Celadon Trucking Employee Reviews

Found 359 reviews matching the search See all 364 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
drive truck
Driver (Former Employee) –  Indianapolis, INOctober 26, 2018
my fleet manager was great she was easy to talk to when I had questions. it was a were fast place job. but with all trucking jobs if you are not in the right mind set to drive it is not a good thing to do.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High Stress with a strange set up of flow to departments
Account Manager (Current Employee) –  Indianapolis, INOctober 26, 2018
I would like to say first I don't dislike everything about this place. Coworkers have become family over the years. Celadon offers things like onsite cafeteria, a gym, basketball court, and onsite clinic that functions like a family practice. As an office employee expect that your phone rings non stop. There's a monitoring system in place with your "report card" on display to everyone to publicly shame you into having what is considered acceptable phone time. The rules and goals set by people who have NEVER worked in a roll that is actually signed into the phone to understand what you'll go through. Promotion is not based on your performance. It's based on what group you hang with. Not a polo wearing frat boy? Didn't go to Franklin for college? Seek other job to be promoted. You are not paid based on a fair scale. Expect that in any group of people the salary varies for the same roll in the 12k range. Just depends on who you knew when you started. Drivers can expect to have a DM that is the point if contact. The DM literally is allowed to do nothing. Loads planned by another department. Appts set and freight booked with a different department. Payroll or breakdown literally everything is through another department that the DM must wait to hear back from. Driver however is not allowed to speak to them. They literally took away the entire companies ability to transfer a call. Maybe the driver is lucky and goes to a dedicated account. Here one person is the DM the planner and CSR. That's great. Drawback, those departments normally have one person to take of 50 or more drivers.  more... In some cases more than 100. This leads to frustrated drivers that yell then admin employees under so much stress. We hear the blame pushed to oh well the planner let's me sit they don't care about how I like to run. In truth the planner has no idea who you are. You are a truck available in an area and need a load. They put you on the first one that they can. The blame is shifted to the CSR bc the appointment would not work based on your hours of service. The CSR doesn't know who you are. The accept loads build them and put them in the system. They then reschedule them as the appts are missed over and over bc the freight is not tailored for the truck. The over nights and weekends are blamed however there are in most cases 1 DM 1 planner and 1 CSR handling the entire fleet. The issue here is too many hands in the pot. We need a restructuring. Smaller fleets with 1 person that takes cares of the driver, gets loads for the driver from the customer that works and assigns it. We need managers that have sat in our desks and understand what we go through. Managers that when they see you drowning jump in too instead of walking out that door at directly 8 hrs on the dot. I've reached my limit and will begin my hunt for a new gig. I hate to leave these amazing people that are in the trenches with me and some of the BEST drivers in the industry. Trucking is high stress but this format makes it way harder than needed. It's also time to stop making excuses for bum employees and burning down your good ones. There are some smart talented people at Celadon. Bright minds with good ideas. In the end they are made the work horses and just have everything piled on them until they break. We lose the good ones and keep the awful ones bc someone likes the jokes they tell or bc their kids play ball together. If you are a driver reading this I hope it sheds some light on what we go through. Most of us do care. We do appreciate you. If you want the best chance ask about dedicated accounts. If none avl TRY Temp Control. Lower number of trucks in the boards so they have more time to spend per driver right now.  less
Pros
Lots of amenities on site, indepenant working, good technology, variety of shifts to chose from, welcoming coworkers
Cons
Stress level, insurance rates, poor organizational set up
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dont recommend lease
Truck Driver Class A (Former Employee) –  IndyOctober 25, 2018
Lease purchase is full if pitfalls. It sounds easy but I have owned many trucks in the past with no problems keeping them profitable. Found this to be near impossible here not because of dispatch but because of the policies regarding maintenance and lack of outs in the event of unforeseen downtime.
Pros
Good pay and loads
Cons
Lease purchase sounds good but bad deal
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
large company, no miles
CDL Operator (Former Employee) –  Indianapolis, INOctober 24, 2018
nice equipment but no miles,very large company.low miles some delivery schedules were impossible to meet due to driving hours of service.lot,s of sitting and waiting for dispatched loads
Pros
great equipment
Cons
low miles
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun loving and see a different city every other day
Trucking (Former Employee) –  Indianapolis, INOctober 24, 2018
If u like to travel and see a different city this is the job for you it's fun and enjoyable long hours and long drives great dispatches of load and they keep u rolling
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast Paced and Long Periods away from Home
Driver 18 Wheeler (Former Employee) –  Indianapolis, INOctober 18, 2018
