Central Garden & Pet Employee Reviews

3.2
Overall rating
Based on 156 reviews
Ratings breakdown
545
427
333
214
137
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Showing all 156 reviews
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
horrible micro management from underqualified liars.
Sales Representative (Former Employee) –  Washington StateAugust 13, 2018
Serviced big box retailers. No training, no product knowledge training either. Culture was none. Chemical exposure was always an issue. Hardest part of the job was dealing with chemical dust and leaking products. the most enjoyable is when I found a Scotts rep...
Pros
no bug bites from all the chemicals
Cons
forget they are just support in a store....NO YOUR PLACE.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Warehouse Manager (Current Employee) –  North Bend, WAAugust 3, 2018
Management is pretty good about leaving people alone and letting them do their jobs without micromanagement.


Compensation is fairly low. Raises and cost of living increases are minimal or non-existent.

Benefits are OK. 401k is only company matched 25% of your contribution up to 8%. So if you contribute 8% they will match 2% of that. That is pretty terrible these days. Medical, Dental, & Vision insurance are available in a base and buy up plan. Rates are fair and will take care of you if you need it. Profit sharing should be offered in a company of this size.
Pros
Low key work environment, casual, low stress.
Cons
Benefits and compensation is quite low for the times, 401k is only a 2% company match, Need to work on good employee retention.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not the worst place to work but certainly not great
Merchandiser (Former Employee) –  Syracuse, NYJuly 6, 2018
Worked for this company for over a year. Enjoyed working with my manager when he came around. Job was simple for the most part. Made displays, downstocked product, etc. However, my “big” boss who came out one day randomly (never met him before) decided to fire me and another employee with no warning. Asked if I could fix the mistakes that were made, wasn’t given the time of day. Never had an issue with the way things were done before this.

So if you get hired, do not expect to get a warning or have the chance to correct your mistakes. You mess up, you’re done.
Pros
Make your own schedule and traveling
Cons
Not a long list but management is poor, they’re not forgiving, They will get rid of you without trying to teach you/correct you on what you do wrong
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Sales and Marketing Merchandiser (Current Employee) –  Walnut Creek, CAJune 28, 2018
Wonderful company to work for. Good people to work with and a very accommodating environment. Very flexible schedule for their employees. Multiple stores in each territory
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and challenging place to work. The (2) company picnics per year were great!
Material Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Franklin, WIJune 17, 2018
Hard working, fun loving atmosphere, excellent perks for all employees, opportunity for advancement, educational classes offered, and I loved my work schedule.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Run do not work here!
itc (Current Employee) –  Boise, IDJune 15, 2018
Worst company in boise to work for period. Employees are treated inhumanely and Management is a small tight group who only cares for their needs and money in their own pockets.
Pros
none
Cons
everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company
Outbound Freight Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Milwaukee, WIMay 31, 2018
Centeal garlic recipe an and pet recently purchased general pet supply. This is a well known company in the lawn and garden industry. I am the second shift logistics coordinator
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Summary: enjoyable place to work
Accounts Receivable Specialist (Former Employee) –  Boise, IDMay 25, 2018
I enjoyed working at Central Garden.
On a daily basis there was not a lot of pressure, I knew what was
expected of me and had no issued in the performance.
My managers were easy to work for and an supported the employee
with assistance when required.
Pros
Open to questions or training when necessary
Cons
I really did not have any cons/ I enjoyed working there.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Independent Merchandiser
Independent Merchandiser Huntsville (Current Employee) –  Huntsville, ALApril 26, 2018
1..Maintains inventory by restocking shelves with product from inventory; observing inventory levels; prompting store management to reorder when levels appear low; arranging for return and credit for damaged products.

2..Maintains customer relationships by visiting with store managers, department managers, and employees; answering their questions; responding to special requests; describing product features.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Don’t care about their employees
Merchandiser (Former Employee) –  Long Island, NYApril 19, 2018
The company and Management doesn’t care about their employees. Pay is too low and health care premiums are too high. They will fire you with no warnings or explanations. Managers are incompetent and incapable of directing or training their employees for the tasks that need to be done.
Pros
Paycheck
Cons
Low pay, high premiums, no job security, incompetent managers
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
dont like the people that work there
Warehouse Worker (Current Employee) –  Sacramento, CAMarch 25, 2018
the boss is amazing but the people that wok there are a bunch of drama queens that try and start to many problems, i feel that we are poorly paid for the amout of work we do
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it was nice to have a job
Prep Cook/Line Cook (Former Employee) –  Franklin, WIMarch 23, 2018
I worked there for 5 years what can I say I didn't miss any days I had great attendance and got to meet good people there and meet my best friend there so it worked out really good
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flexable Hours, good place to work.
Merchandiser (Current Employee) –  Long Island NYMarch 12, 2018
Each day you'd be responsible for about 3 stores. Inside each store you'd be setting up displays and/or maintaining displays. you get frequent breaks while driving from store to store and can also take a 15 minute break or clock out for lunch.
Pros
Frequent breaks and lots of freedom
Cons
raises or slow coming and insurance premiumes are high
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work with lots of freedom.
Merchandiser (Current Employee) –  Long Island NYMarch 12, 2018
Typical day consists of driving to about 3 stores and setting up displays or maintaining displays. you would most likely be responsible for about 10-12 stores. You can do 5 eight hour days or 4 ten hour days, as long as you hit your stores and hours for the week your schedule can be how ever you like.
Pros
frequent breaks when driving fom store to store. Flexable work hours.
Cons
raises are slow coming, insurance premiums are high
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
OK but can be strssful
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Jamesburg, NJMarch 10, 2018
Okay place to work, but be expected to lose a a full day when inventory comes around.
Good benefits and the discount for pet supplies cannot be beat.
Pros
discounts
Cons
salarie
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
" Do not treat employes the way tthey deserve"
Merchandiser (Former Employee) –  xxxFebruary 26, 2018
I have been working for this company for almost 3 years, literally without anyone's help. Supervisor simply appears with a Coke and then leaves, not even getting his hands dirty. Tired of this situation. disappointed to work for this company
Pros
Nothing
Cons
Have to kiss managment buttocks to be promoted !!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
review
Customer Care/Accounts Specialist (Former Employee) –  Marietta, GAFebruary 22, 2018
nice temp job to have. never worked full time for this company but i liked working here. a small company so you didn't deal with too much office drama that comes along with bigger companies.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Is a fun pplace to work
Buyer (Current Employee) –  Chilton, WIFebruary 20, 2018
Your able to have your animals in the office with you! This helps with the morale of the employees. They also have multiple groups parties and offer a lot of experience ion your career field. They also offer to help pay for additional schooling.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
" Do not treat employes the way tthey deserve"
Merchandiser (Former Employee) –  xxxFebruary 19, 2018
Have being working for 2 years in this company, they only care about money. They hire you like a MERCHANDISER but you really are a SLAVER. No support from TM. Just see you working at the store and then leave (bye bye) . I will not recommend this job to a friend.
Pros
Nothing
Cons
If you want to be promoted you will have to be their running dog, You have been warned !!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Improving
Brand Marketing (Current Employee) –  Atlanta, GAFebruary 17, 2018
Management has improved significantly since I first joined the company, but there is plenty of room for improvement for the good old boys club and extremely political environment.
Pros
New CEO, entrepreneurial environment
Cons
Lack of process, politics, good old boys club, tactical business leaders
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport