Checkmate Payday Loans Employee Reviews

Showing all 10 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unprofessional management
Teller (Former Employee) –  Aurora, COJune 20, 2019
I worked at checkmate in 2018 for a few months, and it was good at first, but then my cash drawers were coming up short after I counted it balanced and coming back from break it would be short and the main manager of the store had a very bad attitude, long story short the main manager was purposely going through my drawer making it short and bothering my computer while I was on break, God revealed it. But however all things worked together for my good. I just wish the best for the main manager of the store and pray that she gets saved. And that God will heal her heart.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Teller (Current Employee) –  San Diego, CAMay 18, 2019
Management is just awesome.
They have a lot of patience to show you how things must be done.
System is a little bit tedious at the beginning but after you read all the courses is easy.
Pros
Management
Cons
No cons at the moment
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Customer service oriented
Manager (Former Employee) –  Phoenix, AZAugust 14, 2018
Checkmate Payday Loans (now Checkmate Loan Services, I believe?) Had multiple locations consisting of 4-8 employees on average. The environment was customer service based and employees worked closely together.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Repetitive work
Teller (Current Employee) –  ArizonaJune 16, 2018
The job is alright nothing amazing. The majority of the day is spent dealing with customers and their financial needs, some are really nice and others are just too much. These customers bring in stress and you have a lot to deal with and I feel in my honest opinion the pay isn't cutting it. Management is good, some assistant managers are very lazy, they leave a majority of work to the tellers. It's good experience to gain but there's no room for advancement in this company.
Pros
Flexible schedule
Cons
Pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best Job Ever Had.
Teller (Former Employee) –  Tucson, AZMarch 28, 2018
Checkmate is an awesome place to work, friendly staff & great managment. Willing to work with you & around your schedule as much as possible. I enjoyed interacting with the customers & learning all that I did while there. I left due to an extended maternity leave but I'd go back in a heartbeat! The enviorment is awesome & it's just overall a great place to work!
Pros
Everything
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Vancouver Checkmate
Teller (Former Employee) –  Vancouver, WADecember 24, 2017
Was a great job while working there. I learned new things and helped push my limits to learn more. Hated that I got laid off due to the new Washington state laws for payday loans.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not great
Teller (Former Employee) –  Auburn, WAAugust 10, 2016
A typical day begins with setting up, counting safe, assuring everything was closed down properly the night before, and making sure everything was ready for the day's business. The customers were easy enough to handle, though since it was mainly financial dealings, it's understandable that customers were often less than thrilled. Management (when I was there) did not do anything at all. The hardest part of the job was dealing with angry customers and ineffective management. The most enjoyable part of the job was training new employees.
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good place to work!
Operations Manager (Former Employee) –  Tempe, AZDecember 1, 2015
I love Checkmate! This job allowed advancement in my career even when I was not particularly looking for it. Great group of people!
Pros
Great environment
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 6Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Relaxed environment
Assistant Store Manager (Current Employee) –  Aurora, COJuly 7, 2013
First hour of job consists of counting drawers, courtesy calls, and putting files together. The hardest part of the job is keeping angry customers calm and satisfied.
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 3Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Checkmate Payday Loans. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 10 reviews
53
43
32
21
11

Ratings by category

3.7Work/Life Balance
3.7Compensation/Benefits
3.6Job Security/Advancement
4.0Management
3.4Culture

Checkmate Payday Loans Reviews by Location