Cash America Employee Reviews

Found 801 reviews matching the search See all 823 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and exciting place to work
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Las Vegas, NVJuly 17, 2018
I loved this place but relocated back to my hometown, I would highly recommend working for Cash America. Fun upbeat and you learn something new everyday.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very quick paced job
Pawn Broker/ Shift Leader (Former Employee) –  Midland, TexasJuly 16, 2018
I enjoyed my job very much but with the difficulties in my pregnancy I wasn’t able to stay anymore. Very quickly paced but the environment was great customers were great people as well.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company was bought out by a competitor
Executive Assistant (Former Employee) –  Fort Worth, TXJuly 16, 2018
The company was bought out by a competitor. The company culture is nothing like what it was when it was Cash America. When I first started working for Cash, there was a family atmosphere and all employees took ownership in the company working really hard to better the company. Little by little perks like leaving early the Friday before a holiday, company employee fun team, Company day at the Rangers game were done away with. The last two years I was there the buy out deal was in the works and constant layoffs occurred.
Pros
Company CEO was a good one
Cons
Large amount of stress worrying if you were next on the layoff list.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice experience with certain individuals
Customer Sales Representative/ Pawn Broker (Former Employee) –  El Paso, TXJuly 13, 2018
work well with certain people other people think they were untouchable the management team i worked with was great but other teams had problems and concerns
Pros
discounts, schedules
Cons
no room for fair advancement horrible pay unless you are store manager
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
decent money
SHIFT LEAD (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXJuly 9, 2018
its an ok job just not enough flexibility for your personal life. long hours, rude customers, changes constantly with fifrst cash taking over. overall its a job
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work but can be too overwhelming at times
Baytown - Shop Manager (Current Employee) –  Baytown, TXJuly 9, 2018
over all it is a great place to work staff ends up turning into a family only down fall is that the company is going through so many changes and it has turned into a stressful work environment that is making a lot of old veteran employees and management leave.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun work place.
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Baytown, TXJuly 8, 2018
I enjoyed working here but moved and was not able to transfer. The training and advancement with the company was great. I was able to advance to management with a year and pay was great.
Pros
N/a
Cons
N/a
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall
Customer Service & Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Houston, TX 77008July 3, 2018
This company is fun to work with, you always see something new, and you get to help people all the time. Awesome place to work in. THe managers always there to help
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A fast paced place to work
Store Manager (Current Employee) –  Louisville, KYJuly 1, 2018
The hardest part of the job is you're required to work very long hours. The most enjoyable part of the job is that it is a very rewarding career to have when your able to help those in need.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worked too many hour not enough pay
Assistant Manager (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXJune 29, 2018
Working there was hectic. Got asked to do more than what i was getting paid to do. SM was never doing their job and i had to pick up the slack for both
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Shift Leader (Former Employee) –  Conyers, GAJune 29, 2018
Good place to work. Long hours, Great training, Paid vacations, sick pay. I loved working for this company when the old manager was there. When he left so did a lot of the customers.
Pros
always busy
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Boring and stressful
Shift Lead Manager (Current Employee) –  Spring, TXJune 25, 2018
My current situation is unbearable. I’m by the book. With a manager that breaks rules for customers but I get it if we don’t meet sales 2+yrs with CAP
Pros
Pay, 1week vacation/6mths, some paid holidays, promotion, company picnic with family at water park
Cons
Promotion might take a while depending on management, no vacation if short staffed, cash drawers sometimes never balance and you’ll stay late till it’s figured out, schedule always changes
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved working with Gold & Guns, making sales
Pawn Broker/Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  San Benito, TXJune 25, 2018
Was a great place to work at meeting different people & a very good environment. Management was impressive & the store was very organized. My former coworkers were good people inside & outside of work.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful experience helping others and receiving a pay check helping others.
Assistant Manager (Current Employee) –  New Orleans, LAJune 23, 2018
Cash America is a job where what you put in is what you get out of it .Meaning if you don't do anything your not going to last .It takes a team to get it done
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pawn Broker
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Jacksonville, FLJune 22, 2018
My job was to help people who were in need of finical assistance. They would bring in a item or items to either pawn to get a small loan or they would bring in a item or items for sell. I enjoyed working in this environment because I enjoyed helping customers get their need met.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Review
Shop Systems Training Manager (Former Employee) –  Dallas-Fort Worth, TXJune 22, 2018
Friendly staff; very limited on responsibilities assigned
Good for internship positions and temporary work; competitive pay and local to DFW great location
Pros
Close to DFW
Cons
Excessive travel required based on position
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast pace work environment
Pawn Broker (Former Employee) –  Tallahassee, FLJune 22, 2018
An overall good place to work. Part-time employee only gets one week of vacation time and 10% discount. Very fiscal work. Rudd and impatient customers. You receive a commission on everything that you sell.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace, got a lot of knowledge learning how to weigh and sell gold,silver and platinum
Customer Service/Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Chandler, AZJune 15, 2018
Cash America is a good place to work, I was there for 8 years and learned a lot about loaning on certain products such as, Gold,laptops,cell phones, TVs and tools
Pros
Lunch was on the company if we hit our goal each month
Cons
Full audits, Remembering seven different codes
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not much to say
Pawn Broker (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXJune 15, 2018
How good your experience at Cash America pretty much depends on the location of you store. If you store has good business then your store will get bonuses and thats where you get decent money from. if not, you're gonna stress at this job.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a great diversify company.
Shift Leader/Manager (Current Employee) –  Jacksonville, FLJune 14, 2018
its a great company to work for every store works as a team looks out for one another and have job advancement.gives you opportunity to grow with the company great training classes. Teaches you a lot about the pawn business,
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Cash America. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 823 reviews
5228
4245
3223
274
153

Ratings by category

3.3Work/Life Balance
3.5Compensation/Benefits
3.2Job Security/Advancement
3.3Management
3.5Culture