Celanese Employee Reviews

4.0
Overall rating
Based on 230 reviews
Ratings breakdown
584
482
348
27
19
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Found 148 reviews matching the search See all 230 reviews
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very well company with exceptional employees and a professional environment
Human Resources Intern (Current Employee) –  Irving, TXAugust 9, 2018
Celanese is a wonderful place to work in not only were the employees very nice, but Celanese is a great job in which anyone can improve themselves and they're skills
Pros
Free lunches, gym, weekly pay, helping environment
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Materials Engineer Intern (Former Employee) –  Winona, MNJuly 30, 2018
I worked there for 3 months. I worked as a materials engineering intern. I enjoyed my time there and had no problems with the employees there. I would work there in the future if the opportunity arises.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Research Technician / Operator (Former Employee) –  Pasadena, TXJuly 18, 2018
Celanese was a good place to work for in the R&D dept until new management decided that R&D was unnecessary. Great place for operations, bad place for QC and R&D.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Managment is poor
Procurement Operations Specialist (Former Employee) –  Irving, TXJuly 16, 2018
Management is poor, no good pay , no compensations, racist sometimes , IT provides very poor service, old workers are nice with the new people, I did not enjoy any day there
Pros
Managment is poor
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor management.
Purchasing Agent (Former Employee) –  Narrows, VAJune 22, 2018
Management does not have their employees "best interest" at heart. The sole focus is on money/profitability regardless of the cost to their work staff.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
typical factory experience
Fiber Operator (Former Employee) –  Narrows, VAJune 19, 2018
I loved working for the company, they pay very well. Only thing is that when i worked there certain employees did not like to be out worked and would try their best to get others fired. I did not care to get a promotion so I never really looked into that. Some workers would bring things in from outside of work to make others feel bad about their past. However the company and work that I did was great I miss it very much, and wish I could work there again.
Pros
Great Pay, Good Benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome place to work
Process Operator (Former Employee) –  Pampa, TXJune 5, 2018
Great place to plant your roots. The longevity within certain locations have made this a great place to work. Many workers have more than 15 years of service leads to a plethora of knowledge and great leadership.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
HORRIBLE management in HR
Human Resource (Current Employee) –  Irving TexasJune 4, 2018
Celanese is a great company but the HR department is a horrible group to work in. DO NOT work in HR! It is like high school and the leaders think they are prom queens and you are lucky to be in their presence.
Pros
free sodas
Cons
management is horribly arrogant
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
You work a lot. The schedule is outdated.
Process Operator (Current Employee) –  Narrows, VAMay 19, 2018
The schedule is terrible. Not only is the schedule terrible, every operating unit in the plant is understaffed and a mandatory overtime system is in place that routinely calls for process operators to work a 16 hour shift.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall good culture
Human Resources Manager (Current Employee) –  Narrows, VAMay 8, 2018
Good pay, benefits, good company culture. Company strives to maintain good community involvement and encourages employees to volunteer in their communities.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
IT Business Analyst (Former Employee) –  Dallas, TXMay 7, 2018
Celanese is one of those companies that stands out in the best of the best when you work there. The people are very friendly and help new comers adjust to their processes. Although I have heard of some managers that were more self-serving. Most of the Management teams are very progressive, well educated, and understand life happens. Hardest part of the job was being available to help some people in different time zones and I sometimes required Myself to be available late at night to help meet and train some of the foreign groups. The most enjoyable part of the job was also working with each of the groups and feeling that they appreciated you assistance.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Big Company, but if you want responsibility, you can assume it.
Market Development Manager -Engineered Materials (Former Employee) –  Florence, KYMay 2, 2018
Very detached management style that is unwilling to listen to basic facts. Little interest in development, more focused on growth via acquisition. Company however, has great products that are well defended by IP, but less likely to develop organically.
Pros
If you are a fast worker, you can gain momentum by shaping their internal knowledge.
Cons
If management doesn't understand the technology, they seem unwilling to learn.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Solvent Recovery (Former Employee) –  Narrows, VAMay 1, 2018
The people you work with on the floor and floor managers are great but the staff has no clue as to whats going on and are complete idiots trying to do a job they are not trained for .
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very stressful
Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Dallas, TXApril 1, 2018
Management was forever changing and not always for the best. It was a very cut-throat environment. Once your reached age 50, it was almost always a good indication you would be let go.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
One of the Best
IT Project Analyst-Contractor (Former Employee) –  Irving, TXMarch 18, 2018
Although I worked as a contractor for Celanese, it was one of the best experiences I have had. The staff is highly educated, very collaborative and personable. This is the type of company and staff you like to stay after hours and just talk, share ideas and have fun. Great Place to work.
Pros
Environment, People and Work
Cons
Concerns for promoting the bottom line
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A lot of overtime due to understaffing
Rotating Equipment Mechanic 1st Class (Former Employee) –  Bishop, TXMarch 10, 2018
Celanese was a good company to work for; however, they are operating with a short handed crew in all areas, and the result is employees being over worked.
Pros
Close knit working units.
Cons
Exhausting overtime.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall, a pleasent place to work with some misses due to our imperfection.
Chemical Analyst and Process Operator (Former Employee) –  Pasadena, TXMarch 1, 2018
1. Typical wok day, pleasant.

2. Learned good work to good end on assignments.

3. Responded retroactively but personally provided unlimited access to job duties and assignments.

4. Limitation to extras relationship beside our work dependency, and cautious in exceeding beyond to more than to the non-personal.

5.When said things characterizing individuals.

6. Ending projects successfully and having another one for next day.
Pros
Every day at work was a good day no matter what.
Cons
Don't sought one.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Money not worth the stress.
Line Operator (Current Employee) –  Florence, KYFebruary 22, 2018
Good pay. Horrible new management. Horrible work to life balance. High school mentality. Insanely hot, and ridiculously cold. Shift change is horrible on the body and your family.
Pros
Pay
Cons
Management, Shady practices
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Some don't know how good they have it
IT Manager (Former Employee) –  Irving, TXFebruary 9, 2018
Celanese is a great company with a long history. The organization is filled with tenured staff that had very generous benefits and retirement packages. Many of those benefits have been cut, but the company still provides attractive compensation packages.

As a whole, the company is healthy and a positive environment. There are pockets of very unhappy employees.

There are entire organizations within Celanese that are decaying from poor leadership and the resulting toxic culture. Alongside them are very healthy groups full of positive people. This contrast is stark and can be observed simply by walking the halls.
Pros
Good pay and benefits
Cons
Hit and miss leadership
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was fun
R&D Technician Specialist (Former Employee) –  Clear Lake, TXFebruary 6, 2018
Good company if you work in R&D. I was able to set my own hours, and met a lot of interesting people. The workforce is very diverse. The only reason I left was due to reductions.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Celanese. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Ratings from women

2.0InHerSight Score

1.6Personal Development

2.2Career Opportunities

2.2Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

Powered by InHerSight