Castle Metals Employee Reviews

Found 60 reviews matching the search See all 69 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place-Rough overall market
National Accounts Tech. Sales-Purchasing (Former Employee) –  Bedford, OHMay 9, 2017
Loved working there but they removed our entire department.
Lets face it, with polymers and carbon fiber, metal is becoming less popular and more expensive to work with and ship.
Loved my manager, pay was good and the people were fun
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor planing of a company
Warehouse Associate (Current Employee) –  Janesville, WIApril 19, 2017
I have been working for AM Castle from the very beginning and all I can say is that it is the most mismanaged, terrible excuse for a company that I have ever worked for. First off I will start with the biggest issue which is the insurance. Apparently when AM. Castle came to Wisconsin I guess they just assumed the coverage would come with them, which it didn't. The bill that you will get will prove this fact. Second new hires make two dollars less then everyone else for reasons I do not know. Lastly the management is the the most lazy group of individuals I have ever seen in my life. Will take a fair amount of patience to deal with them on a day to day basis.
Pros
nothing
Cons
zero chances for advancement, terrible benifits, and uncaring management
Was this review helpful?Yes 16No 6Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
they want production with out supplying the employees what they need
Operator (Current Employee) –  Janesville, WIMarch 20, 2017
they make it difficult to work when they dont listen their people and make things happen without the red tape. it can be every frustrating for anybody.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun relax enviroment nice people
Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Oak Brook, ILMarch 1, 2017
break room had a nice big area to eat your lunch nice big tv to watch and relax on break. the company as a whole was one big team. the was many different events giveaways for the different holidays and sports events.
Pros
free food at times
Cons
distance from my home
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work force and knowledgable people to work for.
Driver (Former Employee) –  Franklin Park, ILFebruary 24, 2017
Delivered steel. bosses were great.....

Driving the tractor/trailor in bad weather was the worst part of the job.

Most enjoyable part was the friendship between drivers.
Pros
Holiday parties and summer picnics
Cons
Bad weather
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good company to work for
Saw Operator (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXFebruary 20, 2017
had good insurance, good pay, and lots of o.t.. They would work with you on the days you need off if any. always willing to help you better your self so you can move up in the company.
Pros
had lost of o.t when the work is there
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learned alot
Side Loader operator (Former Employee) –  Fairfield, OHFebruary 11, 2017
I was trained to operate side loaders and overhead cranes and I found that interesting and informative.I like learning new things.
Pros
experience
Cons
company left the state
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work.
Warehousemen, saw operator Material handler (Current Employee) –  Janesville, WI 53546January 31, 2017
After a jump start meeting about tasks of the day cutting and moving orders to be shipped. packing orders as needed. logging work completed. clean up areas to leave for next shift.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 4Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good place to work
Team Leader/Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Fairfield, OHJanuary 30, 2017
It is unfortunate that the Fairfield Ohio plant has closed or when I came back from Florida I would have tryed to get rehired
Pros
can advance from within
Cons
fairly dirty
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun plase to work for
RECEIVING CLERK (Former Employee) –  Kansas City, MODecember 13, 2016
I had to help wait on customers at the receiving window and then I would start to enter my data entry each day. I would talk on the phone with drivers and give them directions on how to get to Castle Metals.
Pros
Free lunches and dinners during inventory
Cons
short breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Steel Worker
Steel Worker (Current Employee) –  Bedford Heights, OHDecember 8, 2016
As the leadership/management goes, so goes the company and it has much room for improvement. Great company to work for but layoffs have been more prevalent which raises concern for new hires and the benefits are not as good as they used to be. Vacation time is 2weeks until you have been with the company for 8yrs then you receive more for seniority.
Pros
Three work shifts, overtime, and great starting pay
Cons
Poor benefits, vacation time, inconsistency of work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Castle Metals is a premier provider of Specialty Metals
Territory Manager/ Sales (Former Employee) –  Bedford Hts, OHDecember 2, 2016
They have been in business for over 120 years.
Their reputation in the Metals Distribution Market allowed me the opportunity to prospect, develop, and service numerous companies in Ohio and Pennsylvania.
I was able to have a successful career which allowed me to retire in 2014.
I was responsible for managing and maintaining inventory on special stocking programs for our customers.
I firmly believe in working closely with my sales and operations support personnel.
The challenge was to continue to develop new customers in the ever changing manufacturing environment.
The most enjoyable part was meeting and developing relationships with numerous customers.
Pros
Comany car, Expense Account, Entertainment Activities
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 4Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Company that needs to improve the management style and make people work as a team.
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  TexasAugust 15, 2016
Castle is a good company with focus on Aerospace and Industrial. Company needs to integrate all teams from top management to analysts. There is the need of standardization in all operations and administrative areas.
Pros
Work-Life balance
Cons
Need to improve the management style to make teams work effectively.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company closed
Operator (Former Employee) –  Franklin Park, ILMarch 1, 2016
AM Castle Metals plant shop in Franklin Park, IL closed down at the end of January 2016. Was a great union shop while it lasted.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 2Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Job
Warehouse Associate (Former Employee) –  Franklin Park, ILFebruary 15, 2016
Poor management decisions, which caused poor on-time delivery and customer satisfaction. Company chose too many directions to be involved in at once.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great group of Employees
Inside Sales Manager (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXJanuary 11, 2016
Fast paced yet enjoyable work environment, couldn't as for better co-workers. Learned a lot about the oil and gas market,
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
company in transition
Sales Representative (Former Employee) –  Franklin ParkSeptember 29, 2015
company going through a lot of changes; plant closures, consolidations, workforce reductions.... Pay was ok but terrible bonus structure.
Pros
good people to work with
Cons
losing money every quarter, uncertain future
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unstable
Inside Sales Representative (Former Employee) –  Paramount, CAAugust 29, 2015
Great co workers
Constant changes or lay offs
Worked there over 5 years, once company changed hands, Hired too many Managers, laid off good, knowledgeable people. Dont know if you are comming or going. Always wondering when the next change phase will take place.
Pros
decent benefits
Cons
too many Managers, top heavy
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Odd place to work, never figured the place out
Territory Manager (Former Employee) –  Charlotte, NCJuly 20, 2015
Castle is an old line metal distributor. Carried a lot of specialized bar products. Not the kind of place that gets down and dirty with pricing and has a narrow focus of customers. No training on their products very tight with their resources for employees. I met great people their and most went on to be successful with other steel distributors.
Pros
Good benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
AM Castle Metals Review
Operations Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXJuly 10, 2015
A typical work day consisted of coordinating with 1st shift Operations Coordinator and Traffic coordinator on goals for the day. Meeting with all employee's on 2nd shift and coordinating each employee's goals for the day. The hardest part of the job was learning how to work with 4 Operations Managers in 5 years. Employee's and management were ok. I learned how to use Oracle, read MTR's overhead crane, Raymond side-loader, and how to load 18 wheelers.
Pros
Great experience with in house customer service
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Castle Metals. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.5
Based on 69 reviews
519
421
313
28
18

Ratings by category

3.7Work/Life Balance
3.7Compensation/Benefits
2.9Job Security/Advancement
2.9Management
3.3Culture