Carthage College Employee Reviews

4.4
Overall rating
Based on 64 reviews
Ratings breakdown
534
423
35
21
11
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Found 63 reviews matching the search See all 64 reviews
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
office help
Admissions Secretarial Assistant (Former Employee) –  Kenosha, WIJuly 12, 2018
It was fun. The management was nice and would let you work more if you wanted to.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good flexibility, generally a few hours a week
College Tutor (Former Employee) –  Kenosha, WIMay 29, 2018
Most hires are for college student work. Chances are you attend the school if you are looking to pick up a job there. That or providing security which has hopefully improved since I attended.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly people
Office Assistant (Former Employee) –  Kenosha, WIMay 28, 2018
The people in the financial aid office are very friendly and proud to work at carthage college. Co-workers get along very well and work very hard to ensure that each student can make attending carthage college a possibility
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Convenient with splendid people
Student Ambassador (Former Employee) –  Kenosha, WIMay 24, 2018
I loved working as an ambassador and hope to do it again. I loved my boss and coworkers. Hours were completely flexible and the organization was very good.
Pros
Schedule hours whenever you want
Cons
Maybe more pay? It is a part time job at college. With that said, I am not too worried about pay.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Computer Lab
Student Lab Tech (Former Employee) –  Kenosha, WIMay 13, 2018
It was great. While it allowed me to work on my homework for classes, it was quiet as some people who would come in the lab to be themselves and work on their works as well.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good college job
Embedded Tutor and Lab Assistant (Current Employee) –  Kenosha, WIApril 24, 2018
I worked as a tutor and lab assistant for 3 years while at Carthage. I loved my jobs and helping the students. However, the tutor adviser/ my boss did not know much about the sciences which was difficult at times
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Carthage TARC presents great employment opportunity for student-athletes.
Student Lead (Current Employee) –  Kenosha, WIApril 9, 2018
As a student athlete, my position at the athletics facility allows me to successfully balance both my academic and athletic career while still maintaining an on-campus job.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
History is the best department on campus
History Department Fellow (Current Employee) –  Kenosha, WIMarch 22, 2018
To be a fellow, you need to be picked by the department head. I loved being able to establish a closer relationship with my professors. You're pretty much a volunteer but it's fun.
Pros
Tuition reimbursement
Cons
Is basically volunteer
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Fun workplace
Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Kenosha, WIMarch 5, 2018
There was a substantial amount of communicative skills needed
3 hour work days
Welcoming and lax workplace culture
Hardest part about the job was the pressure to acquire donations
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and Rewarding, but no advancement
Assistant Technical Director (Former Employee) –  Kenosha, WIFebruary 6, 2018
After years of getting small raises with the hopes of being made full time the business office and administration just wouldn't let it happen. My managers were on my side and tried to get me what I needed to stay but the department was not the most favored or funded.
Pros
Wonderful colleagues, fun projects
Cons
No benefits, disorganized business office that frequently made errors
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Tough place, gain lots of skills
Resident Assistant (Current Employee) –  Kenosha, WIFebruary 4, 2018
Being a resident assistant is challenging and stressful. This position should be only filled by students who are mature enough to handle this stress. You should not take your position lightly.
Pros
Intrapersonal Skills, Your own room, Room fee waved
Cons
No stipend, work time varies
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
terrible
Director of Security (Former Employee) –  Kenosha, WIFebruary 4, 2018
Lack of support, lack of professionalism. Cut throat no team work. Back stabbing. Very few good managers and leaders. Turnover is huge. Lost 6 good managers this year alone.
Pros
none
Cons
see above
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great School
Student (Former Employee) –  Kenosha, WIJanuary 23, 2018
I really enjoyed my time as a student at Carthage. Really close community of students and support. Great college for anyone looking to further their academic career.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Administrative Assistant/Secretary (Former Employee) –  Kenosha, WIJanuary 23, 2018
I worked here during my freshmen and sophomore year at school. I did it to make extra money and stay busy but it was a good learning experience and helped me to learn I wanted to work in the administrative field to better use my communication skills that I encountered during my four years at Carthage.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Relaxed job with downtime.
Office Assistant (Former Employee) –  Kenosha, WIJanuary 22, 2018
The job just consisted of answering the main phone to the college, either answering simple questions or redirecting to someone who could.

During the year, it's part time. But, if you're hired for the Summer, you can be at about 40 hours/week, but the job differs greatly because you're then in charge of housing for Summer campers.
Pros
Added meal plan for free
Cons
Stress with camps.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work
Environmental Service Technician (Current Employee) –  Kenosha, WI 53142December 11, 2017
it was a fun job and tuition is covered employees treat you very well and the job is very slow paced and relaxed. would highly recommend to anyone who is interested in free college
Pros
free tuition, great benefits
Cons
third shift
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Successful teaching situation
Adjunct professor (Former Employee) –  Kenosha, WINovember 15, 2017
My mentor professor was most helpful. Enjoyable? When students ask questions and all put in answers. I enjoyed lecturing and advising on paper topics.
Pros
Library resources
Cons
Difficulties with technical equipment
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Student Worker
Athletic Training Aide (Former Employee) –  Kenosha, WINovember 6, 2017
Overall the work environment is nice however only students can apply to the jobs that I held at the college. It was nice to have something that paid during the school year that was also in my field of study
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Educational and inviting experience
Teaching Assistant (Former Employee) –  Kenosha, WIAugust 29, 2017
Working as an assistant for a professor engaged me into my educational goals during my time as a student in undergrad. The flexibility within the role was promising and helpful as well.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Co workers were great people
Security Officer (Former Employee) –  Kenosha, WIAugust 24, 2017
This job was part time for me
Had a few fights with students
Typical school fights
Easy job I thought
Most of students listened to you
Got to work out in the gym after work got to swim in the pool
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Carthage College. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Ratings from women

2.5InHerSight Score

2.5Personal Development

2.5Career Opportunities

2.8Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

Powered by InHerSight

Carthage College Reviews by Location