Cash America Employee Reviews

3.6
Overall rating
Based on 797 reviews
Ratings breakdown
5219
4242
3210
273
153
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Found 775 reviews matching the search See all 796 reviews
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Too Many Unnecessary Changes
Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Auburn, WAMay 25, 2018
Upper management focus has moved away from the customer and only to the bottom line. Long time customers are no longer treated with respect and new ideas are and fresh thinking are not rewarded.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
FirstCash Takeover ruined Cash America
Pawnbroker (Former Employee) –  Chalmette, LAMay 21, 2018
CA was a fun job, until FirstCash bought them out, and changed every procedure that made CA the #1 corporate pawn store in America.
Every month it seemed new procedures came out that had the goal of driving away customers and employees.
Pros
Great co-workers and local management (At least at my location).
Cons
Corporate takeover ruined everything. Corporate micromanagement.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
You'll need tough skin, patience, and a smile
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Atlanta, GAMay 16, 2018
It's a hard job to do with out proper training. Management is weak and lacks direction on treating people with respect that utilizes the service of requesting a short term loan on resellable goods. Will not take in consideration that the store sometimes sell defected merchandise and will not return a product unless you purchase a frivolous peace of mind plan for 15 days or 30 days.
Pros
Creating a great rapport customers
Cons
Management would rather you treat the customers like crack-heads
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and interesting
Customer Service Representative/Cashier (Former Employee) –  Memphis, TNMay 15, 2018
Cash America was a simple and easy job and it was a stepping stone for me. Very interactive with customer and coworkers and because this franchise business is so big you meet a lot of amazing people and make some wonderful connections
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
One person
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  McAllen, TXMay 15, 2018
Only cares about numbers you can be their top salesperson and they still wont promote or transfer you out to another location to make more money. Gm is a joke.
Pros
Closes early on sundays
Cons
Alot of favoritism, rarely work with requested days off. Will expect you to double shift without actually asking you.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very enthusiastic and energetic workplace
Pawn Broker (Former Employee) –  Arlington, TXMay 15, 2018
Busy job handling personal loans,easy and challenging moments.The most enjoyable part of the job is being able to meet knew people everyday.overall i would say that ilearned how to assist the costumers and learned how best to qualify cosumers to certain things
Pros
hours, commission
Cons
n/a
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a job
ASSISTANT SHOP MANAGER (Former Employee) –  Fort Lauderdale, FLMay 13, 2018
It was a job that wore me out. There was alot of physical stamina required to get daily responsibilities done.

My manager was Hispanic and he did not care too much for me. I coped as best as I could until the incident when the customers came in and stole merchandise I was showing to them.
Pros
Compensation was adequate.
Cons
Did not get to stop for lunch on a daily basis.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
exelent place to work
CSR/Lead Pawn Broker (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILMay 11, 2018
definally nice place to work, very relax, nice discounts, nice environment, also easy management to work with nice benefits a lot trainings that help to bette costumer service.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
N/a
Pawn Broker (Current Employee) –  Charlotte, NCMay 10, 2018
The store manager is great! It’s just the job you get paid little, For so much work. Some benefits are good, Some are pointless. The environment is okay, but not much security working at a high end place that sell’s thousands of dollars of jewelry, Plus other merchandise!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Upset with mamangement
Shift Lead manager (Current Employee) –  Indianapolis, INMay 10, 2018
I enjoy the company and the business! I was asked to switch districts and when I did they didn't keep their promise. I was told to switch I would be promoted to ASM, and that was the only reason I moved. After the move though the did not promote me nor are they going to anytime soon.
Pros
fast paced, fun environment to work. Team members are wonderful
Cons
Management doesnt like to keep their promises
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Leaving was a sad day
Sr. Business Analyst (Former Employee) –  Fort Worth, TXMay 8, 2018
I really think Cash America was a highlight in my career! My peers were welcoming and wanted to guide me. My manager was absolutely brilliant, would never ask you to do anything that he didn't know and therefore always willing to teach. We also had a ton of fun, cubicle tailgate parties, taco days, food truck Fridays, etc.

When First Cash purchased CA, they announced deep cuts, CA allowed us several months to looks for other opportunities and interview while still employed. I miss you Cash America, I hope life is as good there with he new management!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Place but very stressful
Pawn Shop Manager (Former Employee) –  Shreveport, LAMay 2, 2018
Constantly on the move . But overall fun place t work you will meet lot of people from different backgrounds,but long work days. Can be very stressful
Pros
laid back music all day and can wear jeans
Cons
working on major holidays
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Relaxed place of business
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Amarillo, TXApril 30, 2018
I enjoyed working there was always busy but not stressful. Hardest part was trying to help all customers and being able to. Most enjoyable was meeting all kinds of interesting people
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
As a cash America store manager in Burien Wa
Store Manager (Current Employee) –  Burien, WAApril 24, 2018
Work life balance was a joke. The location was in such a bad neighborhood. Being robbed 5 times in 2017. Between the smash and grabs and the local tweeks stealing merchandise off the shelf.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
COSTUMER SERVICE REPRESENTATIVE (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXApril 19, 2018
I worked there after I graduated from high school. They ask for you to have a high school diploma or GED. The employees there are very nice and fun to be around with.
Pros
Christmas party’s, win a lot of free stuff.
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's okay
Pawnbroker (Former Employee) –  San Antonio, TXApril 16, 2018
Requires good product knowledge and ability to keep up with sales trends. Lots of paperwork for loans. Grumpy in debt people are main source of customers.
Pros
Not to hard. My bosses were always cool.
Cons
Pay kinda low. Have to deal with some shady people.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Can be stressful
Assistant Store Manager (Current Employee) –  Gastonia, NCApril 15, 2018
Opening paper work schedule lunches and daily task prep air money inventory . Weekly schedules making sure the customers are well takin care of. Cleaning and restocking the store.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
okay
Pawn Broker/Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Memphis, TNApril 12, 2018
sales,customer service,telphone calls, background checks, payday loans, we have jewelry counter and gun sales aswell . cleaning and maintaining our products
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work environment
Pawn Broker/Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Fort Walton Beach, FLApril 9, 2018
Working here at cash America I have learned a lot about customer service. I appreciated the help I would receive if I wasn't knowledgeable on a certain product. The management was a bit tough to get along with, but I made sure to always be respectful to their rules.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Job
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  College Station, TXApril 9, 2018
Learn everything you can, It is a great job to learn and use that knowledge in your life. Every other job I have been in has me using knowledge from this place.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport