Cash 1 Employee Reviews

Showing all 32 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management
Branch Manager (Current Employee) –  Las Vegas, NVAugust 20, 2019
Cash 1 has been nothing but great to me, from no experience to now in Management. Cash 1 always has the opportunities to move up and gives opportunities to all employees to become successful. When it comes to management, Managers are always looking into areas to create a great team by keeping them motivated, leading by example and being able to coach to do better not just here at Cash 1 but at any other job. Cash 1 provides with great benefits and makes you as an employee very comfortable and Cash 1 shows that cares about their employees. Great leaders to look up to and most of them came to Cash 1 with no experience as myself and now in management and working for Cash 1 for a few years. I do not see myself working somewhere else, with self motivation and great leaders Cash 1 is the place to be.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Official response from Cash 1
August 24, 2019

Thank you for providing this feedback. We care about our culture and our employees at CASH 1.

1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible management and high turnover
Shift Manager (Current Employee) –  Mesa, AZAugust 2, 2019
I've been here for a few years now and at first the company was a fun environment without a lot of micromanagement. Now a lot of changes have been made higher up and those problems have started to surface and effect the people within the stores.The company treats like you a replaceable part in a machine. Everything is micromanaged to the point where they want to control aspects that do not have anything to do with the loans. Customers aren't going to
decide not to get a loan here just because employees are sitting down while working on their accounts. That's insanity if you actually believe people would care about that when in need of money. Company is cannibalizing itself and wants to blame employees for thinning numbers when the company themselves are the ones stretching the customer base by building stores close to each other creating a scarcity in customers within itself.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Official response from Cash 1
August 24, 2019

Thank you for providing this feedback. We care about our culture and our employees at CASH 1. We do apologize that you did not have a positive experience.

2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Toxic Environment / Unclear procedure & Policy
Teller (Former Employee) –  Phoenix, AZJuly 18, 2019
*PLANNED TO WORK HERE TEMPORARILY*

Cash 1 (Specifically in Phoenix, AZ at least) is very toxic.
I personally was singled out, I was told I can't show my tattoos 3 weeks in ( I have nothing offensive showing).

I was also told I "drink too much water and fill up my water bottle too often" & "I check the schedule" that's 3 feet away from my station, too often, when really it was every other shift.

Procedures were taught to new hires differently from each higher up, so work got confusing.
Breaks must be taken 3 feet to the side of the teller window, which doesn't make it a "break".
Policies regarding benefits, PTO, holiday pay, and discretion against tattoos (cannot be visible) and the like are not told in the interview (I wasn't told anything of the sort until 3 weeks in).
Management is POOR, had a stand in manager who knew what he was doing, but unfortunately went back to his own store after this locations manager came back from vacation.
Store manager is VERY lazy, unorganized, lacking in leadership skill and direction.
Assistant & Shift managers are only in that position cause they stuck out for more than 3 months.
Immensely understaffed; training is also non existent (sitting and reading, then taking tests on a computer) only to be told what you learned is wrong.
TONS of call outs, turn over rate is insane.
All in all, avoid, at least this location.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Official response from Cash 1
August 20, 2019

Thank you for providing this feedback. We care about our culture and our employees at CASH 1. We do apologize that you did not have a positive experience.

