Cheddar's Casual Café Employee Reviews

3.7
Overall rating
Based on 1,097 reviews
Ratings breakdown
5306
4341
3281
2107
162
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Found 1,095 reviews matching the search See all 1,097 reviews
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cheddar's
Server, Bartender, and Trainer (Current Employee) –  Findlay, OHMarch 14, 2018
It's fast pace and you can make planty of money there. You can make a lot of friends and then become super close, you can get deals on the food they have there. You get more knowledge by working there. And it's a constant restaurant with business
Pros
Discount at restaurant own by darden
Cons
No guarantee of when you are off
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced, fun place to work
Server (Former Employee) –  Jacksonville, NCMarch 12, 2018
Cheddars is a great company to work for. Some of the management is good, but this is how every place is. You receive a discount. The pay is not very great AT ALL. I don’t feel the money is worth the time put in.
Pros
Fun company to work for
Cons
Managment, pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paste
Busser (Former Employee) –  Roanoke, VAMarch 12, 2018
Work was okay, but managers made it hard. Everyone got along with each other, but when the managers started being more bossy and more demanding, then it got frustrating.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was my first job
Waitress (Former Employee) –  Bloomington, INMarch 11, 2018
The best thing I can say about my first job was they cross trained me to do almost every thing when it come to working with food and customer. Other then that it wasn't that great of a job.
Cons
nothing was free
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stress stress stress
BARTENDER/SERVER (Former Employee) –  Warner Robins, GAMarch 9, 2018
Unless you are trying to work your way through college or just need another side job I would highly recommend not working here. This is not the job to help pay your bills. You wind up working your life away just to pay the rent. Management is almost nonexistent. Most servers are on their own trying to take care of a guest complaint.
Pros
...Darden just bought them out so maybe the have hope
Cons
everyone is out for themselves, no teamwork.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Server
Certified Trainer/Server (Former Employee) –  Carrollwood, FLMarch 4, 2018
Being at server at Cheddar's Scratch Kitchen was a very positive experience for me. There were many opportunities for servers to enter leadership rolls. The management is very fair as long as you keep open communication. Overall very positive experience.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun family friendly environment
Bartender (Current Employee) –  Asheville, NCMarch 3, 2018
Cheddars is a very inviting atmosphere with friendly and helpful staff. A typical day goes by quickly and there are always senior staff and managers available to assist newcomers. The training program is thorough and the menu is relatively easy to learn.
Pros
The staff is friendly and the food is made from scratch.
Cons
The clientele does not always leave gratuity according to the service they have been provided.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to Work
General Manager (Former Employee) –  Johnson City, TNMarch 1, 2018
Very organized and consistent on the job learning. Family oriented and fantastic open door policy for all employees. I kept my staff constantly motivated, which in turn lead to sales growth.
Pros
Focused on guests and staff
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its a typical server job.
FLOOR LEADER (Former Employee) –  Fort Worth, TXMarch 1, 2018
As title states,typical server job.Some days its slow and some days busy.Some tables tip well and some dont. Some managers are cool and then some suck. Same with coworkers. It gets stressful and I have seen plenty of people get triggered and go crazy.Beware.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
best first job Ever!
Hostess (Former Employee) –  Jackson, TNFebruary 28, 2018
this was my first job, i started when it first opened. it was the best the pay was ok but the tips was InSAne great fun environment, awesome managre fun people to work with
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast paced, competitive
Culinary Assistant (Former Employee) –  Kingsport, TNFebruary 27, 2018
overall a good place of employment. Great atmosphere, co-workers and decent money. Scheduling is a little crazy. It's supposed to be done a week ahead of time; was always posted last minute.
Pros
co-workers
Cons
no life really
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work for
Server (Former Employee) –  Clarksville, INFebruary 27, 2018
Cheddars has a very friendly work environment with very flexible hours and easy money. I enjoyed the fast paced work environment and relaxed atmosphere.
Pros
easy money, flexible hours
Cons
no benefits, long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Don't eat the Salads.
Waitress/Server (Former Employee) –  Greenville, NCFebruary 27, 2018
If you're looking to make decent money while working (which most of us are) don't count on it while working here. I believe the management and staff has changed since, but during my time here back in 2012, I absolutely would not recommend it to anyone.
Pros
25% off food for employees
Cons
poor work environment
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor Leadership
Server/Bartender (Current Employee) –  Pigeon Forge, TNFebruary 26, 2018
Bad leadership. Nothing was based off of performance. It was who yo know not what you know. Several incidents where derogatory names were used up to Civil rights violations.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive place to work
Line Chef (Former Employee) –  West Monroe, LAFebruary 26, 2018
Cheddar's was a great experience I learned a few things here and it was a from scratch kitchen so it was fun and I enjoyed working here manager were understanding
Cons
Half off lunch
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun, Stressfull
Line Cook/Prep Cook (Former Employee) –  York, PAFebruary 24, 2018
Depending on who is working on your shift it can be a lot of fun. Sometimes it can get stressful because of the high volume hours and lack of proper flow.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a fun place to work and it was very very busy
Manager (Former Employee) –  Brandywine, MDFebruary 24, 2018
I was a manager on the floor every night we were always very very busy we were always running out of food our customers were angry every night so it was a very difficult opening for a restaurant but we were able to make it happened
Pros
I like the type of customers that come to Cheddars
Cons
The kids get overwhelming sometimes been so busy
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very happy warming family oreinated place
Certified Trainer Server/Hostess (Former Employee) –  Fayetteville, NCFebruary 23, 2018
I loved it, it was a fun great place to work. Managers could be a little bit better with communication and tending to employees needs. overall great staff and managers.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Home, Country Style Buisness
server (Former Employee) –  Warner Robins, GAFebruary 22, 2018
If your a southern girl and you enjoy kind hospitality and respectful people, cheddar's is where you would want to work. I felt like part of a family even when I got in trouble I took it as constructive criticism to do an even better job. Management is respectful but strict and keeps everything in great order.
Pros
discounts on food, family environment
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to serve
Server/Bartender (Former Employee) –  Garland, TXFebruary 22, 2018
wonderful place to serve, it was great working here.
Typical day clock in get section take tables when you aren't doing your tables do your side work.
Pros
always pick up shifts
Cons
caddy waitresses
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport