Checkers Employee Reviews

Found 1,451 reviews matching the search See all 1,761 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worse management, worse pay, worse security, but had good food.
Manager/ casheir (Former Employee) –  Hagerstown, MDJuly 20, 2018
When I worked. We went thru 2 managers that knew their stuff. They were fired over fighting agents the other managers that would get full-benifits while other fulltime workers were not given anything not even the required raises. We have lost over 70 people throught out a year. Ive only received my Christmas bonus once out of almost 4 years working for the company. My employee discount would constantly be denied. This was just one store. Through out my life I've seen great checkers stores. This one was just not one of them.
Pros
Free lunch
Cons
Everything else. Yet you love working their.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very stressful
Cook/Server (Current Employee) –  Florence, SCNovember 8, 2018
Very lack of leadership. Stressful, bad energy. They. Don't have any benefits. Short of hours. Untrustworthy. Poorly management skills. Nasty place of business. Poorly communication with customers. Never have all product. System always going down. Time sheet is never right. Cold food. No shifts leadership. Drama
Cons
Short breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
cashier
Cahsier (Former Employee) –  Bladensburg, MDDecember 3, 2018
the management was not all it was suppose to be i would have like it to be better than what it was and benfits and salary could have been better. hopefully you all get better at that.
Pros
salary
Cons
heathcare
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very well ran.
Utility clerk (Former Employee) –  Lawrence, KSNovember 1, 2018
I enjoyed checkers but it wasn’t necessarily the place for me, I think the manager is a genius and isn’t very good with money, but that meant lower pay for workers. But overall it’s very well manger and from the outside it appeared to be pretty successful.
Pros
10 minute lunch break
Cons
Short break, no benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Reluctantly went to work every day
GENERAL MANAGER (Former Employee) –  Spring Hill, FLSeptember 4, 2018
No organization skills were applied throughout the company. The abuse of salaried managers working more than 70 hours a week with no compensation. Was not reimbursed for travel time. Was Expected to deal with any issues beyond the control of the store manager
Pros
None
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its a hot place to work in
Team Leader , Manager (Current Employee) –  Tampa, FLJuly 10, 2018
It has it ups and down but when you work in a place w no air conditioning trying to fix food and work every other day short handed its crazy especially. When you loyal to your job it okay I guess but the only thing I don't like you can never get any raises or incentive. I guess that what happens when u work for a franchise
Cons
No raises
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great for first time workers
Sandwich Maker (Former Employee) –  Savannah, GASeptember 2, 2018
This job is great for someone working for the first time. It is a great but fast pace environment. Great co-workers and good manager. Flexible schedule.
Pros
Free lunch
Cons
Small building not many benefits
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a good place to work
Shift Manager (Former Employee) –  Surfside Beach, SCJune 4, 2018
At Checkers they were like a family. You meet new people have fun and try to get all your work done. It wasn't as organized like it should be or have all the meetings they needed but everyone tried to work together to get the right orders out in a timely manner
Pros
Free meals to management and family environment
Cons
No benefits or maternity leave
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very friendly place to work
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Hagerstown, MDJune 6, 2018
I really miss certain manager's and co-workers other then that it was a breeze to work for the owner beside not giving raises regular he's great would help you to the best of his ability the company always had there ups and downs I really miss working here
Pros
Certain manager and co-workers
Cons
Centain night managers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy work
Cook and Cashier (Former Employee) –  Memphis, TNJune 29, 2018
Easy work but bad management skills not a open door policy to much of a work load for the pay u are receiving no vacation no benefits I wouldn't recommend this job as a career to anybody
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast Paced Enviroment
General Manager (Former Employee) –  Orlando, FLJune 12, 2018
Upper Management needed to work on communication with its restaurant teams. Daily aspects of the position were simple, it was being the leader of the team, and interacting with employees, that made it a great position.
