CDM Smith Employee Reviews

Found 136 reviews matching the search See all 189 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and good people to work around woth
Pipe Layer/Laborer (Former Employee) –  Boston, MAJanuary 21, 2019
Had a great experience working for CDM. I learned new things and some I already knew, I like working in and outdoor type of enviorment rather than be stuck indoors all day
Pros
Paid vacation and PTO
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Incompetent Management Losing Business
Planner II (Current Employee) –  Tallahassee, FLJanuary 19, 2019
I joined fresh out of college and was promised any kind of planning work that I wanted or even a transfer after I put in some time in a position that I did not apply for.

After three years, two lost contracts, and 30% of the office quitting, I still have no clear path for my future work or career path. Whenever I ask for a plan from management, they stonewall or avoid me. Quitting is only a matter of time at this point. My experience at this company has been almost worthless, but at least I have a few years of experience now. I feel bad for the employees that can't move on because of kids, health insurance, location, age, etc.
Pros
Good health insurance, flexible hours, average pay
Cons
Bad management, losing work, nonexistent work culture
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good First Job
GIS Specialist (Current Employee) –  Manchester, NHNovember 8, 2018
Busy times are great, but there are times where it is very slow and entry level employees are not able to chase work themselves. Entry level employees rely on the pm or rtl to get work and sometimes can be difficult.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overseas construction project
Sr. Project Manager (Current Employee) –  Orlando, FLOctober 25, 2018
I worked on an overseas construction project. CDM did a good job of keeping me informed of company project pursuits, and upcoming work. However, since I was overseas, it was difficult to feel like I was completely in the loop.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its was a good Experience
Technical-Functional Analyst (Former Employee) –  Edison, NJOctober 14, 2018
Training here is lacking to say the least ..great place to work. Advancement is slow; promotions are rare. Good place to start out of college since work is plentiful and interesting. Mentoring is excellent!
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Team Oriented
Information Management Specialist (Current Employee) –  Irvine, CAOctober 2, 2018
I always felt like part of a team from day one. Everyone at the firm is integral to the success of the project. The culture is great, which is why I have been with the firm for nearly 20 years.
Pros
Great benefits, excellent team oriented culture
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Strong emphasis on billable hours more that business development
Senior Geotechnical Engineer/Manager (Former Employee) –  Dallas, TXAugust 27, 2018
Originally a fun place to work but over time became very regimented with a strong focus on chargeable hours. Very little reward for the hard work expected other than to "keep your job". The company has a lot of in-house capacity to do a variety of work in different engineering disciplines but business development people have no guidance and are not at all encouragement to keep work in-house.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Contract Administrator (Former Employee) –  Walnut Creek, CAAugust 13, 2018
This was a professional environment. The company is global. I worked with staff members of all levels across the country. Put together a manual on operations.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Workplace culture is great
Cost Specialist (Current Employee) –  New York, NYJuly 16, 2018
Great company to work for, they are in 48 States and a few companies. They are constantly educating their work force on the newest technologies. Active in fundraising campaigns in their communities.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Quiet, relaxed environment
Intern (Former Employee) –  Boston, MAJuly 14, 2018
CDM Smith was a good first job to work at. They taught me a lot and they helped me become a better person. All my coworkers were very polite and welcoming.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company
College Recruiter (Former Employee) –  Boston, MAJune 24, 2018
Overall the companies focus and goals were great. They are currently working on a marketing plan to have more entry to senior level candidates apply..
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging environment
xxx (Current Employee) –  xxxMay 21, 2018
I believe that the company does a lot of great things but needs to value employees and provide competitive compensation. It makes it challenging to stay for long term.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ethical company but lacking in vision and diversity
Sr Contracts Specialist (Current Employee) –  Denver, COMay 21, 2018
The company values integrity and excellence which aligns with my personal values. This has been the main reason for my staying with the firm all these years. However, I feel the company's strategy for long-term growth no longer aligns with my personal belief. I believe the growth and success of the enterprise lie on the personal growth and success of its members. I feel the firm has lost sight of this vision.
Pros
Ethical culture, professional excellence
Cons
Lack of diversity, groupthink mentality
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Strong Management and Challenging Work
Project Administrator (Former Employee) –  Austin, TXMay 15, 2018
While at CDM Smith, I enjoyed working for a strong, progressive program manager that offerred challenging work and growth potential. I understand that person is no longer there so that is a significant deterrant to me returning - if I was ever interested in doing so.
Pros
Challenging work with strong program manager
Cons
Not impressed with other management
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Doesn't deliver
CADD/Electrical Designer-Worked independently (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILMay 11, 2018
Company made lot of promises, but could not deliver. Main HQ has no idea what local office are working on. Poor communication, very inexperienced management and layoffs.
Pros
new offices
Cons
Inexperience Management, no work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company, employees and projects!
Civil Engineer (Former Employee) –  Bellevue, WAMay 11, 2018
CDM Smith is a place where you can constantly learn something new, the projects are interesting and challenging. A lot of flexibility in work hours and great benefits. They actually care about what the employees want. I highly recommend CDM Smith!
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A busy place but a team oriented.
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Tampa, FLMay 8, 2018
CDM Smith & Mngmt are positive about their philosophy & they pass this on to their staff. I enjoyed the work & the interaction with clients and staff.
Pros
Flex time, employee Bday celebrations, holiday parties.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Work Atmosphere
Senior Project Scheduler/Project Control (Former Employee) –  San Juan, PRMarch 25, 2018
A great place to work where you feel that you can advance and do meaningful work. Communication with management was easy and bid decisions were informed to staff in a clear manner.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
engineer
Civil Engineer (Former Employee) –  Maitland, FLMarch 21, 2018
At the time I worked here there was not much work but this changes with economy. Very low salaries for engineers depending on the state but it is a fairly stable job.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place
Intermediate Recruiter (Current Employee) –  Boston, MAMarch 12, 2018
CDM Smith was a good place to work. The only negative thing i would say is everything is very technical and people are out to get you for the most part. just cover your back guess.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at CDM Smith. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 189 reviews
568
459
337
221
14

Ratings by category

3.9Work/Life Balance
3.9Compensation/Benefits
3.4Job Security/Advancement
3.5Management
3.8Culture

Ratings from women

3.0InHerSight Score

2.8Personal Development

2.9Career Opportunities

3.3Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

Powered by InHerSight