Celadon Trucking Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
job
Truck driver (Former Employee) –  Indianapolis, INJune 30, 2017
This job is a typical truck driving job and not for everyone. You could make good money if you were willing to travel a lot. The equipment was not the best
Was this review helpful?Yes 11No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Driver Manager
Transportation Manager (Former Employee) –  Indianapolis, INJune 28, 2017
I would manage at least 50 drivers per day. The atmosphere can be challenging at times but the intent needs to be met daily. I managed drivers that delivered a variety of products.
Pros
Good peers helping when needed.
Cons
Ensuring products were delivered on time.
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor communication/disorganized
Driver (Current Employee) –  Indianapolis, INJune 28, 2017
Been driving for this company less than 1 month now. Told them from the beginning I needed to be off and back home two days before a legal issue and made me stay on the road until 2 days AFTER. That's 5 days later than I requested and told from the start. Receive multiple loads at once for different times, dates, and locations through dispatch and dm's, and any time you need to contact someone urgently, you can enjoy the soothing "hold music" for a minimum of 30 minutes waiting on someone to let you know your problems will not be solved. I've never written a review on anything in my life and my experience with company has inspired me to do anything I can to make sure anyone looking to get into the trucking industry knows what they're getting into before they sign a contract with these corporate stains. They do not care about you. There is no local office. You deal with corporate workers who don't know you.
Pros
Decent pay
Cons
Everything else. Company insurance is garbage
Was this review helpful?Yes 22NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Major lack of integrity from upper management
Associate (Former Employee) –  Columbus, INJune 9, 2017
Celadon as a company does not focus on the warehouse side of the business nearly enough. It is like the warehouses do not exist to them. We are the last to receive corporate notifications about news and events, HR basically does not exist for us, and we pay higher insurance rates rates for extremely terrible coverage.

Celadon (dedicated services) in Columbus, IN is quickly falling apart at the seams. They've allowed the customer to come in and change the standards and change the culture and as a result, the overall success and once exceptional working environment has paid the price. This is no longer a "partnership" with Cummins, it is a "dictatorship" lead by Cummins and our leadership teams response is to fire anyone who stands up for the greater good of Celadon.
Was this review helpful?Yes 21No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good
Parts Manager (Former Employee) –  Henderson, COJune 8, 2017
Challenging environment with a solid company with opportunity for advancement. Flexible schedules are a plus. A positive work environment that will allow independent responsibilities.
Pros
Flexible schedule
Cons
None listed
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to work
Commercial Driver (Former Employee) –  Indianapolis, INJune 5, 2017
I enjoyed working for Celadon Trucking. They gave me plenty loads, and always got me home when I needed. The pay was also great, more money than I've ever made.
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 12Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
stuck without pay
Truck Driver Class A CDL (Former Employee) –  Little Rock, ARJune 1, 2017
got stuck with out pay twice











and they shorted me.















my air never worked not once












they did comp for a hotel but since i had no money i couldn't eat some nice drivers helped me
Was this review helpful?Yes 18No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A company that is only worried about their bottom line
Lease Operator (Current Employee) –  Indianapolis, INJune 1, 2017
Leasing a truck through you walk out not sure if you were violated or just bought a truck. Durring the lease signing i paused to read the agreement and was told to leave the room and handed a copy of a lease agreement (not actual agreement) and told to come back with next group. Asked if i could take my agreement they would not let me read before signing. Was told by another guy in the group that after i left the guy said. I dont need no trucker lawyers in here. That was with Quality Leasing.
Was this review helpful?Yes 20No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok
Repack and packing (Former Employee) –  Janesville WisconsinMay 22, 2017
It's a good job it's at a very fast paced management was good to work with the hardest part about the job was making sure the numbers were right make sure everything was packed the right way and shipped to the right place
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poorly Managed
Pricing Analyst (Current Employee) –  Indianapolis, INMay 16, 2017
Typical day can be stressful due to needing to get approval from managers before being able to complete a task. This is necessary at first but need to allow workers to make decisions without being micro managed.
Was this review helpful?Yes 11No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Future and Job Security Unknown
Operations Analyst (Current Employee) –  Indianapolis, INMay 14, 2017
I enjoy working for Celadon. I enjoy the fast pace work environment but not much job security and no room for advancement. Pay was lower than I had expected but I enjoy learning about this industry from the bottom up.

I am very appreciative of what I've learned but that is limited as my position has been simplified and once my job is done, that is it. I would like to learn other processes but I'm stuck in my roll.