Pros
Customer Interaction
Cons
No Benefits
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Basic Job
Crew Member (Former Employee) –  North Charleston, SC 29405July 2, 2018
For a basic salary and basic work. Checkers is hardcore work environment. Everyone is competing to get a raise on their salary. Little is expected of of you to work here.
Pros
Discounts
Cons
Salary
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a good place to work
Crew Member (Former Employee) –  Wisconsin Rapids, WIJanuary 13, 2019
Checkers will hire just about anybody. The owner is not a good boss at all. They do not give sick days, if you call in, you are fired. The managers there are good, I feel bad they are stuck with the owner they have. Checkers in Wisconsin Rapids overall wouldn’t be bad if it was owned by someone other than who owns it now. If you don’t mind having a horrible boss, apply.
Pros
Management is decent
Cons
Owner/boss sucks, no sick days
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and upbeat. Quick paced.
Cashier, cook, all positions (Current Employee) –  Ybor City, FLDecember 23, 2018
The one I work at in Ybor City in Tampa has great management and they are very flexible with your outside commitments. You can advance if you show you want to. The pay is just too low for how many hours I work. You get food discounts but it will get you by.
Pros
Food discounts
Cons
Low pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great for a first job if you have no experience
Crew Member/Cashier (Former Employee) –  Philadelphia, PADecember 26, 2018
Working here was very fast-paced, intense, and a little disturbing at time. This job honestly prepared me for future jobs because it was one of the toughest jobs I've had. From dealing with angry and impatient customers all the time to training new employees... it was very stressful.
Pros
Prepares you for the future, Gives you reasons why you shouldn't eat fast food.
Cons
low pay, long hours, stressful, on foot for 8 to 12 hours, hot environment at times.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
About Checkers
E 95th St - Manager (Current Employee) –  IllinoisJune 13, 2018
Good company, great management.... Fast paced lots of multitasking, good understanding of the restaurant business as a manager. No benefits besides your check
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
na
Restaurant Manager (Former Employee) –  Sarasota, FLDecember 18, 2018
was the worst job I have ever had...The upper management was not supportive of lower management. pay not good long hours getting called at 2.00am from dist mgr telling you that you have to go in and get the speed down or and time of day even if it was your day off
Pros
check ins.
Cons
work place
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Could have been better
Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Riverdale, GADecember 9, 2018
I worked here for over a year and while it was not the greatest job it paid decently. It was enough to get me through my bills and what needed to be paid but there were many issues with management and employees which eventually led to me leaving. Due to irresponsible management, my hours were stretch beyond reason with my prior consent or question which led to me leaving. The work wasn't too hard or difficult. A fast past environment so employees must be adaptive. Must learn fast and be able to learn quickly.
Pros
Discounts on food.
Cons
Cramped small environment
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Making a difference
Assistant Manager (Current Employee) –  Dothan, ALJune 1, 2018
Checkers give the opportunity for advancement from within. You get to build a relationship with people from many different back grounds. a typical day at work is going in to make a difference in a hectic environment while making everyone welcome. Management gives the opportunity to help mode a train someone else in leadership by showing them hoe to be a good team player. Its never about the culture but coming together from many settings and making a difference. The hardest part of the job is getting everyone on the same page when they have been taught something different or when you have other leaders that guide them in their own way and allow them to do what they want to do. The most enjoyable part of the job is coming in knowing you have a job to do and performing it to the most high ability. Knowing that you you make a difference because you walk with a purpose.
Pros
free manager meals and employee discounts
Cons
incentatives and rewards through the company othen
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Team Member
Crew Member (Former Employee) –  Saint Cloud, FL 34769April 2, 2018
At least at the location that I worked at - you are expected to do whatever the manager wants or you will lose your job. Even with a doctors notice saying I cannot go to work for 2 weeks I was told I HAVE to work the next day. Expect to work on holidays and receive no benefits from doing so and stay longer then your shift. Managers show complete favoritism and were picked out poorly. Then again, this is a fast food resturant so don't expect much,
Pros
none
Cons
everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport