Centers for New Horizons Employee Reviews

Showing all 59 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A productive place to work and fun sometime
Front desk assistant (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILApril 14, 2019
The environment is very pleasant, and the people are nice to work with. They can be very considerate of your family and some situations you might have.
Pros
Friendly environment
Cons
Not sure
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Community Service
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILNovember 19, 2018
I learned how satisfying working with community is for me

Management overall was poor

Workplace culture was filled with people who care

Hardest part of job was acquiring funding

Most enjoyable was seeing how happy people were to get assistance
Pros
Community Service
Cons
Grant based funding
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I had non verbal students that I did not know how to engage.
CLASSROOM TEACHER (Former Employee) –  Chicago ILNovember 5, 2018
appropriate materials for 3-5 age group - enough for children during choice time. Problem was I did not know how to engage the Autistic children and the Spec Ed students that attended 1/2 day. These two groups of children occupied most of my time. Asst teach said I was the "Teacher" and I should teach. Pictures that I brought to help us communicate were helpful but I felt I was letting the children down.
Pros
safe environment for children - ample materials- Asst was a music major & started at 10 am.
Cons
Autistic children - Spec Ed students that attended 1/2 day.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
no advancement
Housing Specialist (Current Employee) –  chicgaoAugust 10, 2018
Very "catty" management team. They only advance their friends. If you are not in the "in" crowd don't expect any perks. They don't appreciate their employees either.
Pros
field work
Cons
everything else
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Collaborative place to work
Crew (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILJuly 25, 2018
The management was good as well as the work climate. The hardest part of the job was getting used to everything. The most enjoyable part of the job was working with others and getting the new experiences.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I loved the kids
Paraprofessional (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILJuly 24, 2018
The kids were awesome I got a chance to work with a younger population. Ages 3-5. I got a chance to be involved with academics of children at a very early age.
Pros
Comfortable environment.
Cons
Poor pay, management and no advancement.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Centers is a focused on family self-suffieciency, employment and education
Housing Specialist (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILJuly 16, 2018
This organization provide great wrap around services for families. There is a Workforce program, Youth initiatives, senior services and educational assistance
Pros
None
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I love the employees
Teacher Assistant (Current Employee) –  Chicago, ILMarch 22, 2018
The employees were very nice. We always pushed each other to do better as far as our education is concerned. Everybody there is very helpful. We were like family.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoy training and mentoring youth. Professional development and educational leads. Empowering young people.
Youth Case Manager (Current Employee) –  Chicago, ILFebruary 23, 2018
I love working in the Social Services arena, opportunity to give back to the community and youth. I've learned patience and I have enjoyed my peers and managers. You have the opportunity to work independently or on a team. The hardest part of the job is trying not to become attached to the clients. The most enjoyable part is knowing I am making a positive difference in so many lives.
Pros
Holidays off
Cons
pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unprofessional
Employee (Current Employee) –  Chicago, ILFebruary 22, 2018
Staff is unprofessional, catty, and gossipy. The working environment is unkempt and unseemly. The company runs in a very disorganized fashion. You don't find out about deadlines and due dates until the last minute. Meetings never start or end on time. People constantly show up late to work. Staff spends more time gossiping about each other than working collaboratively together.
Pros
They offer health care
Cons
Low pay, unprofessional coworkers, shady people in management
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
One of the two best jobs I have had.
Executive Assistant to the CEO (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILDecember 18, 2017
The most interactive position I have had. Worked well with management, staff and customers (neighbors). Given the opportunity to show and use my personal skills. I should have stayed at the job.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Efficient workplace with collaborative employees
Peer leader (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILDecember 4, 2017
A typical day at work included some sales from the garden that was in the back, speaking about environmental issues and organizing events. I developed telecommunication skills from there as well.
Pros
Great workplace
Cons
Unorganized pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Relaxed comfortable environment.
Teacher Assistant (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILNovember 6, 2017
I enjoy working with and teaching children, however, the work load was huge here but the pay was not enough. Other than that, working here was ok with me because I do take passion on helping others.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
informative
Lead Abatement Training (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILOctober 28, 2017
this place helped me with resume workshop classes and interview training to prepare me for work industry people was helpful and they help secure jobs and with bulding a resume
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work, love being around children
COOK (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILOctober 19, 2017
Great experience, learned alot about food management , love working with managers and coworkers. Joy was beening able to provide a hot meal to children.
Pros
Cooking
Cons
Raises
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Maintenance
Summer Camp Liaison (Former Employee) –  Chicago, IL 60653September 26, 2017
I liked it but sometimes it was hot but the jobs where basic and not so hard to do or improve at all. If you don't like your catergory please switch immediately
Pros
bus cards, work shirts, debit card
Cons
heat, Managers, finding pants, Not seasonal
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A company with strong values and commitment to the community.
Lead Elder Abuse Investigator (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILJune 13, 2017
A very good company to work for as they have a very strong commitment to the community. Good, open communication between management and staff. An impressive African Centered World View approach in providing services to the community and the operation of the organization.
Pros
Strong family values
Cons
salary
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very exciting !!!!
Residence Service Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILJanuary 16, 2017
The work was rewarding and very interesting. I loved working with the senior residents.

I do not have any additional information to share with you at this time.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing Daycare! Highly recommended!
Literacy Coach (Current Employee) –  Chicago, ILDecember 21, 2016
Every day I come in and assist with the teachers in my classroom! I help with story time and circle time. I learned a lot. Management is great! Co workers are easy to get along with.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible experience.
Toddler Teacher (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILNovember 28, 2016
Coteachers were abusive to children, management ignored and/or didn't care about this abuse. Disregarded any concern brought to them. People were all around disrespectful. Don't work here. Absolutely horrible to the children in their classrooms and the teacher who actually try to do their jobs.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Centers for New Horizons. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.4
Based on 59 reviews
517
49
319
27
17

Ratings by category

3.5Work/Life Balance
3.0Compensation/Benefits
2.9Job Security/Advancement
3.0Management
3.3Culture

Centers for New Horizons Reviews by Location