Cash America Employee Reviews

Found 837 reviews matching the search See all 859 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
hostile work enviorment
Pawn Broker (Current Employee) –  San Antonio, TXSeptember 19, 2018
you are likely to be pushed hard to to tedious tasks while trying to juggle a department, sales, and customer service. many days I feel like quitting but have held out thus far. the company doesn't care about its employees and my co-workers are fed up and also ready to leave. great job when it started. commissioned based pay. commission bases on store performance more than personal. management is unforgiving.
Pros
discounts
Cons
cannot get loans at own store, cannot do layaways at own store, limited to 2 purchaces a month.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible management and high turnover!!!
Pawn Broker (Former Employee) –  Charlotte, NCSeptember 17, 2018
I worked with this company for over 1 year and have seen a terribly high turnover rate. I can see why though becuase the manager at my store was incredibly disrespectful and did not care about anyone but herself.
The district manager was just as bad. They would practically stress someone out until they quit. It doesnt matter how good you are doing becuase if they dont like you.... they will find a way to get rid of you!
STAY AWAY!!!
Pros
Benefits were nice
Cons
Management was terrible.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoyed working at cash America for the most part and very much building a good relationship with my customers
Pawn Broker (Former Employee) –  Riverdale, GASeptember 17, 2018
It’s a good place to work benefits are very good. Vacation, sick time off and paid holidays were very good and on top of your hourly pay you also made commission monthly on sales so I would recommend this job to anyone who enjoys working in customer service.
Pros
Good company
Cons
Can be dangerous depending on the area you work in.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
yes
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Dallas, TXSeptember 11, 2018
I loved working here i just hate the fact that cash america got bought out by first cash, it really sucks cause everything changed including the hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Pawn Broker/Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Memphis, TNSeptember 11, 2018
I enjoyed working with coworkers, I learned about warehouse, payday loans,jewelry, electronics,jewelry, sales, commission. Good place to work you get to meet a lot of people.
Pros
Discounts
Cons
They took away a lot of paid holidays
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work environment you got to learn how to tease jewelry like gold silver
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Kansas City, MOSeptember 10, 2018
Really good job you guys really good experience you learned a lot of new things you’ve seen a lot of things come in because it was a pawnshop got to handle a lot of money you got commission for sales and for how many Pawns u wrote
Pros
30 minute breaks on Saturday our breaks through the week if you were full-time
Cons
The customers are rude sometimes
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
CashAmerica is a reliable job with steady pay.
Pawn Broker (Former Employee) –  Lilburn, GASeptember 9, 2018
When working at Cash America you learn how to negotiate with customers upon making a Pawn. You are interacting with the customers creating clients, that will continue working with you for Pawns or sales. The most enjoyable part of the job is making sales, in which you earn commission. Making lasting relationships with the customers, turns to lasting clients that will want to work with you trusting that you will sell them an item worth while. CashAmerica is not just a Pawn shop but a platform for a individual business, in which you will take part in a revenue exchange.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Assistant Manager (Current Employee) –  Nashville, TNSeptember 5, 2018
Been there for years and have met and worked with many people of whom I have watched grow within the company. You can start out as a sales associate and work your way up the corporate ladder quickly as long as you put the effort into your job.
Pros
Benefits and 401K
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company
Lead supervisor (Current Employee) –  Maryville, TNSeptember 5, 2018
They were always nice and pleasent to work with. The managers are very friendly. The district manager was always very helpful to me. They were always willing to take time to talk to you and help you through something you didn't understand.
They had a high turnover rate for hourly employees. But who in any retail format doesn't. You are required to go to work to get a paycheck.
Pros
You get a paycheck
Cons
Breaks are depending on customers and business needs.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The thing about First Cash/Cash America
Pawn Broker (Former Employee) –  El Paso, TXSeptember 3, 2018
With the first cash/cash america merger both compaies are pretty much the same now and theres no options in helping customers due to there fixed system on lending.
Pros
Hr lunch Break
Cons
Poor communication
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed my time
Sale Associate (Former Employee) –  Lawrenceville, GASeptember 2, 2018
I enjoyed my time at Cash America. The reason for leaving was due to Florida. This is the season I wishing to come back to work for this company. Hopefully I will be hire .
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
If you enjoy talking and selling at the same time this is for you.
Pawn Broker/Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXAugust 29, 2018
You always will have a sales quota to achieve once your 3 months are up, so it’s best if you try to learn as much as you can from the classes to real life costumer transactions. Always best to know your what your selling and able to have smile even when you know the machine isn’t great.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
aa
CUSTOMER SERVICE REPRESENTATIVE & PAWNBROKER (Former Employee) –  San Antonio, TXAugust 29, 2018
One of the best jobs I have ever had. Never a dull moment working at this place. WOrk environment was high energy and high paced. Customer service skills
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
was good while it lasted
ASSISTANT MANAGER & STORE MANAGER (Former Employee) –  Cash, ARAugust 24, 2018
my area manager was great and had our backs when we needed him. but the company kinda did us wrong by the way they pushed us all out the door and no where else to go.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
overall day to day
Assistant Manager (Current Employee) –  Baton Rouge, LAAugust 22, 2018
Fun,great place to work. Have to have tough skin the customers can be really difficult.But i luv the people i worked with we have fun but also handle business. Had a chance to meet alot of excellent customers and great deals.
Pros
discounts
Cons
rude customers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Customer service representative (Former Employee) –  Dallas,TxAugust 21, 2018
Overall it is a good place to work. Really depends though on your manager. You either get a great boss or a horrible boss. Work environment is good. Just have to be open to different personalities of people
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Used to be good
Shop Manager, Mentor (Training) Manager (Former Employee) –  Saint Louis County, MOAugust 17, 2018
Just a horrible place to work. Used to be very close knit, but they have eradicated all the tenured people. Should be a fun job, but its miserable now. Run far away.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive business
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Waxahachie, TXAugust 16, 2018
My days were at cash america were good, i learned management is easy from time to time. hardest is dealing with refusal of customers and getting paid is good.
Pros
Free lunches
Cons
Short breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great benefits, horrible managment
CSR - Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Baton Rouge, LAAugust 11, 2018
If you aren't sticking your nose up a higher ups butt, you are being treated poorly. Pay is minimal for the type if treatment given by customers. emotionally and mentally draining.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It’s great
Pawn Broker/Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  New Orleans, LAAugust 11, 2018
Honestly, I love working here. I wish there were room for advancement but it’s ok. The benefits are amazing and if you really sell you’ll receive a bonus at the end of each month I love that because my biweekly checks are only $200
Pros
Benefits
Cons
Customers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Cash America. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 859 reviews
5236
4258
3230
275
160

See reviews about

3.3Work/Life Balance
3.5Compensation/Benefits
3.2Job Security/Advancement
3.3Management
3.5Culture