Charles B. Wang Community Health Center Employee Reviews

Showing all 17 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Co-workers are very nice people.
Administration (Former Employee) –  Flushing, NYSeptember 27, 2018
Working here is averagely interesting. I learned a lot. It has good balance between life and work. Just, the Chinese culture here is really dominant. Salary is poor.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Senior RN are not nice to new Rn
Clinical Registered Nurse (Former Employee) –  Flushing, NYMay 23, 2018
Few seniors workers are not nice to new person working in there. They played groups in the office.
It depends which group you are standing for and how smooth or difficult your jobs are. And of course the manager only listens to the senior.
Pros
Benefits are good.
Cons
Hardly difficult senior worker.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Workplace environment
Medical Assistant (Former Employee) –  New York, NYApril 20, 2017
I have made many great friends and mentor here. I have learn a lot and many people treated me like I was there brother. They helped me with problems and through hard times. I love working at Charles B. Wang Community Health Center
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly Environment
Medical Records Clerk (Former Employee) –  Flushing, NYJanuary 12, 2017
Has some of the friendliest co-workers I have ever encountered. A great place to build a foundation of basic skills for self improvement.
Cons
Low salary
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice team work area.
Health Information Specialist (Current Employee) –  New York, NYDecember 30, 2016
5days per week
Nice manager
Friendly co worker
learn a lot skill from this area
communicate with dr
Improve my personal skill
Improve my phone skill
Improve my management
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
So so
Medical Assistant (Former Employee) –  New York, NYOctober 6, 2016
I used to work as a Medical Assistant. Overall some doctors are PT and some are FT but schedule is fully booked. Love the insurance coverage and free dental coverage only if you are CBWCHC patient. Working there is such a hassle for me for my morning commute. Wish they can open one in Brooklyn instead.
Its enjoyable atmosphere when you in the job but however it gets annoying but I try my best to work hard.

Pros: A lot of protocols and every staff need to read the updated version.

Staff: some are rude and some not my type to talk to
Pros
grand round with free food and good benefits
Cons
small clinic
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Clinical Associate Administrator (Former Employee) –  New York, NYNovember 10, 2015
Fun work place with supportive management and great coworkers. The most enjoyable part of the job was working alongside my colleagues and learning from them.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 3Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
What i learned working in a medical setting
Volunteer (Former Employee) –  New York, NYApril 3, 2015
What i learned working at Charles B. Wang Community Center is learning the procedures and regulation in a medical setting, and the interactions with patients. I was a lab assistant using the EMR system to prep patients for blood work. I handle data entry for mammograms, Pap test, and blood work results. I also spoke over the phone with patients regarding referrals and health education.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 2Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stable work place.
Receptionist (Former Employee) –  New York, NYNovember 4, 2014
Working in this clinic is typical and stable but has to cooperate with several departments that sometimes unable avoid conflicts, especially dealing with patients' schedule and doctors' schedules while patient were late for appointment, medical assistants were busy and doctors had full schedule.
Pros
Good benefit
Cons
Complicated policy
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 5Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and funworkplace with free snacks
Medical Assistant (Former Employee) –  Flushing, NYOctober 26, 2014
Took vital signs, drew blood, performed EKG, TST placement and reading.Handled specimen, carried out urine pregnancy test, HIV rapid test, urine dip stick dry chemical test.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 3Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy environment
Senior Patient Service Representative (Current Employee) –  New York, NYSeptember 12, 2014
-Complicated working environment.
-inflexible work schedule
-more than typical day at work
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Volunteer work in medical records department (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJune 11, 2014
meet many interesting people over the span of a day. The co-workers are helpful/joyful. learnt most of my front desk duties from this job. Hardest part of this job is getting to understand patients with language barriers, which is also enjoyable meeting new people.
Pros
free lunch/transportation
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 3Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent practice that provide culturally sensitive care to the underserved.
Director of Nursing/ Director of Women's Health (Former Employee) –  New York, NYFebruary 16, 2014
-Oversaw the women's health services
-Oversaw many grants at the unit
-Oversaw nursing practice to ensure quality nursing care was provided
-Oversaw nursing quality care program
-Oversaw the budget at women's health and nursing practice
-Precepted students of Nursing, NP and Medical Students
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 7Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical FQHC
Clinical Informatics Associate (Former Employee) –  New York, NYSeptember 4, 2013
Compensation is below market. However, It was a great introduction to skill sets required for changing and emerging Healthcare industry.
pace is slow and steady, and as teams are small, employees are exposed to multiple projects that require them to think dynamically and prioritize. Also fosters self learning.


Community takes advantage of this FQHC. Most are liars and provide false information.
Pros
Slow and steady
Cons
overworked, below market rate compensation.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice culture
Managed Care Coordinator (Former Employee) –  New York, NYAugust 28, 2012
Great opportunity to learn about asian culture. senior staff very diversed.
Pros
chinatown
Cons
small
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 3Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
So SO
Patient Representative (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJuly 12, 2012
coworker nasty and chatting too much. Nurse manager is rude and unpolite. overall the work productivity is heavy and easy to handle.
Was this review helpful?Yes 13No 3Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Charles B. Wang Community Health Center. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 17 reviews
53
48
35
21
10

Ratings by category

3.7Work/Life Balance
3.5Compensation/Benefits
4.0Job Security/Advancement
3.3Management
3.2Culture

Charles B. Wang Community Health Center Reviews by Job Title

Charles B. Wang Community Health Center Reviews by Location