I felt like I spent more time in Canada than I did in the United States. You are given an ultimatum to be fired or go to Canada. Before I had began working for Celadon, they had great incentives and benefits (which is what drew me toward them). Within less than two weeks of reaching the goal to receive a bonus, the company cancelled all bonuses (except for their executives). Bonuses never resumed while I was employed here.
Pros
Travel. Milage
Cons
Bonuses, Management, non-caring of driver home time.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
excellent company
OTR Driver/Owner Operator (Former Employee) –  Indianapolis, INOctober 16, 2018
had fun there too. the company was very professional and taught me how to be a man on the road and drive safely. I recommend this company to all drivers
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Like family
Driver clsssroom instructor (Former Employee) –  Indianapolis, INOctober 16, 2018
Loved working with the drivers great hours and good pay like most trucking companies very fast paced and must be able to multi task. I loved the challenge every day
Pros
Good pay and vacation
Cons
Stress
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
sucks
Driver (Current Employee) –  otr team driverOctober 13, 2018
t ive been more in the shop than actually working and they dont want to change truck becaise they already put to much into this one and they wont pay for our breakdown
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent Beginner Job
Operations Analyst (Former Employee) –  Indianapolis, INOctober 3, 2018
This is a decent entry level job because you experience everything. The good, the bad, and the ugly. I feel like it is best to experience that to begin your job career.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Muybuena
Driver/Owner Operator (Former Employee) –  Indianapolis, INSeptember 26, 2018
Buena compañía,ambiente agradable, buenass millas , gran experiencia
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not productive and poor management
Company Driver (Current Employee) –  Indianapolis, INSeptember 25, 2018
I have not like working at Celadon because poor pay. Lack off communication with dispatchers and no pick up loads that are ready.No home time just keep on rolling.
Pros
Keep rolling
Cons
Poor Pay, No home time, and just sit there waiting for a load assignments
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great
Drop Lot Manager (Former Employee) –  Albany, GASeptember 21, 2018
One of the best job I had , Would still be there if company hadn't lost contract . Had great support group . Great place to work . Learned a lot . Was allowed to make business my own
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Trucking
OTR TRUCK DRIVER Transport product (Former Employee) –  Indianapolis, INSeptember 20, 2018
Being a truck driver is hard work. If you are not ready to leave your family for long periods at a time and also deal with law enforcement on a daily basis then this is not a job for you. You are the driver with a load total weight of 80,000 pounds. You have to keep control of it and pay attention to your surroundings.
Pros
Travel
Cons
Mileage pay instead of percentage for Lease Operator
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 4Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome company great staff too
Truck Driver (Former Employee) –  Indianapolis, INSeptember 19, 2018
When I worked there I loved the staff I just did not like getting low paying loads other than that good company and some good trucks. There working on the drivers and putting them first.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Celadon
Company Driver (Former Employee) –  Indianapolis, INSeptember 18, 2018
Was Texas Regional. Picked up loaded trailer and dropped off loaded trailer. Picked up empty and dropped off to pick up loaded trailer. At the terminals people were nice.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Relaxed
Warehouse Associate (Current Employee) –  Columbus, INSeptember 11, 2018
Relaxed, clean fun place to work. Supervisors are nice and understanding. They will work with you as long as you tell them what is going on in your life
Pros
Paid lunch nice people
Cons
Don't know any to say
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
CDL A Driver
Driver (Former Employee) –  Indianapolis, INSeptember 1, 2018
Depended on you dispatcher liking you . I learned the dispatchers not all , but many never drove tractor trailer in their lives .The Cutler was what the Government said it should be .
Pros
Rider program
Cons
un Knowledgeable dispatchers
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's time to go!
Over the Road Truck Driver (Former Employee) –  Indianapolis, INSeptember 1, 2018
I've been with a few big companies and Celadon wasn't HORRIBLE, but wasn't the best. If you don't pay attention they will screw you! Also the equipment is trash. I went through two prostars in one week! Layover pay Is a joke.And also the planners will screw up the delivery and pick up times, so watch out! You'll either be too early or too late n have to sit on that load! But as a whole, they are a big company, so, it's all about the money. Use them like they use you and ✌️
Pros
Nice corporate terminal, SOME cool DM's
Cons
Raggedy equipment, poor home time, management and low miles
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Trying to diversify too much!
OTR Company Driver (Former Employee) –  Indianapolis, INAugust 31, 2018
Dispatchers have no concern when a driver has a family emergency or is dying. They will not try to get a relay set up to get you back where you need to be.
Pros
Decent trucks and trailers
Cons
Trying to diversify and be too competitive.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 2Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Celadon Trucking. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.0
Based on 365 reviews
570
481
382
252
180

Ratings by category

2.8Work/Life Balance
2.9Compensation/Benefits
2.8Job Security/Advancement
2.6Management
2.8Culture

Ratings from women

2.1InHerSight Score

2.5Personal Development

1.8Career Opportunities

2.0Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

Powered by InHerSight