CertainTeed Employee Reviews

Found 215 reviews matching the search See all 224 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stay away from Russellville Alabama Plant
Maintenance (Former Employee) –  Russellville, ALSeptember 8, 2018
This plant needs union support. This plant has lost over 65 percent of its work force since new management has arrived in 2016. I would not recommend anyone to work at this location.
Pros
None
Cons
Needs Union Support.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Too many bosses
MINE SHIFT MECHANIC (Current Employee) –  Nashville, ARSeptember 7, 2018
They just started doing employee reviews which I had asked for since I started 3 years prior. There are too many people telling you different things to do throughout the day and sometimes activities are conflicting. Enjoyed my co-workers.
Pros
Good coworkers, free lunch sometimes, safety first.
Cons
Too many conflicting bosses
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company
Quality Control Lab Technician (Current Employee) –  Peachtree City, GASeptember 1, 2018
A Great Company to work for. In summer time it is very hot inside the plant and winter it's very cold. Company provide equipment for the different environments.
Pros
Yearly Bonus
Cons
Plant Environmental
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Can be a physically demanding job.
Mill Operator (Former Employee) –  Fort Dodge, IAAugust 30, 2018
Straight 8 hours shifts, no smoking, overtime for any work over eight hours, overtime for excess of five days, double time for seventh day work, holiday pay when off and triple time for working national holidays.

Work is dusty, hot or cold depending on the season, you'll sweat in either event and chances are you'll be dirty and tired when you get off.

Nowadays they provide a work uniform though they always subsidized work boots and safety glasses.
Pros
Well paid for the work you do.
Cons
Work is more physical than mental.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast pace
TPM Maintenance Technician Lead (Former Employee) –  Semora, NCAugust 7, 2018
New facility was good learning experience while staring up a brand new state of the art plant. a lot of new and different management processes - management philosophy was ever changing.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed My Time
Customer Service/Inside Sales (Former Employee) –  Meridian, MSAugust 7, 2018
20 years at this company and I enjoyed the people and the job. It was a fast paced day processing orders, talking with customers and shipping trucks.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I worked 12 + hours a day seven day a week most week not good
Maintenance electrician and mechanic (Former Employee) –  Portland, OR 97210July 31, 2018
Working 84 to 100 hours most weeks there was a time I worked six months 12 to 14 hours a day seven day a week no days off holiday to very stress full job not good,
Pros
good money
Cons
84 + hours a week
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ping pong table
Forklift Driver / Machine Operator (Former Employee) –  Chester, PAJuly 24, 2018
It way a fast pace work place but fun a lot of opportunities to grow and they training you how to do anything you would like to learn. they even have opportunities to relocate.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced
Operator 1 (Former Employee) –  Las Vegas, NVJuly 23, 2018
Fast pace, multi tasking and multiple chemicals.
Learned to run and keep a box former working.
Management for the most part laid back until executives coming around.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good pay, good benefits, not much time for personal life
Kiln Operator (Former Employee) –  Cody, WYJuly 21, 2018
The environment is hectic. Management has a hard time communicating between each other and the employees. The schedule is never consistant, so it's hard to plan things to do in your spare time. The pay is great and the benefits are as well.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good people but unhealthy workplace.
Draftsman (Former Employee) –  St. Louis, MOJuly 17, 2018
Great job working with great people in an unhealthy workplace. Asbestos fibers and dust were everywhere and we were not aware of how dangerous it was.
Pros
Great people with good attitudes
Cons
Unhealthy workplace that has caused cancer for many of us.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
QA Technician (Former Employee) –  Claremont, NCJuly 8, 2018
Safety First and very high quality standards.
ISO certified.
very good incentives for safety accomplishments and communicate often to employees with updates.
Pros
great benefits
Cons
Very limited growth within the facility.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Internship
Mechanical Engineer Internship (Former Employee) –  Meridian, MSJune 26, 2018
I completed an Internship with CertainTeed and definitely learned a lot about bad culture. I feel like everyone was trying to make the plant successful from the salary side but they had major issues getting appropriate people in a timely manner.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced job
Warehouse Operator (Former Employee) –  Hagerstown, MDJune 25, 2018
Extreme fast paced job very long hours (12) hour shifts. The company does however offer a fair benefit package for an individual. Overall not a bad place to work but it is taxing on your family life.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Use to be a great place to work.
Production Worker (Current Employee) –  Semora, NCJune 23, 2018
This was a great place to work. Until the change of management the plant manager dosent know how to operate the plant. If your not in a certain group or crowd your chances of advancing are limited. We had unqualified people performing jobs they where not qualified for but they received the jobs anyway cause they where in the good ol boy group. Working conditions where very hot and fast paced environment.
Pros
Good pay and insurance
Cons
Terrible management, made up rules
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No movement
Maintenance Tech (Current Employee) –  Semora, NCJune 22, 2018
No chance for advancement and the management is a little one sided. It is clickey so if you don't fit in you won't advance. The company itself is top notch and is excellent.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Super Saw Operator (Former Employee) –  Meridian, MSJune 12, 2018
It was good until the closing of our plant. We were compensated nicely with a severance though. So all in all I would recommend someone to work at 1 of their other facilities.
Pros
Work schedule and pay
Cons
Lay off
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent
Admin (Current Employee) –  Williamsport, MDJune 10, 2018
I currently work through a temp agency and am looking for this opportunity to work directly with the company. All that I have come in to contact with have been willing to make sure an individual succeeds.
Pros
Helping the community
Cons
Haven't had any
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Bradenton, FLMay 31, 2018
I really liked my job at Certainteed, great people, awesome salary for Florida and an excellent company. I left due to the fact that I wanted to work part time.
Pros
Salary
Cons
Hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a typical day work
Machine Operator (Current Employee) –  Athens, GAMay 30, 2018
CertainTeed is a great place to work with benefits. It is also a twelve hour swing shift and may be required to work mandatory overtime. You have the options of learning many skills.
Cons
swing shift
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at CertainTeed. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 224 reviews
556
480
356
216
116

Ratings by category

3.2Work/Life Balance
3.9Compensation/Benefits
3.1Job Security/Advancement
3.0Management
3.3Culture