4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very productive environment
Manager (Current Employee) –  Modesto, CAJune 27, 2019
I enjoy working with cash 1, employees that I manage is awesome and very understanding. Our goal at cash 1 is to always welcome our customers as they enter the location, as well as making sure their needs are assist in a timely manner and satisfied with their visit.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy Paced easy going environment
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee) –  Gilroy, CAJune 3, 2019
Not a super tough job the first month is just learning getting used to the system and the way everything works. Might be stressful at first but it goes well after.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast advancement opportunities
Store Manager (Current Employee) –  Las Vegas, NVApril 16, 2019
I started as a teller a little over 2 years ago and Cash 1 has opened the doors for me and everyone that wants to move up. Managers work hard to create a fun team environment , we are always busy and looking to meet our goals. I have learned customer service, management skills, time management skills, motivational skills and how to be successful with any job not just Cash 1. My managers are always willing to help and provide constructive criticism, I don’t see myself looking for another job any time soon. We have great benefits, bonus structure, PTO, and 401k. Not many companies treat you as a valuable member of a company I came from a large retail environment and I am looking to stay.
Pros
Fun, benefits, competitive, learning, outings, my team.
Cons
Upset customers
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management is selfish
Teller (Former Employee) –  Las Vegas, NVNovember 5, 2018
Horrible horrible company to work. They basically promote anyone. They have rules like no phones or chit chat at the counter but the only people that get introuble for it are the new hires. The manager use the bonuses as an excuse not to do their job and put everything on the tellers. The manager only looks out for certain employees. They claim no one has a set schedule. But The manager get to work decent hours and get home on time while the tellers have to slave early morning and late nights. They have horrible communication through different employees and upper management. The manager says one think while the regional manager says another. They don’t train they literally tell you everything in one or two days have you right it down then get thrown on a window. They also don’t pay overtime when you work more than 8 hours in a day which I’m sure is a violation of labor laws. Overall I do not recommend this company to anyone unless you like slaving for a company that only looks out for certain employees. Also the managers blame everything on their tellers
Pros
Pay is ok
Cons
Horrible communication
Was this review helpful?Yes 14No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor Management
Shift Manager (Former Employee) –  Las Vegas, NVAugust 10, 2018
a typical day would be processing installment or title loans, even on busy days when you're by yourself you would have to have everything done they wouldn't care if you were busy or not, At first i liked this job but when a branch manager starts picking on you it makes it really hard to want to go to work, the branch manager was literally always drunk or high, the pay was really bad for doing so much it was really stressful to have everything done by yourself. they don't care about employees that work so hard.
Pros
getting experience
Cons
no breaks, pay is bad
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good experience, no advancement
CSR - Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  San Pablo, CAAugust 9, 2018
This job is good if your looking for customer service experience. I learned a lot from working here. The job was stressful not only from being overwhelmed with helping customers but with management and bigger bosses. Always threatened to fire you, even if you give back a check without getting approval from a DM or something stupid. There is not really room for advancement unless you work here for 4 or more years. It's hard for them to keep CSRs so that's probably why. The pay is really low and raises are not very much, yearly reviews. They were constantly changing procedures on loans which was annoying. There was no supporting environment with DMs and I had a manager who pretended to be hard working only when the DM came around. I enjoyed working with some of my coworkers. Overall, it's a good job if you really want the experience for a few years especially in a fast pace environment, but I don't see Cash1 as a career.
Pros
Customers, paid vacation, sometimes early shifts
Cons
Customers, short staffed, poor management, DM and RM were rude
Was this review helpful?Yes 10NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company review
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee) –  Antioch, CAJune 19, 2018
I'm presently working with Cash 1. Nature of our job is to deal w/ payday loan and market other products like Title loan ( Car) Signature loan ( under go credit report of the future customer) also we have the Insight prepaid debit card which we offer to all of our customers.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 3Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Caring upper management that takes care of their employees and keeps it an enjoyable enironment
Branch Manager (Current Employee) –  Phoenix, AZMay 16, 2018
I have been with the company for over twelve years now and I don't see myself leaving anytime in the near future. I love my coworkers and my management team. They always offer prizes for contests and take us out to lunch as well as buy our team lunch almost monthly which keeps it exciting and fun place to work. There is a lot of room for advancement if you are a hardworking and loyal individual, as we like to promote from within.
Pros
Employee appreciation with prizes, outings, bonuses, incentives and potlucks.
Cons
There aren't locations outside of Arizona and Nevada, I'd like to relocate but stay with the company.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Work
Teller/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Vallejo, CAApril 17, 2018
A good place to work learned a lot like great customer services skills and the are great to there employees you are able to move up in the company Cash1 promotes within.
Pros
Cash 1 is great their employees
Cons
No overtime
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A normal day
Shift Manager/Key Holder (Former Employee) –  Las Vegas, NVJanuary 15, 2018
A normal day will consist of making collection calls, doing re-loans or new loans. You will deal with the occasional difficult customer but hey is part of the job. The company's culture focuses in employee empowerment, teamwork, and employee development.

Cash 1 is big in promoting from within. As it is possible to become an assistant manager within 1 year. Overall , the pay at the start is only about 10.50 with a raise once you get a key to the store . if you are looking for a company were you can work your way up to store manager, cash 1 is the right company. Store managers get paid around 15-18 p/hr. Cash 1 is a stable job, tho underpaid for all other positions.
Pros
Pto, Medical, Good work enviroment
Cons
Underpaid
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Good company
Branch Manager (Current Employee) –  Las Vegas, NVDecember 13, 2017
Very good company, very good atmosphere, Great culture, Compensation is well. I love working for this company. I have nothing but good to say about this company.
Pros
very friend, family orientated
Cons
health insure for family
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
O.k enviroment to work, great security
Lead Sales Representative (Former Employee) –  Fairfield, CAAugust 9, 2017
it was an up-beat enviroment , great incentives, lots of room to grow within the company, very well protected as far as security.Management was not very hands on overall o.k to work there, always learning new things. Overtime was always available no real serious issue.
Pros
Great incentives when selling or upgrading to a new or higher loan
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unorganized and very strict
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  CaliforniaApril 12, 2017
I thought working here would be easy since I had previous knowledge in this industry. I thought wrong, the people I worked with were so difficult. I didn't receive sufficient training, I was audited and failed without being considerate that I was new! You get written up for almost every mistake you make or fired, the DM is hard to reach, the manager I had tuned out her employees when she was mad or in a bad mood. It was hard to ask for help since everyone kinda ignores the newbies. Things change so fast it's hard to keep up and remember which way is the correct way. Overall, I disliked this place and would not recommend my friends or family to work here.
Pros
Schedules are made a month ahead
Cons
short breaks, management
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun work place whit food, people.
sales food (Former Employee) –  El Paso, TXApril 20, 2016
i learned how to communicate whit people

keep clean my area

the hardest part of the job it was wen all te restaurants get full

the most enjoyable part of the job was wen people get to have abrething they want
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 19Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
was pretty disapointed with the companies promotion rate
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Vallejo, CAJanuary 26, 2016
when hired I was promised a manager position in the company, in my two and a half year stay I was never given an opportunity to use my managerial skills and training. for all csr employees for this company the daily routine included opening and closing the store, opening drawers/ safe, providing great customer services, helping customers with several financial tasks such as loans, check cashing, wire transfers etc. we were also responsible for balancing the store and filling out daily ledgers. The co workers were pretty good with each other easy to get along with and a joy to work with.
Was this review helpful?Yes 13No 4Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cash 1 has an amazing culture when it comes to praising, and uplifting employees.
Branch Manager (Former Employee) –  Mesa, AZJuly 10, 2015
At first working for Cash 1 was great! All the incentives and uplifting the employees to show that they are appreciated was amazing.
Pros
incentives, bonus, amazing VP!
Cons
when the #'s go bad they are hard on the manager instead of helping them
Was this review helpful?Yes 27No 5Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy
Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Sacramento, CAJune 25, 2015
Time flies when you are working. This place was by far the most busiest place I had worked at. I gain knowledge of laws and compliance that I have to abide by.
Pros
bonuses
Cons
headache
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 3Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Cash 1. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 32 reviews
512
410
34
23
13

Ratings by category

3.7Work/Life Balance
3.5Compensation/Benefits
3.6Job Security/Advancement
3.4Management
3.6Culture