Not sure of health insurance rates from other companies but I feel like I am paying a lot in health insurance and I opted out of vision and dental since health was expensive enough.
Pros
fast pace, learning about the industry
Cons
lower pay, no room for advancement, turnover
Was this review helpful?Yes 11No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The management staff is lacking
Customer Service Analyst (Current Employee) –  Indianapolis, INMay 9, 2017
They have successfully created a hostile work environment. Where you are set up to be unable to fulfill your goals and service your customers period lose-lose situation all around
Pros
Free gym
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 16No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
driving cross country
Class A CDL Truck Driver Trainee (Former Employee) –  Indianapolis, INMay 4, 2017
it was ok until I broke down in Laredo TX for 5 days with no pay. not enough home time. it was a nice experience for the time. training was good still need more training.
Was this review helpful?Yes 19No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun environment
Truck Driver Class A (Current Employee) –  Indianapolis, inMay 2, 2017
Fun environment very nice people to work with the managers are very cool the people make it fun to work with, work at your own pace but be productive, be well organized.
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun
Planner (Current Employee) –  Kernersville, NCMay 1, 2017
In Kernersville we're busy but it's a great environment. We have a lot of fun but work is still very fast paced. Corporate makes things harder than they need to be sometimes.
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
OTR Company Driver (Former Employee) –  Indianapolis, INApril 26, 2017
I'm not gonna ruin it find out for urself, President of company had talk to new drivers and had lunch with them!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful?Yes 12No 21Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Know before you go
OTR Company Driver (Current Employee) –  Indianapolis, INApril 10, 2017
Offer bonus incentives that they take away at will without notification. "Scorecard" bonus discontinued in October 2016 without notification and did not pay from Jan - to date they said they discontinued.
Pros
Always get you home on time
Was this review helpful?Yes 21No 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a Great Environment
Freight Analyst (Former Employee) –  Indianapolis, INApril 7, 2017
I worked in the office in Indianapolis for a year and a half. I was a freight analyst, which means I made the decision whether or not to accept freight that was sent to us from customers. This was all done digitally (email and computer software).

My job required me to make hundreds of decisions every day about what kind of freight would be good for our company, but the decision making process that we were required to use changed on a daily basis. It was impossible to get a work flow going from day to day because of the constant change. The crux of our job was changed so much we basically didn't get to make decisions after a while. We were presented with rules to follow like monkeys at the circus. Our managers would get us together for a meeting to introduce sweeping change that would stay in place for about a week at most before another drastic change was implemented.

I also had management standing over my shoulder constantly. We were required to answer myriad emails and phone calls every day about decisions we had made the previous day or week. You could make an incredible decision that made money for the company one day, but it would all get wiped away the next day when you didn't follow the new rule to a T. The constant micro-managing was beyond frustrating.

The worst part was the sales that we had to do. Management wanted us to reach out to our customers to get more shipments. More freight = more miles = more money; makes sense. However, things got so bad that they started implementing requirements for soliciting customers. Then we had a requirement to successfully
  more... solicit customers. By the time I left there was a requirement for every employee to successfully win 5 extra shipments DAILY. That is a preposterous number that most people had trouble achieving. The pressure for more freight was so stressful that I saw it bring people to tears, myself included.

The stress from these requirements got so bad that I had to leave the job. I do not miss it at all.

Some other issues with the company

- The promotion process is incredibly off-putting. Your first promotion does not come with a raise.
- People who have worked there for many years have not been sufficiently compensated in their salary.
- There are managers there making less than $40k/year, which is just silly.
- The management style is entirely reactionary. Something goes wrong and everyone goes crazy (hence the ever-changing work flow).
- You have to work weekends on a rotating schedule in addition to your regular work schedule and are compensated with days off during the week. (I understand that the trucking industry never stops, but it makes more sense to just hire weekend staff).
- I was never required to stay late, but in order to do the job well you had to stay late to cover everything; and of course, you were not paid for this time. I do not know what the true numbers are, but I would estimate that the average employee at Celadon works 3-10 hours a week that they are not paid for. This was a constant frustration. We were assured that we did not need to stay late, but were questioned when things didn't get done because our shift ended and we went home.

There were some positive things about Celadon. The people I worked with were mostly very nice and really fun to work with despite the environment; I do miss them. My direct managers were fun, enjoyable and competent people. My complaints about management are all about upper managers (Department heads, Department presidents and vice presidents, etc.) There is a medical facility on site that is completely free to employees. This is an amazing benefit. I am very grateful that they had this. The health insurance was a little bit pricey, but good.

Overall, Celadon was not a great place to work. The industry itself is cut-throat, so maybe Celadon is on-par with other companies and I just don't know it. However, I cannot recommend that anyone works here. Since I left, my stress has reduced dramatically, and I have a new job outside of the trucking industry that pays better.
  less
Pros
Free on site healthcare, excellent people working there
Cons
Hard to get promoted respectfully, Huge pressure to win freight, Ridiculous requirements for soliciting customers, Required to work weekends without being monetarily compensated, CONSTANT changing of work flow and rules, Upper management only reacts to bad situations (not proactive)
Was this review helpful?Yes 24No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Got training
Company driver (Former Employee) –  WisconsinApril 5, 2017
Learne everything I needed to know to gain my cdls and employment. Learned all my training and safety procedures. Met a lot of great people, I love being a truck driverl
Was this review helpful?Yes 13No 6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great if you want to travel
Truck Driver (OTR) Class A (Current Employee) –  Indianapolis, INMarch 28, 2017
Only been with company for almost 6months. Loving traveling and being gone but when truck is broke down your just sitting. They don't don't keep you busy enough especially if your solo
Pros
Travel
Cons
Communication, money, don't keep you busy if solo
Was this review helpful?Yes 18No 2Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Celadon Trucking. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.0
Based on 310 reviews
561
467
367
244
171

Ratings by category

2.8Work/Life Balance
2.9Compensation/Benefits
2.7Job Security/Advancement
2.6Management
2.8Culture

Ratings from women

InHerSight Score
2.1

2.5Personal Development

1.8Career Opportunities

2.0Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight