Central Michigan University Employee Reviews

Found 282 reviews matching the search See all 283 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worked with other students setting up events
University Events, student technician (Former Employee) –  Mount Pleasant, MIApril 11, 2019
Sometimes you would work with large groups of students setting up big events. Once in a while you got to work with whoever planned the event so they could have things set up how they want. Pretty relaxed workspace for the most part. Sometimes i got to drive the truck around if we had to setup an event or tear down.
Pros
close by on campus
Cons
random and bad times
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flexible work hours since it is a teaching and research based employment.
Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  Mount Pleasant, MIApril 2, 2019
I could teach undergraduate lab classes in Astronomy and also pursue research in the thin film materials coatings lab. This gave me an opportunity to obtain results from experiments.
Pros
A flexible work place.
Cons
Can be prolonged since it is a research based work place.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great learning experience
Teaching Assistant (Former Employee) –  Mount Pleasant, MIMarch 23, 2019
As undergrad teaching experiences are hard to come by, it was nice the Central Michigan University offered them in my particular department. It was a great opportunity to develop some professional skills.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Standard Graduate Assistant Workload and Experience
Economics Department Graduate Assistant (Former Employee) –  Mount Pleasant, MIMarch 13, 2019
Standard graduate assistant workload and experience. Professors were professional with student workers and set realistic expectations. Would recommend.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful
Event Technician (Former Employee) –  Mount Pleasant, MIFebruary 17, 2019
I was able to learn so much from the group at CMU, I started a career in entertainment production because of what I learn there. The attitudes of people gave me the confidence to start that career.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Summer job or Part-Time Work
Custodial Operations (Former Employee) –  Mount Pleasant, MIJanuary 5, 2019
Nothing at this job was anywhere near difficult. Sometimes deadlines were a bit stressful, but that was only due to a lack of communication between departments.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a part-time work study job.
Teacher's Assistant (Former Employee) –  Mt. Pleasant, MIDecember 22, 2018
I worked in the landscape operations department. It was very laid-back. I cut a lot of grass and spread a lot of mulch. I was paired with a full-time partner who gave me work to do in our area.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent University environment
Adjunct Faculty (Current Employee) –  Mount Pleasant, MIDecember 13, 2018
Flexible as long as all requirements are met
Super students to work with
Excellent Resources to aid in job development
Very structured and competent course formats.
Pros
Great support staff
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
College Athletics
MEN'S BASKETBALL FIELD STUDY INTERN (Former Employee) –  Mount Pleasant, MINovember 29, 2018
Lead by a great group of people. Great college town and great school. Perfect work environment. Learned how to work in a division 1 athletic department.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Average place to work.
Supervisory Level (Current Employee) –  Mount Pleasant, MINovember 27, 2018
Most enjoyable part of working here is working with the students that are going out into the work force and preparing them for that. We could do more with training them but it is not always allowed.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learning experience
Student and Charity Event Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Mount Pleasant, MINovember 25, 2018
This job was a part of a classroom project. It was poorly planned by the people in charge, a huge lack of communication, and executed mostly terrible by people that didn't care. It made my job a lot harder when I had to cover everyone else's, but it taught me ways to improve my efficiency
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Daily routine at CMU
Administrative Aide (Former Employee) –  Brooklyn, NYNovember 8, 2018
My responsibilities included answering and greeting guests and students.
Assisted students, faculty and staff in the areas needed.
Assisted Program Administrator with retention of students and events.
Pros
Enjoyed working with students, staff and faculty
Cons
Loss of employment due to job elimination
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Student Worker
Office Assistant (Former Employee) –  Mount Pleasant, MIOctober 30, 2018
i was a student first so i had a lot to do already and the office jobs on campus is pretty cool with the right people wast hard or bad job just dont work through fafsa or you'll owe way more money in student loans
Pros
nice people, not much difficulty, know what to expect
Cons
very boring, filled with busy work, getdays with no work at all
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Part Time Job
READING ROOM ASSISTANT, CLARKE HISTORICAL LIBRARY (Former Employee) –  Mount Pleasant, MIOctober 22, 2018
Good part time job if you're a student looking for a job on campus. Most places are very flexible with your schedule, and work around that. Schedule changes every semester to accommodate schedule changes.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Perfect place to use my talents
Director of Mentorship, IMPACT Program (Current Employee) –  Mount Pleasant, MIOctober 18, 2018
The most enjoyable part of my job is working with students and mentoring students. Received the opportunity to create four training molecules to help assist students with their growth: Communication, Leadership through Mentorship, Cohesive Groups, and Conflict Management.
Pros
Growth in all Areas
Cons
Occasional long evenings
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fine.
Shift Manager (Former Employee) –  Mount Pleasant, MIOctober 9, 2018
Working for the school was fine. They were not very forgiving when it came to a schedule, no matter what the situation was. The only things in which were forgiven were classes and days off approved ahead of time. And with my manager that was iffy.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Graduate Assistant
GRADUATE ASSISTANT (Current Employee) –  Mount Pleasant, MISeptember 16, 2018
Taught up to 3 classes a semester while taking up to 3 classes as a student. Was in charge of grading assignments, quizzes, tests, and practicals. Also was in charge of conducting own research.
Pros
Flexibility, easy work
Cons
Random hours at some times
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very remote
Teaching Assistant (Former Employee) –  Charleston County, SCSeptember 13, 2018
Workplace is good but the location is very remote leading to problems in your everyday life
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cuttrhoat work environment
Graduate Assistant (Former Employee) –  Mount Pleasant, MISeptember 12, 2018
As part of a graduate program, I was offered a Graduate Assistantship. The compensation was for 20 hours per week, but I often found myself working in excess of 30 hours with no way to increase compensation. The work environment within my department was toxic and everyone was only interested in themselves.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun, yet challenging work enviornment
Resident Assistant (Former Employee) –  Mt. Pleasant, MISeptember 12, 2018
fun, yet challenging work environment I had a lot of growth through my experience as a RA at CMU. The fellow staff members were great to work with and a lot of help.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Central Michigan University. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.3
Based on 283 reviews
5149
499
322
25
18

Ratings by category

4.2Work/Life Balance
3.7Compensation/Benefits
3.6Job Security/Advancement
4.1Management
4.2Culture

Ratings from women

2.5InHerSight Score

2.7Personal Development

2.6Career Opportunities

2.2Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

Central Michigan University Reviews by Location