Casella Waste Systems Employee Reviews

Found 91 reviews matching the search See all 92 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Operator
Operator/Foreman (Former Employee) –  Williston, VTMarch 31, 2019
I loved my job. I was dealing with some personal problems and it was affecting my work so I had to leave. I was more of a foreman operator when my boss was out.
Pros
Great benefits and pay.
Cons
Hardly ever got to take my breaks because we were always short handed
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a good place
Truck Driver Class B (Former Employee) –  Jamestown, NYMarch 31, 2019
When I broke my ribs I was off and when I got the ok to go back to work they told me I was laid off. The manager would try to pick a fight with you run his mouth about certain people it is not worth the getting up and going to work
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
cutthroat managers
Driver/Operator (Former Employee) –  Scarborough, MEMarch 11, 2019
managers,they will screw you to get ahead. Managers say don't do this or that but do the same things. From top to bottom managent sticks together so you don't have a chance in if you take a grievance higher up.
Pros
none
Cons
managment
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Let go due to health issues
Excavator operator (Former Employee) –  VermontFebruary 25, 2019
Was fired for having to go to the doctor for a health issue. Dont plan to have a family or have any time at all. It's a great job but god forbid you get sick or have to take your child to doctor. Fired in a heartbeat.
Pros
Down time.
Cons
Too much to list
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad, beware
Rolloff driver (Former Employee) –  Ithaca, NYFebruary 22, 2019
I was a rolloff driver and was treated like dirt, the truck was unsafe and old, I worked 2am till 4pm . no one cares , and getting time off is like pulling teeth, they went through help on a daily basis, stay away, very bad place to work,
Pros
None
Cons
Treatment
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad bad place to work
Equipment operator (Former Employee) –  Rochester, NYJanuary 25, 2019
Very poor management. I was let go for calling corporate after both supervisors did nothing about a coworker problem. Long hours Monday thru mandatory Saturdays. No safety equipment at all.
Please stay away
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I love the change of scenery and the constant flow of work.
Trash Collector (Current Employee) –  Mechanic Falls, MEJanuary 17, 2019
I love working in the public. I like making people happy. I love looking behind me and seeing what a great job I've done. I'm ready for change. I've been with casella since 99 . It's not that I can't handle the job I just need better pay and I'm willing to learn something new.
Pros
They pay for your gear boots, gloves, vest etc.
Cons
Not enough pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not Recommended to anyone
Driver/Delivery (Former Employee) –  Geneva, NYJanuary 16, 2019
Micromanagement! Poor equipment to drive, some office employees with bad attitudes. I recommend not to seek employment here without first interviewing working folks not management. I am sure this would settle any questions you have. Promises made and not kept during your interview.
Pros
get paid weekly
Cons
management
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pull oars in same direction
Manager of Operations (Former Employee) –  Western Region, NYSDecember 14, 2018
Loosely managed from top to bottom, creating lack of consistent direction. Several of the primary goals were contradictory, ie raise prices but keep or increase market share.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I was a hard worker
Welder/Fabricator (Former Employee) –  Hampden, MEDecember 3, 2018
I was a hard worker and I really enjoyed learning new ways to solve problems. The hardest part was lack if communication. Overall I didn't mind working there.
Pros
Leaving early if needed
Cons
Lots of benifits
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
doing trash collection in early morning in Lowville
Trash Collector (Former Employee) –  Potsdam, NYNovember 21, 2018
up at 4:30.the hardest part of the job was fighting the elements...rain,snow,ice,working in the dark.My coworker was the manager and he was very accomodatingThe workplace culture was a little crude in that it was a trash truck and all its functions.Pulling full trash cans through the heavy snow was pretty tough.As things were going well or we were in a good place to have a break,we could do this.It was usually due to our production
Pros
good management
Cons
the weather
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
PC Scales Administrator
PC Scales Administrative (Former Employee) –  Painted Post, NYOctober 20, 2018
PC Scales – Scale in trucks in and out and maintained cash customers
Administrative – Purchase orders, Accounts Receivable and Payables,
Collection calls
Enter new customers in system, UPS and Fed Ex packages and general administrative duties

Scaled from 1000 to 2000 tons a day. Plus purchased parts for equipment.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 4Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Take care of there own
Recycling Driver (Former Employee) –  West rutlandSeptember 13, 2018
I worked as a recycling driver for 6 years out of west rutland vt family atmosphere good leadership safety orientated I like working hard I'd volunteer for just about anything from doing my route and helping out with proctor after cleaning and delivering porta pottys.and delivering dumpsters . If you work hard for them they'll do the same for you i felt guilty leaving but wasn't getting enough hours
Pros
Family feel
Cons
Pay and hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Clicky
Credit and Collection Specialist (Current Employee) –  Rutland, VTSeptember 4, 2018
Casella may be a decent place to work if you are able to fit in with certain clicks. If you don't fit in, even if you do a good job, they will find a way to make life miserable.
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
n/a
Quality Control Specialist (Former Employee) –  Rutland, VTAugust 31, 2018
its a job.. bit rough. very cold in winter. super hot in summers. lots of rats. watch out for needles on sorting belt. employees are generally good guys. management not so much
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overworked and unhappy site with no help from upper management
LANDFILL GENERAL MANAGER (Former Employee) –  Stanley, NYAugust 28, 2018
I was promised that a balance between career and family was important but once I got there, they wanted me to work 12-14 hrs a day including weekends.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Roll-Off Driver (Former Employee) –  Hillburn, NYAugust 17, 2018
Decent job and place to work. one of the more friendly places i have worked.
Needs a new Processing system because the current one broke down alot. The mechanics were good and managed to keep it running when needed. I helped on overtime hours to keep things moving.
At the Time I had one of the best Managers anyone would want to work for. I would go back if the price was right.
Pros
Friendly work environment, good hours, good management, nice place in town
Cons
Gets really Dirty at times
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 3Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great to be on your own with nobody bothering you
Sanitation Engineer (Former Employee) –  Dunkirk, NYAugust 13, 2018
Typical day was to do your designated route without any complaints from customers . you learn operation and maintenance of you trash truck. Management was fair ,8hardest part was dealing with ungrateful people . the enjoyable part were the holiday tips from the customers
Pros
Working buy yourself
Cons
Ungrateful people
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging
Operations Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Peabody, MAAugust 13, 2018
Employs the understaffed business model. Lacks the resources to complete the job efficiently. There is no work/life balance as my experience has been a 12 hour day consistently for a long time.
Pros
Most co-coworkers are good people and team players.
Cons
No career development.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company but...
Credit & Collections Specialist (Current Employee) –  Rutland, VTJuly 20, 2018
There are just a few areas that need improvement and communication is one of them. Each Dept is different when should be universal. Otherwise it's a great company and I believe it has great potential. It just needs a lot of upgrades to simplify and streamline their daily operations.
Pros
Family Oriented company
Cons
Employee turn over, poor upper management decisions
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 3Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Casella Waste Systems. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.2
Based on 92 reviews
522
419
320
213
118

Ratings by category

3.0Work/Life Balance
3.2Compensation/Benefits
2.8Job Security/Advancement
2.7Management
2.9Culture

Ratings from women

3.1InHerSight Score

2.9Personal Development

3.4Career Opportunities

3.0Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight