Chartwells Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun & Exciting
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Fort Lauderdale, FLJuly 15, 2018
You get to meet different people on a daily basis from all walks of life. That's what i loved about working with this company at this particular location.
Pros
meeting different culturals
Cons
being Stationary
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
chartwells
u of a food server (Current Employee) –  Fayetteville, ARJuly 10, 2018
come and go upstairs just to clock in and night shift has done nothing freezers always over stocked but i nget it all done to by pass time and get thru the shift
Pros
free lunch
Cons
ask for breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work just not enough hours
Kitchen Staff (Current Employee) –  Manton, MIJuly 8, 2018
I did not receive enough hours to make staying there cost efficient. I like the job and the people i worked with. It would make a great part time job for someone.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Demanding but fun place to work
Cashier (Current Employee) –  Newville, PAJuly 8, 2018
A typical day would start with serving breakfast and then lunch. Being that I worked in a school setting there's all different kids that have different personalities and you learn how to speak to each one of them. Our management team is fun to be with most of the time Unless someone's in a bad mood. The hardest part of the job is telling kids they have to put something back because of lack of funds they have. The most enjoyable part of the job is chatting with some of the kids.
Pros
Free lunches
Cons
working with all women can be frustrating at times
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Union Job with Great Benefits
2nd Cook / Supervisor (Former Employee) –  New Haven, CTJuly 8, 2018
Working for Chartwells I had great benefits (visual, dental, medical, life, 401k) the pay was amazing with 2 raises every year. Unfortunately, the management was very poor and didn't pay attention to the needs of our clients or to employee grievances. The work was fairly simple as long as you had a routine you followed.
Pros
Amazing Benefits, Union Job, Great Pay
Cons
Management, Cut Throat Environment
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
foodservice
Food Service Worker/Cashier (Former Employee) –  Jacksonville, FLJuly 7, 2018
prep-cook,cook,clean the kitchen as well,clean restrooms,,serve kid a the cafeteria,cover cashier dutie,sale snack,cut fruit,cut vegetable,good environnement.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent Workplace
Cashier/Barista (Former Employee) –  Rochester, MIJuly 5, 2018
Comfortable environment. Lunch is provided to employees. Good hours. Decent management. Good Pay. Overall a decent place to work. I would definitely recommend.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good experience
Outtakes Chef (Former Employee) –  Fitchburg, MAJuly 2, 2018
Fast paced environment. Company gives the summer off so that would be the only downfall. Fun people to work with and always fun watching the students grow!
Pros
Free lunch
Cons
Low pat
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great first job
Caterer (Former Employee) –  Fort Lauderdale, FLJuly 1, 2018
Capable of scheduling around school or life. Usually pretty stable, but some days can be extremely exhausting. Only called on when needed which is based on scheduling.
Pros
Free lunch, close knit employees
Cons
30 min lunch
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful job
Food Service Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Spartanburg, SCJune 27, 2018
My position was extremely stressful. I couldn't do it anymore. They expect alot out of you in little time. No summer work, seasonal layoffs and you earn unemployment.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Job
Retail Supervisor Chartwells (Current Employee) –  Rochester, MIJune 27, 2018
No Complaints i relly like working here and the atmosphere. there is always a new challenge that awaits and always new people to meet. I highly recommend working here.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Managers, great place to work.
Kitchen Manger (Current Employee) –  Grosse Pointe Woods, MIJune 27, 2018
Go for it! If you are looking for a job change, you can't go wrong here.
It is definitely a place where you can grow and change locations and take your seniority with you.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its a nice place to work if u just need something to get by
Supervisor Food Service (Current Employee) –  College Station, TXJune 25, 2018
Have to be a fast learner to work at this eblishimment. And have to love working around spot of people. Must be prepared to prep alot of product when the time comes
Pros
Gives u free lunch
Cons
Dont have enough stuff and barely get your hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It’s a nice place to work for
Assistant Manager (Current Employee) –  Muncie, INJune 25, 2018
Working in food service is very different you lean a lot different jobs you learn people and people can teach you things you learn from mistakes and make your self better at what you do
Pros
The workers get free lunch
Cons
We get breaks when the kids are out of school
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company
Maintenance Supervisor/Manager (Current Employee) –  Columbia, SCJune 23, 2018
I love this company one of the best I have worked for in the 25 years I been in this business my day to day work include managing my vendors and employees also completing work task
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Steady work with a lot of stress.
Barista and Cashier (Former Employee) –  Galveston, TXJune 20, 2018
Management does not have a handle on all that goes on. A coffee shop should never run out of Espresso. Continuously running out of product. Constant miscommunication.
Pros
Free Lunch
Cons
Expensive Health Benifits
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I received great support from my boss.
Kitchen Leader (Current Employee) –  Hummelstown, PAJune 20, 2018
I was hired as a lead with no managerial experience and I received great support from my boss. He has always been available if I needed to ask questions or run something by him. I'm very grateful to have him for a boss.
Pros
Great hours
Cons
Lack of support from co workers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced energetic fun work environment.
Office Coordinator/Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  NWC, Powell WYJune 20, 2018
Fast paced energetic environment. Working with students in an educational setting is absolutely the best! Chartwells is a caring company and promotes career advancement and personal bests.
Pros
Free lunch, interacting with amazing people, higher ed campus
Cons
Off during summer and holiday break
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
That's just how I feel.
Cashier/Customer Service (Current Employee) –  Madison, MSJune 19, 2018
The environment is laid back. The job isn't hard at all. I love seeing the smiles on the kids face when they come through the cafeteria line. The manager is a very fun loving person.There is nothing about the job that's hard.
Pros
Free or reduced lunch
Cons
The pay rate is poor
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great
Cook (Current Employee) –  Hot Springs National Park, ARJune 18, 2018
Its a great place to work, and the staff are really great and respectful to everyone and there needs. Its really fast paced but in the end its great so yes this company is a good place to work.
Pros
Free lunch
Cons
The uniforms
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Chartwells. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 1,236 reviews
5358
4382
3314
2106
176

Ratings by category

3.6Work/Life Balance
3.1Compensation/Benefits
3.2Job Security/Advancement
3.3Management
3.5Culture

Ratings from women

InHerSight Score
2.4

2.3Personal Development

2.9Career Opportunities

2.3Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight