CDM Smith Employee Reviews

Found 130 reviews matching the search See all 180 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Strong emphasis on billable hours more that business development
Senior Geotechnical Engineer/Manager (Former Employee) –  Dallas, TXAugust 27, 2018
Originally a fun place to work but over time became very regimented with a strong focus on chargeable hours. Very little reward for the hard work expected other than to "keep your job". The company has a lot of in-house capacity to do a variety of work in different engineering disciplines but business development people have no guidance and are not at all encouragement to keep work in-house.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Contract Administrator (Former Employee) –  Walnut Creek, CAAugust 13, 2018
This was a professional environment. The company is global. I worked with staff members of all levels across the country. Put together a manual on operations.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Workplace culture is great
Cost Specialist (Current Employee) –  New York, NYJuly 16, 2018
Great company to work for, they are in 48 States and a few companies. They are constantly educating their work force on the newest technologies. Active in fundraising campaigns in their communities.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Quiet, relaxed environment
Intern (Former Employee) –  Boston, MAJuly 14, 2018
CDM Smith was a good first job to work at. They taught me a lot and they helped me become a better person. All my coworkers were very polite and welcoming.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company
College Recruiter (Former Employee) –  Boston, MAJune 24, 2018
Overall the companies focus and goals were great. They are currently working on a marketing plan to have more entry to senior level candidates apply..
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging environment
xxx (Current Employee) –  xxxMay 21, 2018
I believe that the company does a lot of great things but needs to value employees and provide competitive compensation. It makes it challenging to stay for long term.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ethical company but lacking in vision and diversity
Sr Contracts Specialist (Current Employee) –  Denver, COMay 21, 2018
The company values integrity and excellence which aligns with my personal values. This has been the main reason for my staying with the firm all these years. However, I feel the company's strategy for long-term growth no longer aligns with my personal belief. I believe the growth and success of the enterprise lie on the personal growth and success of its members. I feel the firm has lost sight of this vision.
Pros
Ethical culture, professional excellence
Cons
Lack of diversity, groupthink mentality
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Strong Management and Challenging Work
Project Administrator (Former Employee) –  Austin, TXMay 15, 2018
While at CDM Smith, I enjoyed working for a strong, progressive program manager that offerred challenging work and growth potential. I understand that person is no longer there so that is a significant deterrant to me returning - if I was ever interested in doing so.
Pros
Challenging work with strong program manager
Cons
Not impressed with other management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Doesn't deliver
CADD/Electrical Designer-Worked independently (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILMay 11, 2018
Company made lot of promises, but could not deliver. Main HQ has no idea what local office are working on. Poor communication, very inexperienced management and layoffs.
Pros
new offices
Cons
Inexperience Management, no work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company, employees and projects!
Civil Engineer (Former Employee) –  Bellevue, WAMay 11, 2018
CDM Smith is a place where you can constantly learn something new, the projects are interesting and challenging. A lot of flexibility in work hours and great benefits. They actually care about what the employees want. I highly recommend CDM Smith!
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A busy place but a team oriented.
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Tampa, FLMay 8, 2018
CDM Smith & Mngmt are positive about their philosophy & they pass this on to their staff. I enjoyed the work & the interaction with clients and staff.
Pros
Flex time, employee Bday celebrations, holiday parties.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Work Atmosphere
Senior Project Scheduler/Project Control (Former Employee) –  San Juan, PRMarch 25, 2018
A great place to work where you feel that you can advance and do meaningful work. Communication with management was easy and bid decisions were informed to staff in a clear manner.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
engineer
Civil Engineer (Former Employee) –  Maitland, FLMarch 21, 2018
At the time I worked here there was not much work but this changes with economy. Very low salaries for engineers depending on the state but it is a fairly stable job.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place
Intermediate Recruiter (Current Employee) –  Boston, MAMarch 12, 2018
CDM Smith was a good place to work. The only negative thing i would say is everything is very technical and people are out to get you for the most part. just cover your back guess.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Quick turn around time in projects.
Graphic Designer (Former Employee) –  Boston, MAMarch 12, 2018
Great place to work with good co workers. Everybody very helpful. Learned a lot from people. Always willing tp take time to help you. Great team atmosphere.
Pros
Optional working from home
Cons
Lots of project with short due dates
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work for high level management, lower level not so much
Employee (Former Employee) –  USAMarch 4, 2018
little to no communication between low and mid to high level management and low pay. The corporate "culture" consists of getting your work done and making sure you have enough to do and little else. There are no workplace friendships forged and ZERO camaraderie among workers. The frequent restructuring of management and/or policies makes for little to no continuity in relationships between management and lower level employees. Seniority is non existent and company loyalty means absolutely nothing.
Pros
not many
Cons
too many!!!
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work.
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Tampa, FL 33607February 5, 2018
Great place to work. I learned a lot about engineering. Co-workers are great. Hardest part of job is keeping busy some days. Management was very helpful.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stress free atmosphere
Senior Designer (Current Employee) –  East Hartford, CTDecember 16, 2017
You can work your own hours or work from home if needed. Every employee is supplied with a laptop and docking station for home use.

The benefits for healthcare are very good, no deductible
Pros
excellent health care
Cons
small tight cubicules
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very poor Management
Electrical Engineer (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILDecember 14, 2017
Poor management and lots of stressful work. Tons of corporate politics from upper management. Workplace culture very old. Learned a lot coming out of college.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Sr. Project Manager (Former Employee) –  New Orleans, LANovember 19, 2017
Global company with availability to learn and participate in wide range of projects. Great management. Very courteous environment. Work at your own pace and get the project done within time and budget.
Pros
Flex hours, wide rage of project/clients, global
Cons
health benefits match could be better
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 1Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at CDM Smith. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 180 reviews
565
456
336
219
14

See reviews about

3.9Work/Life Balance
3.9Compensation/Benefits
3.4Job Security/Advancement
3.5Management
3.8Culture

Diversity score

83out of 100

The Comparably Diversity Score tracks how positively diverse employees rate their experience at CDM Smith.

Powered by Comparably