Catholic Charities Employee Reviews

4.0
Overall rating
Based on 1,742 reviews
Ratings breakdown
5743
4490
3324
290
195
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Found 1,739 reviews matching the search See all 1,742 reviews
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
They help out a lot of people
Intake Coordinator (Former Employee) –  ChicagoAugust 17, 2018
Catholic charities is a great place to work for. They need to pay their workers a little more money. Overall the place is a good place to recommend to someone.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Helpful and fun
Community Integration Specialist (Former Employee) –  Rochester, NYAugust 14, 2018
I worked with a child with disabilities for this company and it was very enjoyable. The job was rewarding and I had multiple resources to improve my child's daily functioning.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Really nice people to work with
Financial Assistant (Former Employee) –  Madison, WIAugust 13, 2018
slow past and relaxing management was nice and friendly could listen to music while you work lunch breaks were nice and long. learned how to do data entry enter in expense reports.
Pros
long breaks cool coworkers
Cons
nothing
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable
Receptionist (Former Employee) –  Las Vegas, NVAugust 13, 2018
Work was very pleasant and enjoyable somethiing new and
exciting daily. People I worked with all very nice. Just a very
wonderful place to work.
I would recommend this company for employment.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Caring
Staff (Current Employee) –  Tulsa, OKAugust 9, 2018
Management is caring. However, some bad choices for director positions or supervisors. Advancement seems unlikely and the mission statement is changing quickly.
Pros
Lunch Provided
Cons
Poor leadership choices .
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Improve the Lives of those in Need!
Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Fort Worth, TXAugust 8, 2018
Great place to work if you have a kind heart and want to improve the world of social services. Lots of opportunities to suggest changes. Management is open to new ideas-- as long as there is a funding source for it.
Pros
new challenges daily, autonomy in work
Cons
office politics
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
stressful, non-supportive the past 5 years
Social Worker #II Outreach (Former Employee) –  Milwaukee, WIAugust 8, 2018
the past 5 years have been a steady decline in the support employees received to do their jobs: funding, resources, training, etc.
workplace culture was not good
management was weak
Pros
good immediate supervisor
Cons
poor organizational leadership; no CEO, executive director for past 5 yrs
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work place
Program Assistant III (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILAugust 8, 2018
I worked at CC for 18years. I was fired after being lied on. I wasn't allowed to present any proof or witness to attest to my work ethic. I was dismissed immediately despite if yearly good job reports. I learned a lot of skills with this company and had plans to retire but that didn't happen. Just be aware that Catholic Charities demand loyalty and dedication from there employees and they are quick to terminate to benefit their own goals.despite
Pros
Excellent programs and work environment
Cons
Terminate at will policy
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cc
Case Manager (Former Employee) –  Kalamazoo, MIAugust 7, 2018
This organization was warm and friendly. The people and the clients were fun to work with. Some of the politics of the organization showed a lack of appreciation for staff.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to help others
Director of Marketing and Public Relations (Current Employee) –  Reno, NVAugust 6, 2018
Catholic Charities of Northern Nevada provides a great opportunity to help people in need, while offering a chance to learn about the issues facing northern Nevada residents. There are opportunities to grow and learn the various facets of social work, while also getting a crash course in how a non-profit works. The best part about working here is getting to help the less fortunate and create positive change within the community.
Pros
flexible schedule, rewarding work
Cons
dealing with difficult clients
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Advocate
Supportive Housing Case Worker (Former Employee) –  Syracuse, NYAugust 6, 2018
Catholic Charities gave me a way to be in and part of my community but a way to make my community better. I was able to connect people with community resources that allowed them to stay house.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great experience
Program Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Queens, NYAugust 6, 2018
Working with Catholic Charities I gained tons of experience working with multiple social workers. Working with Catholic Charities inspired me to go back to school and get my Master's in social work.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The pay was adequate.
Foster Care Licensing Worker (Former Employee) –  Flint, MIAugust 6, 2018
The work environment was okay. The hours were flexible as you could work late hours on two of your work days. The pay was decent for the area. You got all major holidays off as well as a week at Christmas.
Pros
I liked the fact that you had a meeting weekly where you could receive feedback.
Cons
The fact that I was terminated from my position.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Established agency
Social Worker III (Former Employee) –  Buffalo, NYAugust 6, 2018
I have worked for Catholic Charities a few times during my professional career. I fully support their mission and vision in how they deliver their services.
Pros
Generous time off, free training opportunites
Cons
salary, technology
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rewarding
REFUGEE RESETTLEMENT COORDINATOR (Former Employee) –  Baton Rouge, LAAugust 5, 2018
The highlight of my career. I learned tons because of an excellent director who promoted me to different roles. Most of the people have a love of people and care about the community.
Pros
Good salary
Cons
No room for growth
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it was a good place to get an experience
Volunteer Work (Former Employee) –  San Diego, CAAugust 4, 2018
it was a short time that i worked with catholic charities as a volunteer
but i feel like i add new experience to what i have
the environment was nice i made lot of friends
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Summer Youth Worker (Current Employee) –  Bronx, NYAugust 3, 2018
At work we would normally come in and sign our time sheets and head into our rooms where we study until its time to test to get certified. Most the time it is quiet. I learned how to apply different graphics to my work when creating a presentation for either powerpoint, Excel and Word. The most enjoyable part of work would have to be lunch.
Pros
long breaks
Cons
taking tests to be able to get certified
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
If you don't get the salary you desire upon hire you won't
Case Manager (Former Employee) –  Delanco, NJAugust 2, 2018
If you don't get the salary you desire upon hire you won't. Leadership can be difficult to work with.Almost seems as if they do things to purposely hang you out to dry. This is not the whole CC overall. Just this one program.
Pros
Loving co-workers
Cons
Stress
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great agency
Safe House Coordinator (Current Employee) –  NJAugust 2, 2018
Worked with domestic violence victims, not for the faint of heart but work with a lovely group of people.Supervisory team is committed to giving the best service to the clients and staff.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Helping seniors
Case Manager (Former Employee) –  Las Vegas, NVAugust 1, 2018
The management created a hostel work environment . They change procedures every week. There racist and antagonizing toward employees that challenge there work ethics .
Cons
Have to use your own car. If ur car breaks down they fire u.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Catholic Charities. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Ratings from women

3.1InHerSight Score

2.7Personal Development

3.4Career Opportunities

3.5Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

Powered by InHerSight