Charley's Grilled Subs Employee Reviews

3.6
Overall rating
Based on 165 reviews
Ratings breakdown
543
447
346
219
110
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Found 154 reviews matching the search See all 165 reviews
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun environment
Waitress/Hostess/Cashier (Former Employee) –  Columbus, OHApril 26, 2018
When I worked there we started a flagship restaurant so we got a lot of attention and customers quickly this was fun and kept it up beat and busy. Good customer service was in last in the managers helpdesk train to be the best that we cut at what we do !
Pros
Manager benefits
Cons
Low hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Crew member
Crewmember (Former Employee) –  Grove City, OHApril 18, 2018
Check-in prep the store before the open.
How to use a flat top stove.
Nice and relaxed.
Diverse and nice work environment.
Nothing.
Hang Time.........
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Ventura, CAApril 17, 2018
This location was a fun place to work but they paid very poorly. I would work a 10 hour shift with no overtime pay. The management was awesome but they couldn't do much for themselves do to old age. They had me doing manager duties but didn't want to give me the title because they had no need for one.. They tried giving me a shift leader position with only a 20 cent raise but continue to do manager duties.
Pros
great first job to work at only if you're part time
Cons
do not work overtime unless promised over time pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place
Line Cook (Current Employee) –  Blacklick, OHMarch 29, 2018
Enjoyed my time working


I didn’t expect to enjoy the job as much but the environment was great to work in. They were understanding with my work schedule. I do wish I was able to get more hours .
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working there was ok
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Birmingham, ALMarch 29, 2018
At first working there was good but then all of a sudden they started to schedule me at times they knew I wasn't available. I was in high school at the time and the 2 days I couldn't come in for transportation issue I was called and emailed multiple times to come in but I had to work double shifts if someone else called off and that wasn't fair to me.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Just working until a new opportunity came
Food Service Worker (Former Employee) –  Fort Belvoir, VAFebruary 21, 2018
It was a fun environment. The staff was amazing and management was excellent. No complaints. The hardest part of the job was closing time when the grill needed to be cleaned
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Charley's
Fry Cook/Cashier (Current Employee) –  Durham, NCFebruary 20, 2018
I have learned personal skills how to deal with the public in a way i didn't know before. workplace culture were always on point i get alone with people i have a heart for people.there isn't a hardest part of the job. we have love like one big family respect each other.
Pros
discounts on lunch
Cons
break when go to restroom
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Faced paced
Shift Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Temecula, CAFebruary 17, 2018
Good first job , very flexibly with hours . It’s a easy job so anybody can do it . Mangers are very understanding with personal life . You gotta be very outgoing .
Pros
Free food
Cons
Short breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Crew Member (Current Employee) –  Roseville, MIFebruary 15, 2018
I gained a lot of experience working at Charlys learning how to cook in a grill that I have never cooked on before. And also working with new people and show them the skills I have legends from my previous job
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cash register customer service
Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Honolulu, HIFebruary 7, 2018
Handling money and counting money deposit answer the phone ordering product prep. Taking order make schedule doing inventory .cash registers also hold team members 7 people in a day , running the floor also
Pros
Free food
Cons
Break time
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not worth the stress
MANAGER (Former Employee) –  Sacramento, CAFebruary 6, 2018
Long hours underpaid didn't pay mileage poor management. owner has no business structure. does not know how to communicate. owner always has final say when it comes to hiring.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great workplace
Crew Member (Former Employee) –  Fort Bliss, TXJanuary 25, 2018
Pace depended on day of week, (i.e weekends) but everyone is treated fairly and it is an extremely fun place to work . It is a great first job for anyone seeking work.
Pros
discounts
Cons
short breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced envoirment for workplace
Shift Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Omaha, NEJanuary 23, 2018
Very busy as day progressed. I would usually go to the position that needed most help whether that was cashier or cook. I usually just tried to keep the line moving. Learned a lot about being a leader and being a supervisor. Hardest part was dealing with manager. Most enjoyable was the food was pretty good.
Pros
Gained experience with leading people.
Cons
No room for advancement
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I Loved It
Crew Trainer (Former Employee) –  Pittsburgh, PAJanuary 4, 2018
One of my best Job i had. I loved opening and closing, it was like work was my happy place. I prepped for the whole day, worked every station, managed the registers, the safe and bank runs. The customers gave me life there.
Pros
1 free lunch
Cons
one 30 min break
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it wqas okay
Crew Member (Former Employee) –  Hanford, CA 93230December 15, 2017
learned alot about the food industry aswell as customer service in general- it was a good place to work with advancements possible to those who put in the extra effort
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learned everything about a restuarant there
GM Manager (Former Employee) –  Orlando, FLDecember 12, 2017
I was going to college and working there made it to management and the experience alone was worth every hour put in i worked 60 hours a week for 600 not a high hourly rate but descent money for a young man it was some of the best times of my life
Pros
Experience free food met alot of people and learned what i wanted to do for my career.
Cons
Fast pace stressful alot of hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible management at during my time
Cashier, Shift Manager (Former Employee) –  Tacoma, WADecember 9, 2017
I enjoyed the experience as my first job, but that's about it. I was able to be a manager at 16 years old and it taught me a lot of responsibility. The manager at the time was the worst manager I had ever worked for. Lack of respect, terrible communications and a very absent manager.
Pros
Learning experience
Cons
pay, advancement, management, lack of respect
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible
Cook/Prep/Server (Former Employee) –  Grand Chute, WIDecember 7, 2017
Charley’s was unfair all around and the workers are beyond rude to eachother and the guest and the staff look out for them selves vs helping other people out
Pros
Free lunch
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Workers
Shift Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Baton Rouge, LADecember 6, 2017
Most of the workers were hired right of the back with no interviews no experience check or anything anyone that walked in could get hired. Turnaround was very high
Pros
Close at 9
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Oh Charley's
Shift Manager (Former Employee) –  Raleigh, NCDecember 2, 2017
A typical day was the love of the mall customers.

The manager would skim off the top and make the employees pay it back like they stole it.

Working hrs were crazy. I would close then come right back and open the next morning.

I had no time to spend with my family.
Pros
Free food and Regular Employees
Cons
Poor manangement
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport