Inflexible policy
Was this review helpful?Yes 13No 2Report