Central Mississippi Medical Center Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Facility has been taken over by a new company
Psychiatric Mental Health Nurse Practitioner (Former Employee) –  MississippiNovember 9, 2017
It is no longer called Central Mississippi Medical center but has been taken over by the Merit Health Group. The building itself is old but generally well cleaned. Staff get loud at times.
Pros
Under new management
Cons
History of management changes
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
unpredictable/unstable
Nurse Practitioner (Current Employee) –  Jackson, MSNovember 6, 2017
Fast pace, schedule is unpredictable. Schedule is monthly, changes daily. Schedule does not come out until the 1st day of the month, therefore all your weekends are unpredictable.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst place I have ever worked in my life!
Nurse (Former Employee) –  Jackson, MS 39204October 12, 2017
Employee morale is extremely low and with good reason. Management coddles those employees that sit on their rumps and have bad attitude but offers no real support to staff that actually do their job. Management at this hospital is an absolute joke and the attitudes of employees and management alike are absolutely disgusting. I wouldn't advise my dog to work at this dump.
Pros
Decent pay
Cons
EVERYTHING but the pay! HORRIBLE MANAGEMENT!
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Work Environment
Staff RN (Former Employee) –  Jackson, MSMay 13, 2017
This was my first job out of nursing school and I was treated like a valuable member of the staff from day one. The staff there taught me things I didn't learn in nursing school. Management took patient care seriously and would do whatever they could to help the clinical staff meet the needs of the patients.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed working there, good food in cafeteria, close to home.
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Jackson, MSMarch 23, 2017
Enjoyed the work, wide variety of job duties. Administrative staff changed frequently so you had to adapt to new personalities and work habits. Occasionally had to deal with very irate patients or family members but senior staff was always ready to step in and help resolve issues.
Pros
Cafeteria on site had good food.
Cons
Only had thirty minutes for lunch.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
2nd Time Around
Phlebotomist (Former Employee) –  Jackson, MSDecember 28, 2016
My opinion is still the same as the 1st time. I would be willing to go back because this place and the employees are definitely like my family to this day. The only problem is their pay scale.
Pros
Family Like Environment
Cons
Terrible Pay Scale
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work environment was good among coworkers
Staff Nurse (Current Employee) –  Jackson, MSJuly 23, 2015
Good employee environment with constant learning experiences on the Behavioral Health Unit. Assesses the patients and rounding with the physicians offered good learning experiences.
Pros
Free birthday dinners
Cons
Sometimes short or no lunch breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun deparartment
Decontamination Technician (Current Employee) –  Jackson, MSJune 22, 2015
I like working I my department and the people I work with. I like the patient I meet and the doctor's are very education. I have bee here for 19 years and I have seen a lot of changes being made.
Pros
lunch
Cons
healthcare
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
prn nursing
PRN Charge/Staff/Float Nurse (Former Employee) –  Jackson, MSApril 22, 2015
Worked night shift (8 hours only- 11/7a)
Had a wonderful crew of nurses who I enjoyed tremendously
Hardest part of job was working nights
most enjoyable part of job working with my co-workers
Good manager, worked well with assignments
Charge nurse on nights
Pros
Abiltiy to learn different roles, i.e., charge nurse and staff nursing
Cons
Working at night
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed working at the facility
Director of Environmental Services (Former Employee) –  Jackson, MSFebruary 12, 2015
Central was a good place to work and learn different skills from all entities. Co-workers got along and shared their proffessional ideas and knowledge.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Want to know more about Central Mississippi Medical Center?

Ask a question
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Student Volunteer
Student Intern (Former Employee) –  Jackson, MSJanuary 12, 2015
I witness several operations, births, and major medical surgeries under the supervision of the doctor.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lack of professionalism
Patient Access Representative (Former Employee) –  Jackson, MSDecember 24, 2014
The boss that hired me ran a tight ship, but she was offered a great career opportunity and took it. Once she was gone, the ship started to sink really fast. Complacency, disrespect, lack of motivation, and pure monotony took over in the business area. dealing with that type of environment was the hardest part of the job.

I use to come to work and enjoy my day so much that I would that I would lose track of time. There were times when I would stay behind and just chat with my co worker who had another hour to work, and I would help her get her paperwork together, and I didn't mind a bit. Management was on their P's and Q's because the boss held no punches. I learned my way around the hospital's network and the program it ran off and how to navigate through it, and I also learned to assert myself politely.
Pros
I had my circle of people to help me forget about time and the days went by quickly.
Cons
New mgmt was horrible, 30 min lunch, no snacks on the line. horrible parking
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great advancement
RN (Current Employee) –  Jackson, MSDecember 10, 2014
Busy environment
Co worker are helpful at times
Hardest part of the job is becoming overwhelmed and staying on top on busy days
Pros
great advancement
Cons
healthcare
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly environment.
instrument tech. (Current Employee) –  Jackson, MSDecember 8, 2014
There was a small sterile processing department. We all went to lunch together. We worked as a team. I felt like I was beneficial when there were a lot of trays to assemble.
Pros
Very close small team.
Cons
P.R.N. has erratic hours, thus unstable income.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My 1st nursing job
Registered Nurse (Former Employee) –  Jackson, MSOctober 11, 2014
CMMC gave me an excellent headstart in my nursing career. I learned a lot during my 1st yr and I am still learning.
Pros
A good working environment to learn and grow.
Cons
I had to relocate
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work environment
Cash Reconciliation Clerk (Current Employee) –  Flowood, MSJuly 11, 2014
I loved the job but there isn't any room for advancement here. Also the company hasn't given a raise since Ive been here.
Was this review helpful?Yes 15No 8Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
low senses majority of times
Sitter (Former Employee) –  jackson msJune 13, 2014
CMMC was a start for me in the healthcare field.
I enjoyed working with the staff and helping patients.
Pros
cafeteria menu and costs were great
Cons
as a sitter my relief for lunch was difficult to get
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
cmmc Jackson mississippi
SECURITY (Current Employee) –  Jackson mississippiApril 26, 2014
Not a good place to work FOR . The only reason I am still here because i love my check
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Why i loved the job and hated to have to leave
Patient Access Representative (Former Employee) –  Jackson, MississippiMarch 20, 2014
The atmosphere was light. The people who surrounded were fun loving and hard working. The pay was good. Management was very open minded; co-workers became friends. The hardest part of the job being hungry and waiting to go to lunch. The most enjoyable part of CMMC was the laughs we had to make us lose track time, but most of all it was the joy I received just from helping people.
Pros
I learned so much while being there and made good friends
Cons
I was away rom my family when they needed me.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 8Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Chance to grow and move up
Emergency Room Medical Technician (Former Employee) –  Jackson, MSMarch 11, 2014
Central Mississippi is a great place to work the staff there treat you life family which its a family base hospital,
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 3Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Central Mississippi Medical Center. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 37 reviews
59
413
311
22
12

Ratings by category

3.5Work/Life Balance
3.4Compensation/Benefits
3.1Job Security/Advancement
3.3Management
3.5Culture

Central Mississippi Medical Center Reviews by Location