Cash 1 Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A normal day
Shift Manager/Key Holder (Former Employee) –  Las Vegas, NVJanuary 15, 2018
A normal day will consist of making collection calls, doing re-loans or new loans. You will deal with the occasional difficult customer but hey is part of the job. The company's culture focuses in employee empowerment, teamwork, and employee development.

Cash 1 is big in promoting from within. As it is possible to become an assistant manager within 1 year. Overall , the pay at the start is only about 10.50 with a raise once you get a key to the store . if you are looking for a company were you can work your way up to store manager, cash 1 is the right company. Store managers get paid around 15-18 p/hr. Cash 1 is a stable job, tho underpaid for all other positions.
Pros
Pto, Medical, Good work enviroment
Cons
Underpaid
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Good company
Branch Manager (Current Employee) –  Las Vegas, NVDecember 13, 2017
Very good company, very good atmosphere, Great culture, Compensation is well. I love working for this company. I have nothing but good to say about this company.
Pros
very friend, family orientated
Cons
health insure for family
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
O.k enviroment to work, great security
Lead Sales Representative (Former Employee) –  Fairfield, CAAugust 9, 2017
it was an up-beat enviroment , great incentives, lots of room to grow within the company, very well protected as far as security.Management was not very hands on overall o.k to work there, always learning new things. Overtime was always available no real serious issue.
Pros
Great incentives when selling or upgrading to a new or higher loan
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unorganized and very strict
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  CaliforniaApril 12, 2017
I thought working here would be easy since I had previous knowledge in this industry. I thought wrong, the people I worked with were so difficult. I didn't receive sufficient training, I was audited and failed without being considerate that I was new! You get written up for almost every mistake you make or fired, the DM is hard to reach, the manager I had tuned out her employees when she was mad or in a bad mood. It was hard to ask for help since everyone kinda ignores the newbies. Things change so fast it's hard to keep up and remember which way is the correct way. Overall, I disliked this place and would not recommend my friends or family to work here.
Pros
Schedules are made a month ahead
Cons
short breaks, management
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun work place whit food, people.
sales food (Former Employee) –  El Paso, TXApril 20, 2016
i learned how to communicate whit people

keep clean my area

the hardest part of the job it was wen all te restaurants get full

the most enjoyable part of the job was wen people get to have abrething they want
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 16Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
was pretty disapointed with the companies promotion rate
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Vallejo, CAJanuary 26, 2016
when hired I was promised a manager position in the company, in my two and a half year stay I was never given an opportunity to use my managerial skills and training. for all csr employees for this company the daily routine included opening and closing the store, opening drawers/ safe, providing great customer services, helping customers with several financial tasks such as loans, check cashing, wire transfers etc. we were also responsible for balancing the store and filling out daily ledgers. The co workers were pretty good with each other easy to get along with and a joy to work with.
Was this review helpful?Yes 11No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cash 1 has an amazing culture when it comes to praising, and uplifting employees.
Branch Manager (Former Employee) –  Mesa, AZJuly 10, 2015
At first working for Cash 1 was great! All the incentives and uplifting the employees to show that they are appreciated was amazing.
Pros
incentives, bonus, amazing VP!
Cons
when the #'s go bad they are hard on the manager instead of helping them
Was this review helpful?Yes 23No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy
Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Sacramento, CAJune 25, 2015
Time flies when you are working. This place was by far the most busiest place I had worked at. I gain knowledge of laws and compliance that I have to abide by.
Pros
bonuses
Cons
headache
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional Management teams and caring culture
Manager of Business Development (Former Employee) –  Phoenix, AZSeptember 12, 2014
VP of Operations extremely knowledgeable and acutely aware of having the right people in the right jobs at the right times. Upper management supportive and engaged.
Pros
Upper management engagement and ability
Cons
Market and company volitility and reactive work dynamics
Was this review helpful?Yes 28No 8Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Process transactions like payroll advance and check cashing
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee) –  Antioch, CAMay 3, 2014
Majority of the job is to process payroll advances. Some customers cash their checks, do wire transfers, buy money orders and prepaid cards. I have learned how to identify identity fraud and practices anti-money laundering. I like how the schedule is flexible I can still attend to my families needs like when they need to go do their Dr. appointments.
Was this review helpful?Yes 37No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and friendly enviornment
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Sacramento, CAMarch 20, 2014
A typical day at work, the employees work with customers who come into our store for a pay day loan or to cash their checks. We cash checks from payroll to personal checks. We accept all types of check, unless there were a reason we were not able to cash it. I learned how to handle collection calls and work with many office equipment; for example, photo copier, multi phone lines, fax machines and ect. I also learned to not hold my temper back a lot because working in this type of industry or with customers, you will get a lot of those that will tick your off or act as if you do not know how to do your job. I managed to calm a customer down as much as I can even if it were to be one of my co-workers the customer was raising their voice at. I also learned how to investigate if a customer was trying to commit a fraud for a payday loan or just cashing a check, that part about the job I really liked. You also get the experience of working in a bank, because just like banks, we also cash checks and provide loans, so we have to keep a large amount of cash in the store. I too played the roll of the vault manager. I did not feel there was a hard part of the job at all other than trying to reach our goals daily and monthly and watching your own back. This job requires a lot of common sense. The most enjoyable part of this job were my co-workers. If they were not team players, and friendly, I do not think I would be able to tolerate the stress we had from the customers, managers, district managers, and the high ups.
Pros
They cut a lot of emplyee's hours just so they would not have to pay over time.
Cons
You get a lot of different experience with this position.
Was this review helpful?Yes 22No 6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I loved my customers, and employees.
Merchant Teller (Former Employee) –  San Jose, CAJanuary 20, 2014
Although I didn't get the hours I wanted It was a nice place to work, and I definitely gained a lot of knowledge from my three month training.
Pros
45 minute lunches, and free starbucks for winning contests!
Cons
hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 13No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved
Branch Manager in Training (Former Employee) –  Kent, WANovember 25, 2013
Loved working for Cash 1. Great culture, great people, fantastic managers that want you to grow!
Pros
Family oriented, flexible, supportive.
Cons
Competitive company for advancement into higher level management
Was this review helpful?Yes 11No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cash 1 was the Best Job I ever had.
Teller (Former Employee) –  Sacramento, CAOctober 4, 2013
Cash 1 was an excellent place to work. I work as a teller.A typical day for me would be to come in count my drawer, make sure it has a 1500 hundred in it, take debt, credit and cash payments for payday loans, cash checks, process and receive western unions, process car title loans and payday loans and also process money orders. My co workers were very great I work in a very diverse environment which made things fun. The management was very supportive and at work everyday of there shift. The most non enjoyable part of the job is that I had to stand through out my shift all day, but the enjoyable parts was that we got free lunches and my job was not stressful.
Pros
Free lunches, non stress environment, safety glass to make a safer environment.
Cons
short breaks and standing all through out shift.
Was this review helpful?Yes 18NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
cash 1
Manager (Former Employee) –  Dickson, TNJuly 22, 2013
Meeting new people everyday
loved my co workers part of family
very easy job when you love you job it isn't hard

Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
one of the best.
Manager (Former Employee) –  Manchester, TNJuly 14, 2013
they sold to someone else.
This was a job you walk into and enjoyed to work. When you left it was like you really didn't work. They called from home office and told you that you did good. This was a very family type place.
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work life
Manager (Current Employee) –  RenoJanuary 27, 2013
Working at Cash1 has been great. They really care about their employees and what they need to be sucessful.
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
bad company!
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  San Jose, CAOctober 5, 2012
they call you out on your mistakes but never a good job on you accomplishments! if your short money in your draw you will have to pay back or you get a write up very unprofessional!!@!!!! company very gredy
Was this review helpful?Yes 15No 6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A day at work
Teller/Shift Manager (Former Employee) –  Peoria, AZJune 28, 2012
Process pay day loans
Process money orders
Process title loans
Money Gram and Collection
Handle money every day, hold vault
Greet customers in professional matter
Make sure lobby is clean every night before closing
Pros
loved my co-workers
Was this review helpful?Yes 15No 9Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Cash 1. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.1
Based on 20 reviews
59
46
34
20
11

Ratings by category

4.0Work/Life Balance
3.8Compensation/Benefits
3.9Job Security/Advancement
3.7Management
4.0Culture