Castle Metals Employee Reviews

Found 60 reviews matching the search See all 69 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Company
INSIDE SALES (Former Employee) –  Cincinnati, OHJune 25, 2015
Company had the assets and resources to put business first

Opportunity to land the largest business, long term or short term


Excellent Company

Current CEO should be better than the last
Pros
People
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Castle was a great place to work. Production was down due to gas and oil economy.
Burner (Former Employee) –  Grand Prairie, TXJune 16, 2015
I enjoyed working at Castle mainly due to both Management and Co-workers. We all worked as a team. Nothing was too big or small when it came to helping each other out.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Intimate office setting with only 35 people. Nice place to work if the business were doing better.
Personal Assistant to VP of Oil & Gas (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXMay 6, 2015
 Assisted the VP and upper management with booking customer meetings on and offsite.

 Helped book flights, hotels, rental cars, and manage business expenses for the VP, the Regional Commercial Manager for Southeast Texas, as well as the Sales Managers.

 Provided different reports to management on a weekly and monthly basis.

 Attended weekly meetings with upper management dealing with confidential information about the company. My job was to write notes and delegate action items for myself and the other managers to complete in a certain time frame.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The company has poor financial results
EMPLOYEE (Former Employee) –  UNITED STATESApril 28, 2015
Unfortunately they have laid off a number of employees. The industry is important to the overall economy. Hopefully the company will rebound.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worldwide Distributor
Operations Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Kennesaw, GAJanuary 5, 2015
Castle Metals is a wonderful place to work for. They help their employees grow and challenge them to be great. I have enjoyed my experience with the company.
Pros
Team atmosphere - We build each other up
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Family Owned Business
Account Representative (Former Employee) –  Kent, WASeptember 11, 2014
Everyone is very close and has a great team spirit. Really great company to work for.
Pros
Great retirement package, and medical benefits.
Cons
Low salary
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
Logistics Manager (Former Employee) –  OakbrookJuly 29, 2014
Awesome Company good management and you get lots of opprotunity.
Pros
Challenging
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Changing
Staff Internal Auditor (Current Employee) –  Oak Brook, ILJune 17, 2014
Job security is good
work life balance is great
employees are wonderful
management is open minded
Pros
Activities
Cons
Location
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast Paced company
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXMarch 31, 2014
Fast paced with lots of different tasks assigned daily. Learned about lots of material, and dealt with customers.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lead computer operator
Role - Lead Operator/Technical Support Analyst (Former Employee) –  Franklin Park, ILJanuary 22, 2014
The best part of the job was the varied experience gained working here.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
people in office great, senior management was horrible
Account Manager (Former Employee) –  Fairless Hills, PAJanuary 3, 2014
worked as an account manager-job itself was interesting. If sales were higher for the company as a whole, the environment would have been more enjoyable. Management kept making constant changes, which made daily tasks more difficult in order to save the company money. This got to be extremely frustrating to deal with after a while.
Pros
great people in the office
Cons
upper management doesn't know what they are doing
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
best shop foreman I have ever worked for
Warehouseman, Saw operator (Former Employee) –  Grand Prairie, TXNovember 22, 2013
a very good job friendly coworkers learned a lot about running saws safety was truly #1 priority
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Warehouse Clerk (Former Employee) –  San Francisco, CAOctober 4, 2013
Very busy place, but lots of laughs. Team atmosphere and everyone did their part. The hardest part of the day was completing and making sure orders were correct. The best part of the day was knowing a job was well done.
Pros
Steak lunches, happy people and decent pay and good benefits
Cons
Change of management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard working & dedicated employees.
Administrative Assistant/Quality Control (Former Employee) –  Grand Prairie, TXAugust 13, 2013
The people are very welcoming and due to the years that most of been there, they know the business. The longevity at this company is amazing. For anyone who hasn't worked in the metal industry it can be overwhelming. Customers requesting specific types of metal, in specific measurements, if you aren't a quick learner one can get lost and cause the company and the customers lots of money. I'm grateful for my time spent at Castle Metals.
Pros
Close to home.
Cons
At times lack of communication from corporate.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Management.
International Inside Sales Representative (Former Employee) –  Paramount, CAJuly 17, 2013
Management was always there to help with the daily in and outs.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and enjoy lunches with the staff
Traffic Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Kansas City, MOJanuary 21, 2013
A typical day at work would be getting ready to receive trucks, organize loads for the evening. Sending orders out to be filled, updating orders through out the day, once loads are filled, I start to build loads to go out the next day. The hardest part of my job would be when the system would go down at the end of the day and you need to get the orders out the door and to customers.
The most enjoyable part of my day is working with a varity of people, co-workers, external, internal customers,and management. We all work together as a team in order to accomplish what needs to be done to take care of our customers.
Pros
the people and the customers.
Cons
when the system goes down
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Temp assignment
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Kent, WADecember 10, 2012
I worked as the receptionist @ castle metals....this was a permently temporary position. It was a good place to learn the skills needed for my next adventure...most people there have been their for many years. HR was extremely nice. Sales team was friendly but did not like there orders being audited (which was my task to reveiw and have them sign off on errors I found) Sales team was not willing to make changes which was very frusterating on my end....but the best part of working here was that they provided free box lunches about once a week...awesomeness!
Pros
free lunches
Cons
not open to change or new ideas
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work for
Braner Operator / Control Room (Former Employee) –  Franklin Park, ILOctober 14, 2012
enjoyed working there a expecially with all the workers there very nice they help each other out expescially the maintenance crew
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Castle Metals was a good company to work for.
Crane/ straightener operater (Former Employee) –  Hammond, INJuly 27, 2012
I felt like a team member , and learned a lot through the Employees on the jobs I was trained on.
Management where always easily contacted and where always there to help.
Hardest part of the job was the intense heat of the furnace.
May favorite part of the job was the coworkers and how they where like a second family.
Pros
union shop
Cons
non
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport

See more Castle Metals reviews

You may want to try:

Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Castle Metals. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.5
Based on 69 reviews
519
421
313
28
18

Ratings by category

3.7Work/Life Balance
3.7Compensation/Benefits
2.9Job Security/Advancement
2.9Management
3.3Culture