Charles R. Drew University Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's a give and take
Administrative Assistant/Receptionist (Former Employee) –  Los Angeles, CAOctober 5, 2018
SON was a great place to work at because of the wonderful co-workers but, I don't think I would go back there unless I was given a huge raise. There is lack of support for the employees, there is stress all around and the school is constantly changing deans. Good deans leave because the university as a whole sucks. Procedures are constantly changed and the blame for work falling through the cracks is blamed on the employees. There is not much I can say other than that the Provost needs to be let go, and so does the CEO/President of the University. New leadership is needed. Oh yeah, and forget about getting paid over time. You'll work over time, but you won't get paid for it.
Pros
time off, paid holidays
Cons
you work through your lunches.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
SON is a place of toxic and full of decit
Program/Project Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Los Angeles, CAAugust 29, 2018
I have been working with the School of Nursing for almost 2 years and the journey has been nothing but painful. I have poured my heart and soul into this my position with this company, as I supported the former Dean/Director and now the current Dean and Director. The upper management has complete disregard for the staff that is the direct support, lifeline and drive of the school of nursing. We are under paid, over worked, devalued and lied to constantly. I have tried hard to support and stand up for this company but I can longer do so because of the strain is it is causing me mentally and emotionally. I would highly advise anyone that is thinking of applying to the School of Nursing at Charles R. Drew University, think twice. if you are looking to be stressed out, never appreciated, under paid and questioned as well as micro managed, then this company is for. I am not saying that everyone there is a wolf in sheep clothing, as we do have some good hard working staff. Increasing workloads but not offsetting compensation is immoral and show a lack of respect.
Pros
None
Cons
No lunch breaks, poor compensation, disrespect, no trust
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unproductive, stressful environment
Decline to State (Former Employee) –  Los Angeles, CAJuly 13, 2018
Beware of the internal misfit within this company, specifically the office climate of CDU's Department of Student Affairs. The structure needs a LOT of TLC and a new Dean person altogether!
Pros
a few good hearts at this institution, and the motivation behind the students and mission of the university.
Cons
The micromanaging and lack of effort within internal departments
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Continuing Medical Education Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Los Angeles, CAJune 8, 2018
The organization is in the process of restructuring, and the workplace culture is like a family. The most enjoyable part about working there was organizing and coordinating various meetings.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for when they clean house
INFANT & TODDLER TEACHER (Former Employee) –  Long Beach, CAFebruary 18, 2016
When I was working there 2006-2010 under the Head Start/State School/ Infant and toddler program the pay and benefits was great I don't know about now. While I was there the (CDI) Child development Institute came in and clean house! People are people and the individuals the was ruff around the ages the fired them, God bless them!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working with Students
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Los Angeles, CAJuly 7, 2017
A typical day at work would be working with 40 to 50 students, from registration, completing the admission packet. Working along side the Director of the Program, making sure that her schedule and meetings times were set working along with staff and teaching instructors. creating travel arrangements for the Director also staff -

Making sure that all of the information gather through out the school year for the Accreditation was in place. I learned how to work smart and how to stay organized. The work place culture was energetic and fast pace. The hardest part of the job was having the Director give me the information that i needed to keep her on schedule. The most enjoyable part of the job was the students, seeing them finish the program and move to the next level, also the Travel with the Director.
Pros
Educational information dealing with the medical field
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced
Human Resources (Current Employee) –  Los Angeles, CAFebruary 21, 2018
The culture is fast-paced, community focused with a vision to fight against health disparities. Every department has its on culture. The most desirable part of the job is the passion of the faculty, staff and students.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
this place is awesome to work, staff are great
Assistant Registrar (Temp) (Former Employee) –  Los Angeles, CADecember 15, 2017
the staff are amazing and fun to work with, management is amazing, very well organized school. supervisor was awesome, clean place and well organized.
when looking for an answer anyone can help and they are willing to assist in any mater you have.
Pros
very flexible place to work
Cons
gets to busy and sometimes you have to find your way aroind
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Don't work here
Manager (Former Employee) –  Los Angeles, CANovember 30, 2016
They run in circles and only react they don't plan and get things done.
They blame others for their own mistakes.
A very unprofessional uncomfortable environment, don't waste your time.
Everyone there hates working there.
The Execs don't know their XXX from the hole in the ground.
Pros
None only money
Cons
Horrible work environment
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a good place to work
Benefits Manager (Former Employee) –  Los Angeles, CAAugust 1, 2014
Worked there for a year. The University was experiencing financial problems. Not a good place to work.
Pros
None
Cons
Job Security
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very motivating, Expercnec:
Clinical Instructor Rad Tech Program (Former Employee) –  Los Angeles CaJuly 30, 2012
I surveyed various Clinical Sites,Submited Written reports on the progress of students applications as applied to the clinical experience,,this part of the job was a natural, I truly enjoy working with People
Pros
the latitude of visiting the different clinical suites
Cons
not enough sites
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, Clean, Friendly environment
Student Worker (Current Employee) –  Los Angeles, CADecember 21, 2015
I love bien a student worker at my school. The atmosphere is so easy going making it impossible not to want to get work done. I love CDU
Pros
Water is always cold and refreshing
Cons
N/a
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Higher Education Research University
Academic Counselor and Recruiter (Former Employee) –  Los Angeles, CAJuly 17, 2015
Professional work environment.
Respectful team or individual environment.
Mission focused.
Research emphasized.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Charles R. Drew University. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

2.9
Based on 14 reviews
52
44
32
22
14

See reviews about

3.3Work/Life Balance
3.2Compensation/Benefits
2.5Job Security/Advancement
2.4Management
2.8Culture

Charles R. Drew University Reviews by Location