Chef'd Employee Reviews

Showing all 18 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Production and safe workplace environment
Picker and Packer (Former Employee) –  El Segundo, CAJuly 12, 2018
First week there was very challenging but once I got the hang of the order sheets plus learning where All the products was it became a lot easier. The environment was great my coworkers and leads welcomed me with open arms
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
O.K work place
El Segundo - Portioning Associate (Current Employee) –  El Segundo, CAMay 13, 2018
Working in cold temperature all day. I work in the portioning department. Management needs to be improved. A LOT!!! Workplace is okay, co-workers are tolerable,
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work place was in a factory cold all day
Temporary Assignment w/Grant Associations (Former Employee) –  Brooklyn, NYMarch 13, 2018
Had to be at work at 6am run the line ,set the tables for the product's and keep track of which product was running out and resupply or stock in holding room
Pros
Good example of hard work
Cons
Not very organized
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Production Associate (Former Employee) –  El Segundo, CAMarch 7, 2018
Chef'D is growing quickly and is a fun place to work. I'll meet great people who are willing to help and train you, so you can exceed and get promoted.
Cons
short breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No Job Security
Production Manager (Former Employee) –  El Segundo, CAFebruary 13, 2018
It's all downhill after the interview. Managers come and go, supervisors come and go. Favoritism thrives at this company. You go to work everyday wondering if you are going to be the next person fired. Extreme cold temperatures and hostile work environment make for a very unpleasant experience.
Pros
Food Giveaways
Cons
Favortisim
Was this review helpful?Yes 8NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok
CONTENT MANAGER (Current Employee) –  El Segundo, CADecember 29, 2017
Chef'd is a startup. It is quick paced and exciting, but a complete mess. There is no structure, no management, and no processes, making day-to-day extremely taxing.
Pros
unlimited paid time off
Cons
lack of management
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
production
Warehouse worker (Former Employee) –  El Segundo, CAAugust 15, 2017
its been a challenge and interesting working at Chef'D. the people are good working with and the environment is conduisive. its a growing company with so many opportunities. the management are good and the supervisors are nice but discipline. its a good place to work with.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad Job
Receiving Associate (Former Employee) –  El Segundo, CAJuly 31, 2017
This job had a lot of potential but all the changes made it very hard on me because there was a lot of changes being made as far as the way that we did things
Pros
apy rate
Cons
Start up job
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Energetic,easy going.
Food Service Worker (Former Employee) –  Brooklyn, NYJuly 29, 2017
Chef'd is very high energy,heavy learning environment there was never a dull moment,the manager was hard working and didn't mind helping out.it was a pleasure to work for Chefd
Pros
Freefood
Cons
Long hrs
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 3Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very productive job place
Quality Control & Qualiry Assurance (Former Employee) –  El Segundo, CAJuly 7, 2017
Nice place to work
Need improvement on management
Excelent supervisors, meal and brakes need improvement too, but job culture it's very nice everything is about "Love thru Food"
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible Stay Away!!
N/A (Former Employee) –  El SegundoMay 26, 2017
Wow! wish I read all the reviews before I took on this place, no communication at all and people in charge who should not be in any position to make decisions. Not a good work culture... extremely high turn over in all departments. Horrible parking situation, horrible HR, Horrible people
Pros
none... better off at McDonalds... Seriously
Cons
Managment there is horrible
Was this review helpful?Yes 18No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall
Food Preparation Worker (Former Employee) –  Brooklyn, NYMay 8, 2017
Great please to earn income and room for growth. A relaxed environment at times. Don't share your personal information. A lot of gossip in the work environment.
Pros
Good pay
Cons
A lot of gossip girls.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 3Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Slavery
Production Worker (Former Employee) –  Brooklyn, NYApril 26, 2017
Not a good work environment. The managers doesn't really pay attention its workers. They want impossible task done in one day that would at least take a whole week
Pros
Lunch break
Cons
Short lunch break
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great start up
Intern (Former Employee) –  El Segundo, CAApril 4, 2017
I worked as an intern over the summer. It was a great experience with a fun, fast-paced team that is focused on growing at a controlled pace. Great place to be.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 3Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor Communication
Management (Former Employee) –  El Segundo, CAMarch 10, 2017
There is a clear division between corporate and operations. Poor communication and not a very work friendly environment. I would not recommend anyone to work at Chef'd. Hardly any growth and lots of distrust and empty promises. The culture is lacking and lots of to unify.
Pros
Medical FT employment + Good partners
Cons
No direction and communication
Was this review helpful?Yes 10NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting job
Food Prep (Former Employee) –  Brooklyn, NYFebruary 5, 2017
I enjoyed myself working with this company. My old co-workers were always respectful, caring and fun. The job was to prep the food and ship it out....
Pros
Entertaining
Cons
no comment
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was fun and had a great experience here as a start up company
Sanitation Manager (Current Employee) –  El Segundo, CAMay 30, 2016
Culture was great and exciting. Everyone is very welcoming. I learned how to become a leader and a manager with coaching from upper management. Best part of my day was working with my team and the hardest part of my day was getting short staffed and having a heavy load on work.
Pros
They gave us lunch every Wednesday
Cons
Department had no room for growth.
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 1Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Chef'd. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.2
Based on 18 reviews
54
44
34
23
13

Ratings by category

3.0Work/Life Balance
2.8Compensation/Benefits
2.2Job Security/Advancement
2.3Management
2.4Culture

Chef'd Reviews by Location