Centex Homes Employee Reviews

Found 145 reviews matching the search See all 148 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable Work Environment
Contract Administrator/Purchasing Agent (Former Employee) –  Bluffton, SCMay 22, 2019
All employees were great to work with, we helped each other when needed and worked independently as well. Positive work environment. Happy to have been a part of the Centex Team.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work envronment.
New Home Sales Consultant (Former Employee) –  Schaumburg, ILMay 20, 2019
Centex gave me the opportunity to have a career in real estate. I was given a lot of training and developed as a professional. I wouldn't have left them if I had a good manager.
Pros
Personal growth
Cons
Up system with multiple sales reps.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
Assistant Marketing Manager (Former Employee) –  Boynton Beach, FLApril 14, 2019
This was a fantastic company to work for. They were very involved in every aspect of the employee and did well with advancing employees from within the company.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun showing home to buyers
Receptionist/Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Stuart, FLApril 3, 2019
• Meet, greet and registered customers
• Coordinated, managed and maintained calendar of sales professionals
• Coordinated travel and meeting arrangements and setting up conference calls
• Processed invoices and expense reports
• Managed and distributed outgoing mail and business correspondence
• Assisted in preparing contracts
• Answered the telephone and relaying messages
• Maintained all models
• Managed a customer data base and developed an interpersonal relationship
• Preformed all Administrative/Clerical duties
Pros
fast paced
Cons
worked long hours small pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Leading Home Builder
Quarry Community Sales Representative (Former Employee) –  Naples, FLMarch 7, 2019
Centex builds beautiful communities throughout the Nation. Unfortunately, I was hired with 11 other for a team and due to the downturn in the Market was laid off.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Division closed
Real Estate Agent (Former Employee) –  Roseville, CAJanuary 8, 2019
Working for a builder has its ups and downs. When the economy is rolling along and home sales are up it’s a great place however when the economy slows down so does job security and income.
Pros
Contract employee
Cons
Contract employee
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not interested in reviewing this organization
Head Start Teacher (Former Employee) –  Bastrop, TXJanuary 7, 2019
As I stated before I'm not interested in reviewing this organization. It was an average job with average people. The kids were awesome. The staff diverse.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoyed working for the company.
Pre-Title Technician (Former Employee) –  Manalapan, NJDecember 13, 2018
I enjoyed working for the company and would have stayed had they not eliminated my position.

Salary was fair and the working conditions were good.

Benefits were good too.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work Hard Play Hard
Options Coordinator & Design Center Sales (Former Employee) –  Minneapolis, MNNovember 15, 2018
I truly enjoyed my time at Centex. I excel with team work, and this place has that. Working in the home building industry can be stressful, and this company went over and above compensating their employees for all of their hard work.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Centex Homes,A great place to work
Customer Relations Specialist (Former Employee) –  Boynton Beach, FLNovember 6, 2018
I truly enjoyed my time at Centex. I excel with team work, and this place has that. Working in the home building industry can be stressful, and this company went over and above compensating their employees for all of their hard work. At least once a year, the company would provide a fully paid trip. Whether is was a cruise, or a stay on a resort, to even an out of state trip. They were very good to their employees.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
started family run
CAD Drafter (Former Employee) –  Dyersburg, TNNovember 1, 2018
I'm sure much has changed since I worked there. I was contracted to assist in catching up with their many projects, however that was before "the bubble burst" that affected the construction and design industry and my contract was not renewed.
Pros
friendly work atmosphere
Cons
construction and design is a fickle industry
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good for career advancement
Director New Project Development - Western Div (Former Employee) –  Reno, NVOctober 30, 2018
Good place to work if you enjoy working for a large corporation. Management had a lot of turnover and that could have been due to the economy when I worked there as it was during the 2008 housing bust. I left right before that occurred. It is a corporate atmosphere, very rigid in procedures and policies, great benefits, upward mobility potential and they do like to promote within. Good support from the main headquarters in Texas
Pros
Better than average pay and benefits
Cons
Management was not the greatest and lots of turnover
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Accounting Assistant (Former Employee) –  Myrtle Beach, SCSeptember 28, 2018
Great place to work, however temporary position, accounting transactions for new home builds. Inputting accounting data, and follow up on grievances Very nice company to work for.
Pros
Great flowing work place
Cons
No full time with benefits available
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
enjoyed the people and getting sales.
NEW HOME SALES AGENT (Former Employee) –  El Dorado Hills, CA ( Sarano.) Villa BellaSeptember 25, 2018
1) Worked mostly independently running my own community. Liked surpassing company goals and seeing all sales thru to completion.

2) The most important thing I learned is you do not have a sale until it is closed.

3) Management had an open door policy and were very helpful.

4) The hardest part of the job was some very long days.

5) Most enjoyable part of the job was keeping buyers updated and informed as homes were being built.
Pros
Co trips for reaching goals.
Cons
Construction superintendent could be difficult at times.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Thankful
Project Manager (Former Employee) –  Arlington, TXAugust 20, 2018
Thankful to have worked for Centex Homes. This was my first job out of College and I was given the opportunity over 10 years to learn all aspects of our business
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The company benefit program was really good
ACCOUNTS PAYABLE ADMINISTRATOR (Former Employee) –  Irvine, CAAugust 14, 2018
The company benefit program was really good.
The had lots of benefits, like company travel programs, life insurance for the whole family. The paid all medical.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
Senior Field Manager III (Former Employee) –  Valencia, CAJuly 29, 2018
This was the best company to work for. They always provided training so you could advance within the company. The bonus structure was second to none. This company I would have retired with except for the fact of the housing crisis in 2008 in which Centex was split up and sold off and almost everyone was laid off with a compensation package.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Centex homes is out of business
Budget Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Greenwood Village, COJune 27, 2018
Centex was a wonderful place to work for until they closed their doors in 2008; I am still in touch with several of the people I worked with there due to becoming friends
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
was in the payroll dept
Payroll Specialist (Former Employee) –  Dallas, TXJune 26, 2018
loved the job, but we got laid off due the outsourcing of payroll.
would for sure go back if i had the chance.
the company is no longer in business.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good team
Warranty Customer Service Field Manager (Former Employee) –  Temecula, CAJune 5, 2018
great to work for company, always had the employees in mind.
would have stayed but was laid off in the 2009 crash.
alot of perks with company and paid really well.
Pros
bonus
Cons
good team
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Centex Homes. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.2
Based on 148 reviews
576
443
319
24
16

Ratings by category

4.0Work/Life Balance
4.0Compensation/Benefits
3.7Job Security/Advancement
3.9Management
4.0Culture

Ratings from women

3.0InHerSight Score

3.0Personal Development

3.0Career Opportunities

3.0Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight