Charter One Bank, N.A. Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best Job Ever!!!
Support Services & Warehouse Manager (Former Employee) –  Albuquerque, NMOctober 18, 2017
This employment opportunity I had at Charter Bank expanded my knowledge of the banking industries and my professional career. I am so grateful for all the advancement they provide their employees.
Pros
Excellent Benifits
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice work-life balance culture
Mortgage Loan Originator (Former Employee) –  Naperville, ILOctober 13, 2017
This organization provided mentoring and learning opportunities while challenging the worker to close deals. The work schedule was very flexible and allowed a nice balance between work an life.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
stressful and competive
Consumer Finance Associate (Former Employee) –  Glen Allen, VAOctober 1, 2017
a stressful environment to work in with poor help from management
computer skills utilized
opportunity for advancement
employee appreciation day is fun
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast pace atmosphere
Head Teller / Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Poughkeepsie, NYSeptember 29, 2017
over see the four tellers, perform teller transactions settle ATMs.
cross trained for new accounts. bank was in a Mall so it was very fast paced with longer hours to include Saturday hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No longer a financial institution
Personal Banking Officer (Former Employee) –  New MexicoSeptember 28, 2017
The bank was closed and no longer exists. Bank was purchased by Washington Federal and does not employ the previous structure offered by Charter Bank.
Pros
Closed
Cons
Closed
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to learn about loans
LOAN OFFICER (Former Employee) –  Glen Allen, VAAugust 18, 2017
Get everything in order to start the day. I learned the end and outs of the loan process. the hardest part was getting all the information done by the end of the day and the most enjoyable was being able to finish everything.
Pros
got to leave for lunch
Cons
no benefits
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Customized training sessions to meet customer needs
Performance Consultant (Former Employee) –  Cleveland, OHAugust 15, 2017
Team-building, leadership, customer service, problem-solving/conflict resolution were the popular topics of training sessions. One-on-one coaching was helpful with various managers.
Pros
Creative outlet in development of training sessions.
Cons
Position Ellimination
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good benefits
Teller Manager (Former Employee) –  Royal Oak, MIAugust 11, 2017
The company has good benefits. The main focus was sales no matter what position you were in. There was great opportunities for advancement until they started to eliminate positions.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast pace but stressful environment
Accounts Payable Processor (Former Employee) –  Cleveland, OHAugust 9, 2017
I enjoyed the pay and health insurance. But the downside was a mean supervisor that I could never seem to please. There were a lot of invoices to process and not enough Processors. This made it stressful to meet deadlines.
Pros
Health Insurance, Pay
Cons
Free checking account by working for a bank
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
up beat and progressive
Accounting Assistant (Former Employee) –  Glen Allen, VAAugust 4, 2017
They offered mortgage training and the management team was awesome. Everyone was willing to help and work as a team you were always in a positive environment.
Pros
atmosphere
Cons
commute time and deadlines
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun fast paced competitive
Bank Teller (Former Employee) –  Farmington Hills, MIJuly 13, 2017
At charter one we had to sale the products offered each quarter we had to reach a certain goal which at times could be a little stressful because you were working against the other tellers on the line.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Customer service environment
Escrow Analyst (Former Employee) –  Richmond, VA 23294July 10, 2017
Working in a loan mortgage company would provide a wealth of knowledge in regards to real estate taxes. I found the escrow portion to be a bit challenging at first, but ones you understand the concept it fairly easy.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Teller/ Customer Service
Teller/CSR (Former Employee) –  Longmeadow, MAJuly 2, 2017
Assisted customers with deposits and withdrawals

Assisted customers with opening or closing accounts

Assisted my assistant manager with balancing the ATM machine
Pros
Great Work Staff
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was a good experience for me
Research Specialist (Former Employee) –  Albany, NYJune 27, 2017
The benefits from this job were very good. Really enjoyed all the people I worked with. Felt like I learned a lot about business that I wasn't previously aware of at that time in my life.
Pros
Steady work
Cons
Bank downsizing eventually eliminated my job
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great branch horrible benefits
Banker (Former Employee) –  Calumet City, ILJune 19, 2017
Overall the branch I worked at was great. Unfortunately benefits and work/life balance was not. Sales incentives were not that great either. Loan goals could become stressful as well, especially if your branch is in a lower income community.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not sure
Assistant Vice President / Manager (Former Employee) –  Cleveland, OHJune 5, 2017
Time well spent there, lots of development and growth. However at the end of the day it was always about the numbers and everyone forgot your last accomplishment
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Moved up consistently. Biggest downfall is fear of being robbed.
Head Teller (Former Employee) –  Rocky River, OHMay 15, 2017
Never happened to me, but the job itself requires good math and money counting skills. Always have to be aware of who is walking in, making eye contact and being alert. Benefits were great, hours were good, and had lots of advancement while I was there.
Pros
All customer service and interaction tends to be pleasant and smooth
Cons
Fear of being robbed and problems with customer accounts can be stressful
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Painful environment.
Branch Manager (Former Employee) –  Canton, MIMay 10, 2017
Poor training, and less than desireable mentoring. Lifeless employees and impossible to get attached to management. Longest eighteen months of my life.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Experince Starter
ADVANCED TELLER (Former Employee) –  Evanston, ILApril 25, 2017
This was where I leant about banking. The hardest part of this job was as a teller, you are on your feet all day. I love the workplace culture though.
Cons
short breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good bank
Personal Banker (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILApril 22, 2017
Good workplace culture and training provided to all employees. I don't have any other additional comments for this company. No additional comments for the bank.
Pros
good bank
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Charter One Bank, N.A.. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 262 reviews
583
472
372
224
111

Ratings by category

3.6Work/Life Balance
3.6Compensation/Benefits
3.3Job Security/Advancement
3.4Management
3.5Culture