Cheddar's Scratch Kitchen Employee Reviews

Found 1,749 reviews matching the search See all 1,752 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An awesome product
General Manager (GM) (Former Employee) –  Erie, PAJanuary 10, 2019
Cheddar's has a great product, and now as part of the Darden team, will continue to grow and prosper. Most restaurants that describe themselves as a scratch made kitchen, are truly not. But in the case of Cheddar's, it is true.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Guest Centric
Manager (Former Employee) –  Cordova, TNJanuary 9, 2019
Cheddars Scratch Kitchen is guest centric, focused on making sure every effort is being made to meet expectations within brand standards and executions. Cheddars has a balanced work life plan for managers and labor is efficient to meet desired goals
Pros
Culture and Standards were enforced daily
Cons
DId not have competitive pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work at.
Waitress (Former Employee) –  Port Arthur, TXJanuary 9, 2019
I loved working at Cheddar's. It was a very fast paced place to work at, but I loved every minute of it. The tipping depended on how good of a server you were, but I think I was pretty okay at it.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive & Fast Paced
Hostess (Current Employee) –  Spring, TXJanuary 9, 2019
Working here will keep you busy throughout your entire shift. There's always something to do. The money is pretty good as well. Overall, I'd recomment working here.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy job but bad management
Hostess (Current Employee) –  Garland, TXJanuary 8, 2019
It’s a good job for a first job. It is very easy, although it can be stressful at times with the customers, waitors, and the managers yelling at you for stuff you can’t control. I have worked in places where the managers are barely out of highschool and they exceed the management of Cheddars’.
Pros
Free lunch on weekends when you work a double
Cons
Management, pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast pace
Server/Waiter (Current Employee) –  Killeen, TXJanuary 7, 2019
You are always moving, you have to make sure that your customers are happy while ensuring that their meals are coming promptly. Able to interact with customers
Pros
50% meals before or after shift, 25% on a regular ticket
Cons
tip share
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great experience and fun
Part-time Server (Former Employee) –  Norman, OKJanuary 7, 2019
This job has taught me how to work well with customers and even how to work with coworkers. I learned how to work fast and to remember items in my head. They worked so well with my schedule and everyone there is loving. Sometime you meet the same people everyday. It is like a family.
Pros
Free lunch and dinner if you work a double
Cons
late nights
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good learning experience.
Waitress (Former Employee) –  New Albany, INJanuary 7, 2019
Cheddars is a great restaurant if you are just entering into the service industry. It is usually a fast paced environment, but they are willing to help you get to the level you need to be at before being on your own.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I don't know what to title this.
Busser (Former Employee) –  San Antonio, TX 78249January 4, 2019
I have no idea what to write in this review because I don't remember what it was even like to work here. I only worked here 6 months. I remember it was busy all the time and that we were always short staffed. It was because we were worked to hard and were not given a break in between a 12 hour shift. That is all I remember from this job.
Pros
Idk
Cons
Idk
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
enjoyable
Server/Hostess (Former Employee) –  Brownsville, TXJanuary 3, 2019
I had a great time working there. community was always great and it was easy money. you meet lots of new people everyday and always strive to make sure they are always content with their orders.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High stress environment with potential to make money
Server (Former Employee) –  Corpus Christi, TXJanuary 1, 2019
It had its slow days but weekends and holidays were always busy. If you put in the hours, you usually make out well with tips. The coworkers were the best part. It was long hours and a lot of walking.
Pros
discounts on food
Cons
rarely get breaks, no paychecks, worked to the bone
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very busy restaurant but the management could've been better when I was there.
Waitress (Former Employee) –  Midwest City, OKJanuary 1, 2019
Cheddar's is definitely a busy restaurant in which the income was good for that matter. However, whenever I worked there the management wasn't the best compared to other places I have worked. I felt employees could've been valued better.
Pros
I really enjoyed receiving half off their delicious food!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun people to work with
Server (Former Employee) –  Hendersonville, TNDecember 29, 2018
Everyday I went to work I never knew what I was going to get myself into but that was the best part. Always new challenges for me to figure out and plenty of great customers around the hendersonville area.
Pros
Discount on food.
Cons
Unruly customers, but what restaurant doesn't?
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Server (Former Employee) –  Sherman, TXDecember 28, 2018
There was an easy going but fast paced work environment. Often busy so didn't have to worry about tips. Although, they do staff many servers in a shift, so it is often hard to get sections with many tables.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not for everyone
Host (Former Employee) –  Harlingen, TXDecember 23, 2018
Can be pretty stressful and fast- paced. Management is great, but tend to freak out when it gets busy. The culture here can be compared to high school, lots of drama between co workers.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good beginners job
Server (Former Employee) –  Orlando, FLDecember 20, 2018
Cheddars scratch kitchen was my first place of employment. I was able to move up pretty quickly up until being a server. After that it’s very difficult to advance your career. Optimal for college students do to flexibility with classes, and constant shifts available to be picked up in case of monetary emergencies. Has delicious food for an appropriate cost and with employee discount you really get to experience the menu.
Pros
Daily income through tips
Cons
Slow restaurant seasons and long hours on your feet at any given time
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Boring place to work
Busser (Current Employee) –  Warner Robins, GADecember 20, 2018
I wouldn’t say it’s a terrible place to work but in my case I want a better job working in retail and higher pay and also something that i can stay busy and have a morning schedule.
Pros
It’s easy
Cons
It’s boring not much to do
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Daily Sales Adjuster
Sales Audit Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Farmers Branch, TXDecember 19, 2018
loved the job, had an outstanding manager that I had worked with with before. She gave me all the time I needed to learn the job completely Had I not moved back to Colorado for family reasons I would still be a happy and fulfilled employee at the company.
Pros
Great training with advansment oppertunities
Cons
I moved to Colorado however no cons at this job were apperant to me
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun working
Cook (Former Employee) –  Cedar Rapids, IADecember 19, 2018
Was a professional with sales and appetizers Karen the professional customer service and helping the team with others cleaning the area with as needed
Pros
Not feeling check a price
Cons
No break
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was hard work but fun
Expeditor (Former Employee) –  Lansing, MIDecember 19, 2018
For the most part I really enjoyed this job. I was high paced and hard work and not for the feint of heart. It was fun though. That's about all I have
Pros
Fun
Cons
Stressful
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Cheddar's Scratch Kitchen. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 1,753 reviews
5484
4547
3451
2168
1103

See reviews about

3.5Work/Life Balance
2.9Compensation/Benefits
3.1Job Security/Advancement
3.2Management
3.5Culture

Ratings from women

2.5InHerSight Score

2.1Personal Development

3.0Career Opportunities

2.2Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

Powered by InHerSight