Cepheid Employee Reviews

Found 84 reviews matching the search See all 90 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work environment
Material Handler (Former Employee) –  Sunnyvale, CAJuly 17, 2018
Excellent training from upper management
Great teamwork
Fast paced with quality work is performed everyday
Safety was the number one priority day in and day out
Pros
Fast Paced
Cons
10 minute breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun working
Machine Operator/ Lead Assist (Former Employee) –  Stockton, CAJuly 10, 2018
I learned a lot of things how to work at fast and to do my job on time and how much they have your back. The responsible that I had was to motivated person and be good nature to be able to coordinated and complete assignment on time and very flexible give assist to the Lead and help train the new machine operators.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice people to work for. Hard to advance
Facilities Services Assistant (Current Employee) –  Bothell, WAJune 30, 2018
I love my job, but after over 4 years of working here, there appears to be no way for me to advance. I've learned so much here, I've grown a lot, and I can say that its one of my most valuable experiences to date. Management is good, but communication could be better at times. It is improving steadily.
Pros
Nice People
Cons
No advancement
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Start up Company Mentality
Technical Services Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Sunnyvale, CAMay 3, 2018
Start up Company Mentality but been in business 20+ years. Great product. Good people. Management is working on process and procedures. If you are interested in working in a medical company this is a good place to start out.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Frustrations with Management
Production Analyst (Current Employee) –  Sunnyvale, CAApril 20, 2018
My two largest frustrations with working here are management and work place culture.

At this time my shift is seeing a heavy workload while being understaffed compared to other shifts. Our weekend staff is suffering particularly as there has been an ongoing expectation for someone to assist through overtime but when there is no one available to put in extra work the scheduled employees are left overworked.

The workplace culture is difficult to navigate through as every individual works differently. Some do the bare minimum and move on while others have to work much harder to accomplish all the small tasks that pile up throughout the day. Pass downs between shifts can sometimes feel like pulling teeth as some are neglectful or reluctant to pass along information near the end of their shift.

However, there is some level of flexibility with scheduling and the compensation is decent for a entry level contract.
Pros
Benefits
Cons
Workplace culture, management, communication
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
avoid
business support role (Former Employee) –  Sunnyvale, CAFebruary 28, 2018
they fire associates unjustly (even if you get a met expectations), management turns over a lot, bad culture overall, avoid this place at all costs! Lots of politics. Lots of turnover!
Pros
car charging station that you have to pay for
Cons
no lunch room, lots of politics!
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good benefits, OT
Product Technician II (Former Employee) –  Sunnyvale, CAFebruary 26, 2018
it's a good company to start with and also ok for those who are about to retire who wants routine jobs. there can be variance depending on work orders or work requests but pretty much the work is the same every day. benefits are good, 401k, dental, medical and vision. 70% of it is covered by the company, 30% employee. night differential is in the talks before i left. career advancement quite slow, unless you know someone from a different department.
Pros
Ot
Cons
politics
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good people, fun atmosphere, advancement opportunities
Materials Lead (Current Employee) –  Sunnyvale, CAFebruary 26, 2018
I have been here 8+ years and overall it is a pretty good place to work. The work life balance is good. Hours are flexible in most departments. Like to promote within.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Innovative and Collaborative Company
Biotechnology Intern (Former Employee) –  Sunnyvale, CAFebruary 23, 2018
A typical day at work allows for collaboration with colleagues, actual time on the bench, and time to analyze collected data.

The company really cares for their employees and their happiness which translates into productivity.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Head quarter top management was too micro-managing causing difficulty in executing work
QC/Analytical chemistry manager (Former Employee) –  Bothell, WAFebruary 18, 2018
The work and life is relatively balance, the site management was good in providing top-of-line equipment for work. However the top management in Head Quarter was too micro managing; implement changing in Bothell site organization which caused disruption within departments..
Site management was not efficient in dealing with strong personality conflict.
Pros
value in providing advancing technology
Cons
lacking meaningful communication
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Get certified really fast
Machine Operator/ Inspector (Former Employee) –  Sunnyvale, CAFebruary 14, 2018
Once upper management sees you're doing a fair job, you get certified really easily and that creates an opportunity to learn other machines. Maintaining quotas are a must while maintaining high quality
Pros
repetitive, productive work day
Cons
Clean room attire
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy, no room for advancement and poor management/ supervisor
In Process Lab Technician (Former Employee) –  Sunnyvale, CAFebruary 7, 2018
The work load depended heavily on a 24 hour shift team and lead to many confusions and frustrations, was not a fun environment to be in but other than that the work was easy but no room for advancement after training.
Pros
cheap vending machines
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent technology
Vice President & General Manager, Engineering (Current Employee) –  Sunnyvale, CAFebruary 2, 2018
Great people to work with and a healthy atmosphere of get-it-done in what can be a very slow moving industry. Very creative and innovative approach to the market.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and somewhat stressful
Manufacturing Associate II (Current Employee) –  Sunnyvale, CADecember 27, 2017
Job was fairly easy depending on how much information you can catch on. Very few coworkers are easy to get along with, but some can stab you in the back to save themselves in the workplace. Supervisor is very nice unlike most supervisors.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
low hourly pay rate
Operator III (Current Employee) –  Sunnyvale, CADecember 18, 2017
Friendly work environment working along the Manufacturing line for the Robal medical devices. You get a low hourly pay rate and mandatory have to work during the weekend.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Machine Operator/Assembler (Current Employee) –  San Jose, CADecember 13, 2017
Every task or job is completed together as a team and we are able to give feedback to managers about how to improve everyday work tasks. I enjoy how we don't always work at the same stations everyday and are able to rotate to different work areas
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Modern American corporate feudalism.
Senior Supplier Quality Engineer (Former Employee) –  Sunnyvale, CANovember 29, 2017
Directive style management. Your immediate manager determined work environment and satisfaction. Unfortunately, next level management could quickly change situation with reorgs and workplace instability.
Pros
Involvement In Vitro Diagnostic instruments/products.
Cons
Constant management and personnel churn.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Technology / Product Portfolio
Customer Service / Order Management (Former Employee) –  Sunnyvale, CANovember 28, 2017
I worked at Cephied for a one year contract. It is a great company, with a competitive product mix and an awesome manager. Product and clinical training were on point.
Pros
Great Manager
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worked as a contractor in the automation engineering department.
Electrical and Mechanical Technician (Former Employee) –  Sunnyvale, CANovember 20, 2017
I was hired as a contractor in the automation engineering department. When I was hired they has informed me that they had a lot of work to do, but parts were always getting delayed. Often times people will be working alone doing nothing. I was just released from the contract after being there for a couple months. The managers didn't have a clue what they're doing and training is very minimal.
Pros
TV in the main break room and subsidized smacks in the vending machine.
Cons
Poor management
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Manufacturing & Production
Production Worker (Former Employee) –  Sunnyvale, CANovember 15, 2017
A place to work, to stay busy and to earn an income. Opportunities for advancement very far and few in between. Typical production and manufacturing operation with the usual pros and cons.
Pros
Steady work, no slow seasons
Cons
Almost no room for advancement
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Cepheid. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 90 reviews
521
434
325
27
13

Ratings by category

3.5Work/Life Balance
3.5Compensation/Benefits
3.3Job Security/Advancement
3.3Management
3.5Culture